Doreen Bellini, Review

Doreen Bellini, Review

Average rating based on 9 reviews
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Learning to Cope
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by itworks, Apr. 29, 2016

I must say that meeting with Doreen has truly changed my outlook on the way I've been living my life, she has taught/guided me immensely!  When I first went to her I immediately loved how real she was with me as a client.  Doreen called me out on things that I was blind to, by her doing this it made me realize what I should and should not accept in life.  Doreen will challenge you and make you feel uncomfortable at times, but what she does really works, it pushes you to realize things you turn a blind eye to.

I would highly recommend Doreen, she's a great person and a great therapist!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Thanks
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by AQJC, Apr. 18, 2016

Doreen uses a very no nonsense approach. She tells patients and their families like it is, she is honest and doesn't sugar coat anything. I appreciate her honesty because I have found other therapists simply pacify their patients which, in the long run, is further damaging. She provides very realistic feedback and advice. I can understand the negative reviews on this page but realize these individuals are most likely "victims" that didn't want to hear her honesty and be given feedback and advice on how to better themselves and their situation. She doesn't feel sorry for "victims" but realizes that with help anyone can turn their life into the positive experience it should be if they are willing to hear the truth and put the work in she will do whatever she can in return.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Doreen Bellini is a horrible therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by DivorcedAfterTherapy, Nov. 20, 2015

Doreen Bellini is the worst therapist I've ever experience.  Went to Doreen for marriage counseling after discovering my wife's infidelities.  Very abrasive, interrupts, judgmental.  Used Wikipedia for official definition of emotional conditions.  Ultimately told me that it was my fault for my wife cheating on me.  The marriage is ended, Doreen wasn't the only reason, however, she did absolutely nothing to help.     

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Horrible. Ruined my marriage. Couldn't remeber basic info from week to week
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Jamie12, Sep. 17, 2015

She couldn't rember things discussed from previous weeks. She completely sided with my husband, I believe she was actually flirting with him during our sessions. She was obtuse, and come tell incapable of being neutral. She should be removed from this profession. Beware!

* this reviewer had 6 - 10 therapists before.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

How is she still licensed!?!
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by FLFF, Jul. 01, 2015

HORRIBLE!! She *COMPLETELY* missed my husband's Asbergers!!

We were having trouble in our marriage, I knew something was horribly wrong but didn't have the 1st clue as to what it was. Doreen yelled at both of us but interestingly she yelled at me more substantially, it wasn't clear at the time but she was unable connect the dots.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Marriage Saved
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by MarriageSaved, Feb. 05, 2015

Dr Bellini saved our marriage. I was done, but my spouse begged for counseling. We had seen two counselors prior to no avail. The second counselor, Michael McDonald, recommended we divorce (after ten sessions) and told us we could not be helped. He was a complete waste of time, money and energy and did nothing for us. We got no where with him. Dr. Bellini is the complete opposite.
Dr Bellini is extremely tough and digs deep. She gets to the root of the problem and cuts into you quite sharply, which makes you think and realize the result of your actions and how your relationships are affected. We dreaded going to her sessions because we would most always leave feeling horrible about ourselves, but only because we were now seeing our true colors. It was an extremely difficult process, but absolutely beneficial. My spouse and I both now know how vital it is to communicate our needs and feelings to one another (correctly) and to not have resentment, as well as understand each other's needs, which was invaluable to the success of our marriage. We are both so much happier. It is still a work in progress but we will never forget so many things that Dr. Bellini brought out about ourselves as a couple and individually. There were difficult revelations but it was a needed process. I would highly recommend Dr. Bellini, but be prepared. She does come across quite harsh at times but gets your attention. I don't know this approach would work for everyone, but it certainly worked for us.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Something is just not right....
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Over, Aug. 29, 2013

I have had individual and marriage counseling with this counselor.  I didn't feel I/we were moving in any kind of positive direction with her approach. In fact she made me feel worse, I have since moved one to different counselor for myself.
Please do your research when choosing any kind of therapist.  Ratings, schooling, etc.  It will save you money and possibly avoid more psychological damage   

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Has helped so much
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Kettering, Jul. 26, 2011

Doreen has helped me so much.  I've never had more than a few minutes wait and usually because I'm early.  She's seems to have immense knowledge in many different areas.  My life has greatly improved with her help.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Title
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by NeedingHelp, Nov. 12, 2010

I was unhappy with Mrs Bellini. We were looking for a family therapist and she was in the area.

She seem to make us all feel worse then when we started. She would tell me that I should interact with people differently but when I ask her to show me how, she told me I just needed to learn. I did not know where to start that was why I was there.

My son needed to get a copy of what they talked about and after at least 3 months of asking he still does not have a copy. His future employement is at risk because she will not provide what he needs.

So in long, she was mean and self centered. She would complain about what was going on in her day and did not help with the problems that our family was having.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by MarriageSaved 2015-02-08 12:57:35
I agree Dr.Bellini does tell you that you are saying or doing it wrong, but does not tell you how to say or do it correctly without you asking over and over. She will continue to berate and make you feel horrible without directing or teaching you until you repeatably ask.

Marriage & Family Therapists Nearby

Sarah Elizabeth Jackson, PHD PSYCHOLOGY RSDNT
Marriage & Family Therapist
Psychologist

4881 Sugar Maple Dr
Dayton, OH 45433
Anne Eisenmann
Marriage & Family Therapist
Counselor—Addiction

301 E 6th St
Dayton, OH 45402
Ryan Mebust, IMFT
Marriage & Family Therapist
2670 Woodman Center Ct
Dayton, OH 45420
Allison Newlin, PC
Marriage & Family Therapist
1411 N Fairfield Rd
Dayton, OH 45432
Meerae Zastoupil
Marriage & Family Therapist
287 Cincinnati Ave
Xenia, OH 45385
Jaci Elizalde, IMFT
Marriage & Family Therapist
1110 Webster St
Dayton, OH 45404
Natalie Andrews, LMFT
Marriage & Family Therapist
767 Columbus Ave, Suite 2
Lebanon, OH 45036

View All