Dr. Charles W Washam, Review

Dr. Charles W Washam, Review

Average rating based on 70 reviews
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Dr. Washam
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by stevenrick, Jul. 13, 2019

Dr. Washam’s clinical approach is a finely tuned technique and crafted style in which he develops a meaningful relationship grounded in honesty, empathy, insight, and analysis.

Kathrine and I have been married six years, have two young sons, and we have met with Dr. Washam weekly since March of 2019. We are doing immensely better. We have essentially re-defined the foundation of our marriage, we are improving our communication, and we are now able to listen to one another with more dignity, respect and sensitivity.

If you expect some sort of "quick fix" or superficial approach to resolving psychological issues,  then Dr. Washam is not for you. But, if you genuinely want to confront the core  issues that create impulsive and non-productive behaviors, then look no further. Dr. Washam is kind, nonjudgemental and humorous...but also quite direct, intense and engaging. He continually encourages you to search for the truth at all times no matter what.
 
I recommend Dr. Washam without any reservations, and if you can get an appointment, you will not be disappointed!

Steven R.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent & Well-Rounded Therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by davidpeterson513, May. 05, 2019

Dr. Washam emphasizes completeness and wholeness rather than perfectionism. He's always great at combining history, psychology, philosophy and religion with depth analytic therapy, and has had a dramatic impact on our lives. Thank you Dr. Washam for everything you've done for my wife and both boys.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

10/10
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by pf82, Mar. 09, 2019

Articulate; intelligent; insightful...Honestly, Dr. Washam has helped me improve my life in many important ways. It's amazing how much he cares about helping me. Highly recommend.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Job Coach
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Mega, Sep. 25, 2018

When my husband wanted to give Dr. Washam more money for spending 40 more mins over our hour to help us, he refused the money, hugged us, and said we could write a review for him if we wanted. Dr. Washam deserves more than just a good review.
Dr. Washam has counseled my husband and I for approximately a month. I consider our case a very challenging one and Dr. Washam has managed to take our baggage and lay it out on the table for us to plainly see (per say). He is very good at metaphorically painting a picture for us to better understand what he sees in us. He shared personal experiences, insight, and education with us, which backed up his knowledge and credibility. Dr. Washam is someone who we both love like family and whom we both highly respect. Words simply cannot describe the godly wisdom we have been so fortunate to soak in. Only 2 visits and we're convinced there is no one better (for us.)
Plus, he's an animal lover. Not to mention, his office is SO neat, very clean and comfortable.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Grateful
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by steviep3, Jul. 15, 2018

Dr. Washam has mastered the art of active, compassionate listening. He skillfully employs insightful interpretations with gentle albeit direct confrontations. My wife and I have benefited beyond our expectations, and we are most grateful.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Caring, Supportive and Safe Environment
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by karebearbengals, May. 26, 2018

Dr. Washam provided a caring, supportive and safe environment for my husband and me to openly discuss our marital concerns. After just five sessions we have already developed a new appreciation for the importance of sensitive, honest, accepting communication. Dr. Washam is the best.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Dr. Washam
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by stevierx, May. 08, 2018

I have been a patient of Dr. Washam‘s for the past year. He is an excellent diagnostician, and has a keen ability to not judge or blame but rather understand and accept. Dr. Washam has been a tremendous help in my healing.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Truly Caring
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by ELZT513, Apr. 29, 2018

Nowadays, treating mental health has become all about medication and treating symptoms. However, Dr. Washam is a wonderful and refreshing alternative. He is caring, direct, insightful, humorous, and challenging, and his commitment to authenticity and transparency has been transformational. Throughout our therapy, I have felt safe and cared for (even during the most difficult sessions), and I encourage anyone who is struggling to contact Dr. Washam.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Saved my life
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by stphc3, Apr. 14, 2018

I began working with Dr. Washam in June 2017. I decided to work with him based on his many incredible reviews. I must say that with his help, guidance, and compassion, he probably saved my life. Dr. Washam is so different from most others because he cares and wants his patients to succeed in life and reach their full potential. After six months of his guidance and help, I am in a fantastic emotional place. I truly have never felt this strong and confident in all my life. Thank you Dr. Washam.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Unparalleled
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by charlottew, Feb. 03, 2018

I wish that all my health care professionals cared about their patients as much as Dr. Washam does. His boundless energy, careful attention to detail, and his patience, understanding and clinical acumen are unparalleled. In my experience, Dr. Washam is direct, challenging, and is committed to helping others discern their truth and live authentically, and congruently, from that place. I have gained new self-awareness and my pain in life is diminishing.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Our Daughter's Addiction / Therapy
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by tara22, Jan. 14, 2018

Our 20 year old daughter has been in and out of 'rehab' for the past 3 years. She has struggled with drinking and opiates. We found Dr. Washam on the internet, and he has been fantastic. His insight and suggestions have helped us with our daughter as well as our marriage. He never rushes the sessions, is patient, understanding, kind and thorough. We are functioning much better now as a family; I strongly recommend Dr. Washam.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent Family Therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by sasha10, Nov. 21, 2017

We worked with Dr. Washam in family therapy because we have had difficulty blending our two families. My husband has one nine year old daughter and I have two boys, ages eleven and eight. The tension between our children was out of control and hurting the marriage; a lot of arguing, parents taking sides, discipline problems, etc.  Dr. Washam has helped all of us improve our communication, and state our feelings in a clear and respectful way. Dr. Washam is kind, direct, to the point, but firm. He's been a tremendous help to us all.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Top notch
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by eliset3, Nov. 04, 2017

Top notch, incredibly thorough, he takes many, many notes, and always works closely with my primary doctor. Dr. Washam is generous with his time, he is upbeat, and shows compassionate and supportive interest in my overall health.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Highly recommend
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by marglee3, Sep. 26, 2017

Dr. Washam is compassionate and very understanding, and he helped make such a stressful time in my life go as smoothly as possible. His focus and high-energy can make you feel like you are his only patient, and I recommend him to anyone in need of a highly skilled therapist.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Dr. Washam exceeds expectations
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by robf84, Sep. 24, 2017

Dr. Washam has exceeded my expectations, even after reading his many exemplary reviews. To begin, Dr. Washam is very down to earth; he is practical in his counsel and often times he will use sport's metaphors to help elucidate complicated and complex ideas. He listens carefully, pays attention to detail, and takes a ton of notes. There is never any doubt that he is fully present in each session, and often times I leave feeling emotionally exhausted. That said, he has helped me like no other.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Dr. Washam
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by ashH2, Aug. 30, 2017

Dr. Washam is friendly, thoughtful, and has been of tremendous help. His style and approach are quite different from the other psychologists that I have seen over the years. He does not do "cover your ass" therapy where the doctor sits in a chair, says very little, and occasionally nods. Instead, Dr. Washam is energetic, talkative, and a masterful teacher, as he breaks down complicated psychological insights and helps make them easier to understand and apply in my life. His analytic perspective is challenging and provoking, but you never feel judged or dismissed.

We have worked together on and off since 2014, and he has helped me live a fulfilling and productive life, with a borderline personality disorder. I recently completed my Ph.D. and I never would have stayed with it were it not for our work together. Dr. Washam is my therapist, my mentor, and my friend, and I am forever grateful.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Rare Therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by gf33, Aug. 20, 2017

Dr. Washam is highly intelligent, skilled in treating severe depression and bi-polar disorders, and has remarkably helped my family. Dr. Washam is that rare therapist who somehow balances compassion with directness. We feel very fortunate and blessed to have him in our tri-county area.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Nicole Miller
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by NicoleMiller, Aug. 17, 2017

Dr. Washam is my favorite therapist that I have had. He has helped me so much in the past two years and I cannot thank him enough for it. He isn't afraid to say what he thinks and definitely won't baby talk you through what is going on, which is really refreshing. I would definitely recommend him to anyone who needs therapy or someone to talk to. He has been kind to my family and accepted us even through hard and dark times. Thank you for all that you have done.


* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Dr. Washam
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by gingm72, Aug. 09, 2017

Thank you Dr. Washam. I always love what you have to say, and how you say it so clearly and compassionately. Your modern Freudian perspective is supportive and gently reveals the truth. Being able to find the real "you" - day by day - is a treasure for myself and those around me.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Dr. Washam
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by cassyw2, Aug. 02, 2017

Dr. Washam clearly and definitely exemplifies compassion and equanimity, as well as a welcoming and accepting spirit. His therapeutic approach is very genuine, unpretentious, and knowledgeable. I have learned a great deal from my time with Dr. Washam.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Marriage & Family Therapists Nearby

Andrew F Arthur, MA
Marriage & Family Therapist
200 Medical Village Dr
Ft Mitchell, KY 41017
Betty Kratzenberg, MFT
Marriage & Family Therapist
7459 Burlington Pike
Florence, KY 41042
Gayle Ingolia Jimenez, MS
Marriage & Family Therapist
3629 Church St
Latonia, KY 41015
Amy Marie Welch
Marriage & Family Therapist
Counselor—Mental Health

12 E 5th St
Newport, KY 41071
Melissa Pruett, MFT
Marriage & Family Therapist
12 E 5th St
Newport, KY 41071

View All