Amy Trader, Review

Amy Trader, Review

Average rating based on 31 reviews
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Counselor
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by jessicalynn1990, Apr. 21, 2021

Amy is absolutely amazing! I have been seeing her for 2 years and she has helped me through some very tough times. She has been that one constant in my life that I know will hear and understand me. I have recommended her to so many people just simply because of how she has made an impact on my life. I look forward to my weekly check-in/chat with her!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

A knowledgable and caring therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Healing071518, Apr. 05, 2021

Amy is a knowledgable, caring, and straight forward therapist.  She tells it like it is without the sugar coating that I have known others to do.  The turth, although it may be tough to hear, is what is needed for us as clients.  I would recommend her to whoever asks me about a therapist.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

My Partner in the Journey
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by MinerMom, Apr. 04, 2021

I have been seeing Amy for just over 10 years and it was the best decision for my mental health I’ve ever made. She is caring, encouraging, and empathetic. She also holds me accountable for following through with the tools she provides me to use in my daily life. I recently moved to a new city & an so thankful I am able to continue seeing her through phone appointments as well.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mental Health Counseling
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by EllieS, Apr. 02, 2021

I have been seeing Amy over 2 years now and it has been the best decision I have made for myself in a long time. I have seen other therapists in the past who never really connected the dots of what was going on and were not too helpful. That changed when I started going to Amy. She is excellent at what she does and I feel like a completely transformed person already. Since I started counseling with her, I have been through several life changes, losses, and personal strides. She has helped me make breakthroughs in areas I never thought I would ever push myself to get past. I have learned to handle stressful situations better and how to establish boundaries. She picked up on things others never have before and explains everything in a way that helps me understand why I do certain things or think a certain way. She tells you what you NEED to hear and will not sugarcoat. This is exactly what I needed in a therapist and part of the reason I chose to start going to her. If you need counseling and need someone who will be honest, caring, and who will really listen and give you real advice and feedback, I highly recommend seeing her!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

10/10 Recommend
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Terracat, Apr. 02, 2021

My only regret about seeing Amy is that I didn’t start years earlier than I did. For years I struggled with anxiety and codependent behaviors (without knowing the name to put to them) on my own, with the feeling that seeing a therapist would be a failure or sign of weakness. At a particular low point, a friend urged me to try talking to someone and for the sake of my son who was a baby at the time, I set an appointment with Amy. From the first time we spoke everything changed for me. Amy has shown me  that accepting help does not mean I’m weak, it means I’m strong enough to want better and to work to get there.

She is understanding and personable, and I was surprised myself by how comfortable I felt opening up to her. But I also value her directness with me and that without ever being rude or judgmental, she doesn’t tiptoe around the truth and realities that I’m not able to see clearly on my own. Perhaps the aspect I appreciate the most about Amy though, is that she doesn’t just help me and offer guidance while we talk, she teaches me and gives me tools and resources to apply what we’ve talked about in session to my real life throughout the week.

I am a work in progress, so I plan to continue seeing Amy for a while yet, but even my friends and family can testify to the growth and improvement I’ve undergone with her counsel. I’ll be forever grateful to her and if you are considering calling her, please do so immediately-she can help.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Wonderful, Compassionate, Realistic
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Ac124, Apr. 01, 2021

After a devastating family change and a horrible therapist,  I was referred to Amy.  She is absolutely fantastic,  she actually listens,  cares, and offers great guidance.   She isn't going to sugar coat things but she also isn't going to shame you.   I hate I wasted a year seeing someone else and I look forward to continuing to make progress with her guidance.  

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

I HIGHLY recommend Amy!!
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Thatchikrik, Sep. 02, 2020

Amy was recommended to me for my son from my best friend. We had tried several different counselors for my son who was 15 at the time. Unfortunately, we were not able to find anyone who he was comfortable with. He just didn't seem to connect to anyone. He was going thru a very rough time and he desperately needed someone who he could talk to and who would listen to him and wouldn't judge him. After lots of searching we found Amy! From the very first appointment, my son felt very comfortable. We know it takes time to make progress in counseling but he seemed to make great positive strides right away! He was very pleased and as a mom I was overjoyed and felt we finally had someone who was on our side and someone who genuinely wanted to help our family. My 10 year old daughter struggles from anxiety very badly so Amy has helped both of my kids and they both are such different children with Amy's help. We are so thankful for her! Amy is available and will even answer questions over text anytime we need anything. I am so thankful for her and so grateful we found her!!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Forever Grateful
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by KinslieRod, Aug. 19, 2020

Amy is unlike that of any other mental health professional i have ever had the pleasure of knowing. I didnt feel like a "patient" i felt like a friend whom she genuinely cared about-inside and out. If not for Amy and all her counseling, guidance, and care I would not be half the person i am today--mentally or physically. There is no one i have ever felt so comfortable and open with; thanks to her i chose a career path in mental health and hope to one day be half the person she was for me!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Itsanewday, Jan. 20, 2020

Amy is a lifesaver for me and my family.   She very quickly was able to assess our situation, provide practical solutions and then the results were amazing.   100% game changer.   I hear myself sharing the same words of wisdom with others as well.   She is the most professional knowledgeable insightful therapist I have ever met.  Thank God!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Counselor Mental health
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Ithelps, Oct. 22, 2019

Amy Trader has helped me find my strength. She is not a sugar coating therapist. She listens and interjects in a way that helps you think things through. Sometimes you may not be ready to make a change but you will get it and she helps you through it.  Very happy that Amy was recommended, she has really made a difference for me.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Ms
Overall Rating
by Goldenmom, May. 20, 2019

Amy has been a Godsend to me after the sudden death of my husband just 5 months after a breast cancer diagnosis. I didn't know which end was up and Amy was able to guide me through this one step at a time.  I highly recommend Amy to anyone dealing with a sudden, unexpected loss.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Success !!
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Happyman, Nov. 18, 2018

So it’s been a year since I last saw Amy and while it was scary to move on, it was necessary for my growth and I had and still have the confidence she gave me. There have a been a number of situations that I have dealt with since then and it’s now second nature to deal with them without going to that dark place. !!  The past is in my past !! Amy is the best.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Wisdom001, Nov. 15, 2018

Amy quickly identified the root cause of my low self-esteem, codependency and related addiction issues. She provided me with the tools and empathy necessary for me to move forward in my recovery. I would recommend Amy to anyone who is struggling with low self-esteem, codependency, or addiction related issues.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Willing to Help
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Retsbob999, Aug. 06, 2018

After trying a few other options, we brought our child to Amy based on a recommendation from our pediatrician. She was the first person to ever truly listen to what we were experiencing with him and seem to want to help. It took him a little while to warm up to the idea of counseling, but over time we saw less frequent behavior issues, as well as more willingness to talk about it with us.

Our son saw her for just shy of two years and really enjoyed his time with Ms. Amy. He even asked if we could invite her over to play games one day.  She is attentive and kind, without sugar coating thngs. Our son really clicked with her!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Tools to achieve overall greatness
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by LynnLynn, Jun. 11, 2018

I started seeking help in my early 20s, without luck. I'm now 36 And have been seeing Amy for a year. She has been a life changer!!  I now have to tools I needed years ago to do daily things. She was able to help me understand why I have suffered with anxiety my whole life.  Finding Amy was the best thing for my family and me! I highly recommend Amy if you are ready to work hard,hear the truth and start living your life! I truly can't thank her enough!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Heaven Sent
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by ToytheJoy, May. 31, 2018

I've been seeing Amy for almost 3 years.  She is a phenomenal counselor.  First session she was able to identify the issues I struggled with an set an action plan to overcome those issues.  If you're looking for a person to sugar coat and tell you what you want to hear, I suggest you look elsewhere because she's not it.  She's focused on seeing results and sticking to your implementation plan.   While I still have work to be done, I'm certain because of Amy I've improved in so many areas.  She also specializes in counseling children.  I have a 9 year old Son and she's helped me so much in being a better pattern.  I love and appreciate Amy so much.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

So very helpful
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by cat1408, May. 30, 2018

My family and I have been seeing Amy for the last few years. She has helped me grow as a person and become more independent. Working with her has also helped to boost my confidence and self esteem.
She is very down to earth and will not sugar coat anything and that's exactly what I need.
Amy has really helped me grow in to a better person and i am so greatful for that.

Thank you Amy

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mr
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by CoachJim, Sep. 19, 2017

I have been seeing Amy for 2 years now.  For me, admitting that I needed  help was a huge step and Amy made me feel comfortable right away and she quickly determined what my issues were and developed a plan.  I can honestly say, 2 years later, I am in a much better spot, I have so many coping tools from Amy that I wish I would have called her sooner.  The one trait that Amy has is that she won't tell you what you want to hear, she will tell you what you need  to hear. !!! Huge difference!! If anyone in this area, needs this type of service, call Amy! She will take great care of you !!

I owe my new found strength to her.  Thank you Amy.

Update
As I continued to grow, Amy's expertise and knowledge gave me the strength and courage to make a move career wise.  With the confidence  ive gained from seeing Amy, i made a life changing decision that has worked out better than I had hoped.  I have all the tools, strength and confidence that I know I'm going to be all right ! Thank you Amy !!!


* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Amazing therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Okhannah2, Sep. 08, 2017

I've seen Amy for about 6 years now and I've never had a better experience with a counselor. I had 3 counselors before her and they were not able to connect with me like Amy did. She has been able to help me, and help me see that I am able to help myself. Wonderful counselor. Thank you Amy!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Incredibly Helpful and Down to Earth
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by sun14, Jun. 28, 2017

I have been seeing Amy for over a year now and I have experienced a total turn around. I began seeing her after an arrest due to mental illness and marital conflict. She has helped save my life and my marriage. She doesn't sugar coat things-I very much needed that after years of talking to other therapists who just sat there while I talked. She always gives me constructive, helpful advice while treating me with respect.
She has helped me with self esteem issues as well as codependency that I was blind to. She has also seen my two children, ages 10 and 7. They love talking with her, she is very approachable and kind.
She has also helped me with a referral to see a new psychiatrist. She has kindly used her personal time to help me with this. She has been incredibly helpful to me and my whole family and I would highly recommend her to anyone wanting to better themselves.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Counselors Nearby

Alexandra Dean, PhD, NCC, LPC
Counselor—Mental Health
11600 N. Community House Road, Suite 125
Charlotte, NC 28277
Mark W Durkin, LPC
Counselor—Professional
6406 Carmel Rd, Suite 301
Charlotte, NC 28226
Debra L Corbett, MS, NCC, LPC
Counselor—Professional
13850 Ballantyne Corporate Place, Suite 500
Charlotte, NC 28277
Erin Rice, LPC
Counselor
2015 Ayrsley Town Blvd, Suite 202
Charlotte, NC 28273
Caroleyna C Kimrey, SAS, PSS
Counselor—Addiction
199 S Herlong Ave
Rock Hill, SC 29732

View All