Amy Trader, Review

Amy Trader, Review

Average rating based on 20 reviews
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Success !!
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Happyman, Nov. 18, 2018

So it’s been a year since I last saw Amy and while it was scary to move on, it was necessary for my growth and I had and still have the confidence she gave me. There have a been a number of situations that I have dealt with since then and it’s now second nature to deal with them without going to that dark place. !!  The past is in my past !! Amy is the best.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Wisdom001, Nov. 15, 2018

Amy quickly identified the root cause of my low self-esteem, codependency and related addiction issues. She provided me with the tools and empathy necessary for me to move forward in my recovery. I would recommend Amy to anyone who is struggling with low self-esteem, codependency, or addiction related issues.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Willing to Help
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Retsbob999, Aug. 06, 2018

After trying a few other options, we brought our child to Amy based on a recommendation from our pediatrician. She was the first person to ever truly listen to what we were experiencing with him and seem to want to help. It took him a little while to warm up to the idea of counseling, but over time we saw less frequent behavior issues, as well as more willingness to talk about it with us.

Our son saw her for just shy of two years and really enjoyed his time with Ms. Amy. He even asked if we could invite her over to play games one day.  She is attentive and kind, without sugar coating thngs. Our son really clicked with her!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Tools to achieve overall greatness
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by LynnLynn, Jun. 11, 2018

I started seeking help in my early 20s, without luck. I'm now 36 And have been seeing Amy for a year. She has been a life changer!!  I now have to tools I needed years ago to do daily things. She was able to help me understand why I have suffered with anxiety my whole life.  Finding Amy was the best thing for my family and me! I highly recommend Amy if you are ready to work hard,hear the truth and start living your life! I truly can't thank her enough!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Heaven Sent
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by ToytheJoy, May. 31, 2018

I've been seeing Amy for almost 3 years.  She is a phenomenal counselor.  First session she was able to identify the issues I struggled with an set an action plan to overcome those issues.  If you're looking for a person to sugar coat and tell you what you want to hear, I suggest you look elsewhere because she's not it.  She's focused on seeing results and sticking to your implementation plan.   While I still have work to be done, I'm certain because of Amy I've improved in so many areas.  She also specializes in counseling children.  I have a 9 year old Son and she's helped me so much in being a better pattern.  I love and appreciate Amy so much.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

So very helpful
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by cat1408, May. 30, 2018

My family and I have been seeing Amy for the last few years. She has helped me grow as a person and become more independent. Working with her has also helped to boost my confidence and self esteem.
She is very down to earth and will not sugar coat anything and that's exactly what I need.
Amy has really helped me grow in to a better person and i am so greatful for that.

Thank you Amy

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mr
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by CoachJim, Sep. 19, 2017

I have been seeing Amy for 2 years now.  For me, admitting that I needed  help was a huge step and Amy made me feel comfortable right away and she quickly determined what my issues were and developed a plan.  I can honestly say, 2 years later, I am in a much better spot, I have so many coping tools from Amy that I wish I would have called her sooner.  The one trait that Amy has is that she won't tell you what you want to hear, she will tell you what you need  to hear. !!! Huge difference!! If anyone in this area, needs this type of service, call Amy! She will take great care of you !!

I owe my new found strength to her.  Thank you Amy.

Update
As I continued to grow, Amy's expertise and knowledge gave me the strength and courage to make a move career wise.  With the confidence  ive gained from seeing Amy, i made a life changing decision that has worked out better than I had hoped.  I have all the tools, strength and confidence that I know I'm going to be all right ! Thank you Amy !!!


* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Amazing therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Okhannah2, Sep. 08, 2017

I've seen Amy for about 6 years now and I've never had a better experience with a counselor. I had 3 counselors before her and they were not able to connect with me like Amy did. She has been able to help me, and help me see that I am able to help myself. Wonderful counselor. Thank you Amy!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Incredibly Helpful and Down to Earth
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by sun14, Jun. 28, 2017

I have been seeing Amy for over a year now and I have experienced a total turn around. I began seeing her after an arrest due to mental illness and marital conflict. She has helped save my life and my marriage. She doesn't sugar coat things-I very much needed that after years of talking to other therapists who just sat there while I talked. She always gives me constructive, helpful advice while treating me with respect.
She has helped me with self esteem issues as well as codependency that I was blind to. She has also seen my two children, ages 10 and 7. They love talking with her, she is very approachable and kind.
She has also helped me with a referral to see a new psychiatrist. She has kindly used her personal time to help me with this. She has been incredibly helpful to me and my whole family and I would highly recommend her to anyone wanting to better themselves.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Thank You
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by StankyJuJu, Jun. 13, 2017

Amy Trader-
Has helped me allot overcoming past tramas, building self confidence,  self esteem and building healthy boundaries with others. Her office is always clean, comfortable and relaxing. I have had several therapist in my life time, even though it did help me some nothing has helped like seeing Amy for thr past few months. I highly recommend her for personal, relationship and family therapies.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Good Grief (and related family changes)
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by GoodGrief, Jun. 05, 2017

After the loss of my husband, mother and mother-in-law within 2 years and with an empty nest, I had many adjustments to make.  Amy encouraged me and helped me work to gain the confidence and skills required to face my future.  She is professional and warm and caring.  Her listening skills are superb. In fact, how she retains the details of my life without asking me to repeat prior conversations we've had is amazing and to be envied.  I am much stronger for having known her and the life ahead of me is one I now face with optimism. I will forever be indebted for her kindness.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Amy Trader
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Happyhappy, Apr. 04, 2016

My time with Amy has been truly life changing. I am a survivor of childhood sexual abuse and suffer complex PTSD. I have seen many therapist in the past,receiving no real help. I lost everything in my life due to this illness,my job,my family,my home,my will to live. Amy is the first therapist to help me. She is professional foremost but also very caring,compassionate andsupportive. I have started actually enjoying life once again. I have started back to work after ten years and for the first time learning to love myself. I credit Amy for the biggest reason for that! She's a PHENOMENAL therapist! I would recommend her to all.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by veronicadolittle, Mar. 14, 2016

I have been mentally ill for many many years, and have seen many many therapists.  None have helped me as much as Amy has.  She is the only one who consistently gives me homework, checks in about them, and goes over them.  The Self-Esteem Workbook that we went through was particularly helpful.  After 10 years of not driving, Amy got me behind the wheel, and driving places by myself!  She is also always available by email, which is so nice.  

Of course no therapist is perfect, and I think it is important to share the good as well as the bad.  The worst is that the building is shared with several other therapists and other businesses.  One of the other people in the building made up a rules sheet and posted it in the lobby, and it disallows psychiatric service dogs (illegal).  That's why I knocked off one star in office environment and staff.

But really other than that, Amy is great.  And she always gives me a piece of candy when I am done with therapy-- good positive conditioning :)

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Knowledgeable & insightful
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Cocoloco, Dec. 08, 2015

Amy has been such a down to earth therapist while helping me see my worth she doesn't sugar coat her advice.  She is very insightful & I appreciate her honesty. She is more concerned in helping me see clearly what I need to do but does it in a direct but compassionate manner. If you truly want help sorting out your thoughts & becoming a stronger person then you will be glad you are a client of Amy's.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by Happyhappy 2016-04-04 16:18:56
I agree 100%!!!!!
by GoodGrief 2017-06-05 15:10:17
Well stated.  As a client of Amy's I couldn't agree more.
Brenda Sprague
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by HopeFaithLove, Nov. 08, 2015

Amy has been a wonderful therapist to myself AND my son. She is helping  me to overcome some deeply rooted self-esteem issues as well as giving direction for support groups, ideas & overall quality of care for my special needs child. My son seems to ebb & flow in his therapy, which is part of his disability, but Amy is very good with him. She helps with anger management, rewards & consequences, as well as suggestions for short & long term goals. She is very down to earth, an avid researcher, up to date & an over all go-getter. I would recommend Amy to anyone. She's been THE therapist for us.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Well Balanced Approach
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by scjimk, Oct. 27, 2015

Ms. Trader treated me with the perfect balance of personal and professional treatment. She provided the basis of my recovery on books and workbooks that we used to learnnd discover new methods of "being". During this time I dealt with divorce, job, church, children, codependence, habits, "what is normal?", and my old unproductive thinking. Ms Traders ability to walk with me through my overwhelming guilt was amazing to me and I was very grateful. I have recommended Ms Trader to others seeking help.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Amy is wonderful
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by scgy87, Sep. 07, 2015

I cannot say enough about how great Amy is and how she helped me. I began seeing Amy in the spring of 2011 for anxiety and continued to see her until I moved this past summer. She was always kind and helpful to me, but still told me what I needed to hear versus what I wanted to hear. She worked with me on payment and was very understanding of my schedule, always making herself available. She helped me grow and better myself and I'm so appreciative of all her help. She was an amazing therapist and I highly recommend her to anyone!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent Therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by welchdonna, Sep. 03, 2015

I am also surprised to see a negative review.  I have been a patient of Amy's of over a year and can only say wonderful things about her.  She has been instrumental in helping me move forward positively with my life.  She has been more than accommodating with appointments, payments, and has even taken time out of her personal life to tie in with me.  She is a wonderful person and therapist.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Stay Away - Don't waste your time or money
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by workingmom2, Aug. 20, 2014

1. Very unprofessional/disorganized person, several occasions was confused about when an appointment was scheduled. Once we came for an appointment, she thought we didn't and had someone else scheduled. We waited, suprisingly noone else showed up and then she saw us. Later I checked my appointment card and saw that she had told us that time. Several other occasions she thought we had an appointment, and we had not scheduled one. Additionally she had us reschedule on occasion as she was confused about her visitation schedule with her son.
Further, I stressed several times that wanted some coping strategies for my child. Never anything usable. Child was worse after each session/ Finally stopped taking to Ms. Trader, due to Ms. Trader's flakiness and ineffectiveness.

As a side note, child later reported that Ms. Trader was often not listening to what she said, Ms. Trader would often surf internet or answer email during sessions.
Many, much better therapists in Rock Hill. Don't waste your time or money.


* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
1 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Ja11 2015-09-03 07:27:39
Wow I read this review and was completely astonished. I have been seeing Ms.Trader for well over a year and a half and she has been extremely helpful. In fact I found the review to be actually the complete opposite of my experience. I had seen one other therapist before her and she was extremely professional, and very well organzized. In almost 2 years she never once scheduled an appointment that she wasnt present for , nor did she cancel any of my scheduled appointments. It's a shame to see individuals go on a website like this and report information that isn't true when she is very good at what she does. She helped me considerably change my life for the better.
Not sure about this one
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Signed, Oct. 04, 2012

Only wants you to see her point. She doesn't listen we'll to yours.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Counselors Nearby

Alexandra Dean, PhD, NCC, LPC
Counselor—Mental Health
11600 N. Community House Road, Suite 125
Charlotte, NC 28277
Mark W Durkin, LPC
Counselor—Professional
6406 Carmel Rd, Suite 301
Charlotte, NC 28226
Robert Fralick, MED
Counselor—Mental Health
225 E Main St, Suite 300
Rock Hill, SC 29730
Cherri Melissa Jinkins, LPC
Counselor—Mental Health
1721 Ebenezer Rd, Suite 265
Rock Hill, SC 29732
John Lee Garland, EDS, LPC
Counselor—Professional
410 S Herlong Ave, Suite 4-6
Rock Hill, SC 29732
Steven Palin
Counselor—Mental Health
223 E Main St, Suite 300
Rock Hill, SC 29730
Diana Levitt, NCC, LPCS
Counselor
4525 Hedgemore Drive, Suite H
Charlotte, NC 28209

View All