Dr. Elizabeth Anne Larson, Review

Dr. Elizabeth Anne Larson, Review

Average rating based on 6 reviews
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Horrible experience with Beth Larsen
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by BecF1242, Apr. 07, 2015

I saw Beth Larsen for a number of visits but finally quit.  Beth Larsen should NOT be a counselor.  She has poor listening skills, and is self absorbed.  She talked more about herself than I wanted to know and seemed to be in the sessions to have me help her with HER problems.  She was arrogant, rude, and snotty.  In many ways she is a dangerous person as she heaps guilt and shame on clients.  I finally went to a good counselor and got the help I needed, but it took months to get over the abusive way Beth Larsen treated me.  

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Burg 2016-06-09 08:37:09
I totally agree.  Beth Larsen is more interested in telling you how great she is than helping with your problem.  She ruined my family relationships. I feel SHE needs counseling.  Stay away!
Dr. Beth Larson
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by TrustingGod, Sep. 20, 2013

Dr. Larson was compassionate to the entire situation our family was dealing with. Sure her directives were sometimes very difficult but following through and trusting that she knew what she was talking about actually saved our entire family from an extremely traumatic series of events. She is very knowledgeable about a wide range of issues including all the dysfunctional issues families and individuals deal with. She knew when to challenge me to move forward and when I was not ready. I knew if I wanted to move beyond being a victim to being a survivor I needed to go through the tough stuff, after all being a victim was not a place I wanted to stay. So, if you are really looking for change I encourage you to see Dr. Larson. You need to be willing to do the work. You are not going to get better by being coddled and babied. Becoming a survivor was hard work and I would never have taken the steps to become the person I am today had it not been for Beth's encouragement, hard work and at times  insistent pushing. And yes sometimes I was not thrilled when I left because I heard something about myself that I needed to change. Don't enter into a therapeutic relationship if you are not willing to be challenged to change. Also understand that change is not going to feel good. The feel good takes place after the change takes place. I would strongly recommend anyone who desires to better their life and become a stronger individual to take a chance, enter into the relationship knowing it is not going to be all sugary and sweet. Getting to where you are was not exactly a sugary sweet road so don't expect that moving out of the garbage you so much want to and need to leave is going to be a cake walk, it is hard, it is blood, sweat and tears and at times down right stink. If your counselor isn't challenging you to do the tough stuff you are throwing your time and money away!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
0 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

nurse1
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by nurse1, Jun. 06, 2013

LOVE Dr. Beth Larson; she is always available and has been extremely helpful to me

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
0 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Very bad experiences
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by AF222, Jan. 05, 2011

Beth Larson should not be a counselor.  She is rude, bossy, and not considerate in any way.  I went to her a few times and tried to be open and honest about the tough issues I was facing after losing my job.  She could not have cared less.  It was a nightmare for me.  Do to someone else.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
4 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by BecF1242 2015-04-07 13:02:46
That was my experience with her as well
Olivia S-F
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by justice4children, Sep. 18, 2010

Dr. Beth provided me with something that I could never possiably repay her for..She is very caring even for someone who she does not know. I might say that I owe my life to her.. Thank you Beth......

1 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by AF222 2011-01-05 15:31:05
I am glad Beth Larson helped you.  She did nothing for me and was a rotten experience.  You got lucky, be thankful.
I had horrid experiences with Beth Larson, DO NOT GO TO SEE HER.
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by PTSDVictim, Aug. 01, 2010

I went to Beth Larson for personal counseling once per week for about four months.  It was a horrible experience.  She just uses catch phrases and rehearsed statements, many of which did not even apply to what I was talking to her about.  She went on about her own kids way too much, and told me all about her being on staff at some college.  She wanted to talk more about herself, and not really listen to me.

When I tried to share difficult things from my childhood, she could not have cared any less.  I kept thinking there would be some value to seeing Beth Larson, so I continued with seeing her, but her ineffective and in many cases unethical actions just piled more guilt on me.  I have PTSD and anxiety, as diagnosed by an MD, yet Beth Larson shamed me and made my life worse.

I say she was unethical because she took my money and did not provide competent counseling. Nor did Beth Larson refer me to someone who could help me.  She just took my money and every week I came home from the sessions and cried and felt horrible.  She laid one guilt trip on me after another, even though I was and am a recovering victim.   

When I finally questioned her style Beth Larson got really snotty, and rude, and told me I was in "lala land."  She used unprofessional language with me, and that was the turning point.  I finally stood up to her and never went back.  My family was very thankful that I quit seeing Beth Larson, they are the ones who helped me to find a real counselor.  I am glad I quit Beth Larson, and I hate to think how messed up my life would have been had I continued seeing Beth Larson.  

To put it simply, I was emotionally abused by the sessions I had with Beth Larson.  

Beth Larson did not help me in any way.  I finally went to a competent counselor and had to spend many sessions just recovering from the emotional junk that Beth Larson subjected me to.  I am doing much better now that I am seeing a good counselor.   

Please do not go to Beth Larson, she is a dangerous and unsafe person for anyone with serious trauma in your past.

In my opinion, Beth Larson should not even be a counselor.



* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
5 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

4 comments. Add a comment

by justice4children 2010-09-18 22:27:27
Dr. beth saved my relationship with my daughter, your comments are a complete contridiction of who she is. Dr. Beth is a good person, and a very good therapists in my opinion....Maybe you and her were just not on the same page, so what, get over it...
by AF222 2011-01-05 15:32:17
I had the same kind of negative experience with Beth Larson.  maybe she helps some people, if she likes them, but she sure turned me off totally.
by TrustingGod 2013-09-20 02:30:54
I find it unbelievable that as a person suffering from PTSD & Anxiety would not have been treated by Beth with compassion. If there was anyone who suffered from PTSD and anxiety I can honestly say I ranked up there quite high. It has a lot to do with how you approach counseling. Sometimes difficult things are required to allow you to move into a healthier direction. If you are not being challenged to change then what is the point in going to counseling? I wish you the best.
by BecF1242 2015-04-07 13:09:39
Beth Larsen was rude and snotty to me as well.  She just is a rotten person.

Psychologists Nearby

Dr. Shelley Lynn Sandbulte, EDD
Psychologist
2210 S Brown Pl
Sioux Falls, SD 57105
Constance L Spicero, EDD
Psychologist—Clinical
4400 W 69th St, Suite 1500
Sioux Falls, SD 57108
Lezlee Greguson-Lund, PHD
Psychologist—Clinical
4400 W. 69th St, Suite 500
Sioux Falls, SD 57108

View All