Dana Brook Houchen, Review

Dana Brook Houchen, Review

Average rating based on 11 reviews
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Mrs
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by eab1, Jun. 17, 2015

Brook was both professional and warm and friendly.  She gave me excellent tools to deal with the problems I was having.  I started seeing her about one problem, and then two other traumatic things occurred in my life.  She continued to support me and we had very helpful, calming sessions that brought me back to my normal base.  She was very insightful, and didn't overreact to my state of mind, while still taking me very seriously.  

She didn't try to stretch out the sessions, either.  Although she was willing to have more sessions, if I wanted them, we both felt that I was in a good place and had a good handle on things, and had learned some very helpful ways of looking at situations and my emotional reaction and thoughts about them.

I highly recommend Brook as a psychotherapist, and would not hesitate to use her services again, if I need to.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

The BEST therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by cama, Mar. 08, 2014

I have seen several therapists for almost 30 years. Brook has been the only therapist for the past 15 years. She is the best therapist I have ever had. It has all been said in the previous reviews. She is compassionate but direct. She will make you think and do the work to become the best you can be.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Changed My Life
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Annie09876, Jun. 02, 2013

I am so glad I heard about Brook from a friend! I was surprised at how helpful and goal oriented she was. She didn't tell me what to do, but helped me figure out what I needed to do and helped me figure out how to get there. I also recommended her to several friends, and they all have thanked me for recommending her. She was so caring, but also made me laugh and realize how to have HOPE. Glad I saw her!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

ms
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by healthiernow, Sep. 20, 2012

Brook knows her stuff. She gives you her full attention during your hour and then gives feedback that is helpful.  She relates well, gives solid to the point information and is fun. She sees issues from a professional view and makes situations that were once difficult much easier to handle.
I would recommend Brook to my friends.... and have.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

God sent
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by MrsJess, Sep. 19, 2012

  I was seeing another therapist for a short time and felt really uncomfortable with them,Brook was recommended to me by a friend of mine as well as a coworker. The moment I walked into her office I felt totally comfortable and was able to talk to her about my situation openly. I truely look forward to my appointments because I know she will be honest and challenge me to accomplish something before our next visit. It doesn't matter if I'm left laughing or crying I truelly feel better after an appointment and my family and friends are seeing a difference in me. I don't know where I would be today without her help.      

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

ROA
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by SOLROA, Sep. 06, 2012

Brook is a true professional. She is direct and to the point, yet compassionate to the situation. She is a great listener and has helped me see myself in a new light. I will recommend Brook to my friends and family.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Highly recommend!
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Apple12, May. 30, 2012

Brook has helped me through a very difficult time in my life.  I now see situations in a different light.  Her goal is to help you become mentally healthy and she has accomplished that with me.  She is very straight forward and I appreciate that.  I have recommended her to friends and family.  

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Moving On
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by zteach, Apr. 25, 2012

Our time with Brook was valuable. She was personable, sincerely interested in hearing our story, and provided valuable tools that we continue to use to help us move forward in a healthy way.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

no more choking
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by nomorechoking, Oct. 10, 2011

I would recommend Brook to anyone that really wants to work at being a better person and seeing things in a better light. Her homework assignments were relevant and through them, she was able to see a clearer picture of me. This is turn, really helped me get where I needed to be. I asked her not to dwell too much in past events and look at what was happening now. She listened and I appreciated that!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by HappyLady, Jun. 16, 2011

Brook really helped me grow as a person, and define better boundaries in my life.  I highly recommend her. She truly cares about people, and helps everyone achieve their personal goals.  I have referred a lot of friends to her, who also said that Brook really helped them too.  Brook is direct and extremely helpful.  She truly helps you look at things in a different light.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mr
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Billy100, Jun. 09, 2011

I have been seeing Brook on and off for quite some time. I will say that Brook is a very passionate and strong willed person that will give you advice that needs to be heard. I have recommended her to many of my friends and family members. I would recommended anyone to her!!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Social Workers Nearby

Robert Reed, LMSW
Social Worker
934 N Water St
Wichita, KS 67203
Rachel Epp Reimer-Kouame, LSCSW
Social Worker—Clinical
934 N Water St
Wichita, KS 67203
Jeanette Diederich, LSCSW
Social Worker—Clinical
560 N Exposition St
Wichita, KS 67203

View All