Benjamin A Stepanoff, Review

Benjamin A Stepanoff, Review

Average rating based on 10 reviews
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Excellent
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by piperazzi, May. 13, 2014

I am extremely satisfied with the care I have received from Dr. Stepanoff and his staff. Upon my first visit he listened and acknowledged all my questions and concerns. He has guided me through a solid plan of treatment and I continue to benefit from regular visits with him and his awesome staff. His office was easy to locate. I've already recommended him to others because of the huge positive impact his center has had in my life. He is by far one of the best psychologists I've ever seen. I was very impressed.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great experience!
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by lgcsula, Jul. 31, 2013

I've been seeing Dr.Stepanoff now for almost two years and I must say that he is the best therapist I've ever had. I've had many problems with depression and anxiety and I've seen about 6 different therapists and psychiatrists, all of which diagnosed me as having some sort of anxiety disorder and/or severe depression...You know, the generic diagnosis every therapist gives their patients when they don't know what else to say!!! However, the diagnostic process was much more elaborate with Dr.Stepanoff. I explained to him that I've always been a "nervous" person and can't deal with stress very well but depression just kind of seems to hit me out of nowhere every 6 months or so. I always thought I was bipolar but Dr.Stepanoff did hours of testing on me (which I never had before even though I've seen just about every therapist in Southern California) and he diagnosed me as having Adult ADHD. Little did I know that this is one of the most misdiagnosed mental disorders in women and is often confused with being Bipolar because the symptoms are apparently very similar. No wonder I was never properly diagnosed! Needless to say, Dr.Stepanoff was truly a Godsend! I feel better than ever now that I'm taking the appropriate medication and understand what the root of my problems and impulsivity are. I must say I read some unfavorable reviews about him and felt compelled to write a review after what he's done for me in my life. If you're the person who's looking for the stereotypical therapist who sits and nods and lets you ramble on for hours about your life, Dr.Stepanoff is not the man for you! Don't get me wrong, he is a great listener and is very thorough in his work. However, I would describe him as a very hands-on kind of doctor in that he wants to find a solution for you and get to the root of your problems as soon as possible (without jeopardizing the quality of his work of course). Now I don't know about the rest of my depressed and anxious family but I want a solution to my losing my will to live as quickly as humanly possible! This is why Dr.Stepanoff has been perfect for me.... he got to the root of my problems quickly and made his job seem effortless. Highly recommended:-)

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

mrs
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by ali2000, Jul. 11, 2013

I have been seeing Dr. Stepanoff for almost 7 months and have also been a patient in the IOP program for substance abuse and mental health.  When I arrived at this practice I was in a pretty bad place in my life...and I too thought I did not need help but I was spinning out of control.  I am so grateful for making the decision to stay, the help and support I have received from the IOP program and staff and continue to receive from Dr. Stepanoff has made a difference in my life.  My depression and drug use controlled my life for many years and I am proud to say that with therapy, processing ,education and family night therapy  I have been given the tools necessary for me to move on through life.  It is very sad when I see comments such as the negative individuals below...who probably want to continue using and abusing there lives, usually you just don't want the help and blame anyone around you...been there.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

scam artists
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by case1, Jul. 08, 2013

Talked me into coming in. Thought it was a free consultation.little did I know. Seen him on 6/11/2013 found out very quickly this wasn't for me til him I wouldn't be coming back to see assessment score just wasn't for me. They billed my insurance 1180 dollars for 6/12/2013 but I never went back on 6/12/2013. I still owe 30 copay I plan on paying and a piece of my mind. Looks like I'm not the only one who they tried to over bill and collect on services that never happened.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

worst ever!!!!!!
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by luvangels12, Feb. 05, 2013

I do believe any positive reviews that this dr has are his insider or himself I cant believe this man is being allowed to practice. Im filing a formal complaint and warning as many people as I can I wish I would of red the reviews before seeing this dr. If you dont believe this review go see dr stephanoff yourself.  I dont waste my time on reviews only when I have a very bad experience or good experience I make sure to let others know. This man only cares about billing your insurance and how he can make money off you he is rude he  cuts you off when talking . No wonder he has same day appt. Really bad dr

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

5 comments. Add a comment

by Craze101 2013-05-16 14:22:35
Thank you for that. This is the third (3rd) review I have read on Dr. S. and NONE of them are anywhere near Satisfactory. I have seen this individ. three X and I was beginning to have those same inklings. I even told him, as I am no longer depressed, why must I continue to take he "happy" pill?  He said, "You must take it for a year during therapy." But I have already been on it since May 2010, and the depression has passed. Why keep taking it when I am no longer depressed? I grieved for my husband who passed away, and now I'm OK. Perfectly NORMAL and Natural. But, No-o-o. I must stay on the pill. Seems like their way of getting me on a Long-Term Contract. He denied he does that sort of thing, but that is exactly what he is doing. Diane in Torrance
by Craze101 2013-05-16 14:34:33
I have seen this person 3 or 4 times already, and I was getting the same feeling, i.e.: I'm still taking an Anti-dep. even tho no longer depressed. Why? Their way of pressing you into a Long-Term Contract. I told him this and he denied ever doing such a thing, but he is doing it now.
by case1 2013-07-08 00:02:50
Me too. Seen this guy for free consultation. They say oh come on down. What he was really saying was I screwing you and your insurance.1180 dollars 1 visit for nothing
by case1 2013-07-08 00:04:01
Scam artists.tring to take my insurance for 1180 dollars
by case1 2013-07-08 00:18:04
I feel sorry for you having to deal with thus bs I'm very frustrated too same thing happens to me. We can only pray they make this right.
Quality Care
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by JBird, Jun. 29, 2012

Dr. Stepanoff has been a great doctor. I have been seeing him weekly for almost a year. When I forst had a problem and needed to seek treatment, he spoke to me directly on the phone and even made time to see me the same day. Other doctors wanted at least 2 weeks to book an appointment. Dr. Stepanoff understood that I needed help quickly and took the time to address my needs. I have been happy with his treatment and will continue to see him.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Disappointed
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by ValueGoodTherapist, Jun. 24, 2012

Dr.Stepanoff is too busy billing to care about his patients as he should. I went to him seeking help and gave up after 5 sessions. He gave me no more than 15-20 minutes a session. He talks more than listens. Each session was interrupted by him talking to his secretary. He answered his phone one session for 5 minutes of the 20 minutes he gave me. I have to believe that the positive reviews are insider reviews. If someone doubts the accuracy of my review....go see for yourself. Just know that there are caring concerned therapists out there who do care. The problem is this therapist is not one of them. Very frustrated......and ironically it's suppose to be "mental health". I came under a tremendous of stress and left more stressed than when I arrived. I'm writing only as a service to others who are seeking help from a good therapist. You deserve better. Good luck.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

3 comments. Add a comment

by Lovelife 2012-07-02 19:38:45
What makes you think that the other good reviews about this Therapist are not true. I've been going to this therapist for over a year now and I'm very happy with what he's done for me and my Family. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion which is fine..but for you to think that other good reviews "aren't true" isn't right either.
by luvangels12 2013-02-05 20:13:45
Look lovelife you said it everyone is entitled to there own option so who are you to say that the review that valuegood therapist is wrong I totally agree with the review and if you look at other sites where dr stephanoff is being rate there pretty much all negative and says the same thing.
by YOLO 2013-02-16 14:48:33
Hi Luvangels..I agree with you. I saw for my own eyes how he is and I am totally on your side. BAD DOCTOR!!!!
Patient
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by amroshd, May. 07, 2012

Dr. Stepanoff is very knowledgeable and helpful. I have been seeing him for a few months and he helped me a lot. He is always busy, but let's me in on time with no delays. He listens and gives great advice on how to deal with things.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Anna L
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by AnnaL, Apr. 27, 2011

When I first contact Dr. Stepanoff, I was able to get an appointment the following day.  A previous therapist made me wait one week.  I have only been going to Dr. Stepanoff for a few weeks, but I can honestly say that he is a terrific psychologist.  He is easy to talk to because he listens.  He has a very calming manner which helps me feel less anxious when I go to my appointments.  Dr. Stepanoff is not pushy.  He is very understanding!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mr James A. Stump
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by jstump9857, Mar. 21, 2011

Dr Ben Stepanoff is a wonderful therapist. Very knowledgeable and very kind and compassionate. I would recommend Dr Ben to anyone, he listens, while at the same time, encouraging you to overcome...He's a very uplifting person, and I feel quite lucky to have him be my therapist...I cannot imagine having anyone else...Dr Ben is great!...

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Psychologists Nearby

Dr. Yuko Ouchi
Psychologist—Clinical Psychology, Developmental Psychology
1274 E Center Court., #112
Covina, CA 91724
Dr. Peter Robbins, PHD
Psychologist
Marriage & Family Therapist
Counselor

1370 N. Brea Blvd., Suite 245
Fullerton, CA 92835
Dr. Celisa Flores, PsyD
Psychologist—Eating Disorders
Marriage & Family Therapist—Adolescents, Families, Couples

19900 Beach Blvd, Suite H
Huntington Beach, CA 92648
Dr. Stephen Rhodes Lamotte, PHD
Psychologist—Clinical
5199 E Pacific Coast Hwy, Suite 304
Long Beach, CA 90804
Dr. Norrette Lohr Thierry, PHD
Psychologist—Clinical
16152 Beach Blvd, 280
Huntington Beach, CA 92647
Dr. Vera Marie Bell, PHD
Psychologist
Marriage & Family Therapist

3780 Kilroy Airport Way, Suite 370
Long Beach, CA 90806
Lori Ann Tyler, PHD
Psychologist—Clinical
12724 Whittier Blvd, #a8
Whittier, CA 90602
Dr. Janis Elaine Foote, PHD
Psychologist—Clinical
3532 Katella Ave, Suite 231
Los Alamitos, CA 90720
Dr. Debra Alexa Vincent, PHD
Psychologist
4195 N Viking Way, Suite 250
Long Beach, CA 90808
Dr. Stephen Walter Seetal, MA, PHD
Psychologist
921 E Compton Blvd
Compton, CA 90221

View All