Dr. James Richard Baroffio, Review

Dr. James Richard Baroffio, Review

Average rating based on 4 reviews
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Satisfied Client
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Mommabr, Sep. 30, 2013

Dr. Baroffio has helped our family tremendously.  He has worked with our son and helped our family to navigate some extremely difficult problems.  He took his time to understand what the issues were and made an incredible connection with our son.  He went from not wanting to go to a therapist to looking forward to his meetings and talking about the ideas we have gotten from Dr. B spontaneously at home.  He has been very insightful and approachable.  I recommend him 100%

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Good psychologist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by rajathis, Sep. 26, 2013

I rarely post reviews.  But I felt like I should because I worked with Dr. B and the negative reviews I saw on this site just aren't fair or accurate.  It is a shame that people can anonymously rip other people on the net, just because they didn't get what they wanted.  The reviewer who posted positive comments is right on.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Parent
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by MamaJulia, Sep. 12, 2013

     In early 2007, I asked for the help of the Autism Team to assess the needs of my son at the Cherry Creek School District.  Dr. Baroffio preformed that assessment and it was quite alarming to note how little he understood in assessing the needs of a child with autism.  He noted that my son had no signs of ASD.  I tried to work with him in many ways.  I tried to show him the misinterpretations and misdiagnostics and why my son was so misplaced.  He wouldn't listen.
     Six months after his diagnostic assessment was done, I took my son to a specialist. She did a very comprehensive job. She did all the appropriate testing and even took the time to observe him in the school.  She diagnosed him with Asperger's Syndrome. I then asked for a new IEP meeting to be set up. Dr. Baroffio showed up to that meeting and everyone appeared to be very angry.  They all came to the conclusion that my son had no signs of autism.  This was very odd to me since many people had been able to easily identify my sons obvious autism over the years, even teachers in this school district.     
     I later learned that teachers are not supposed to be doing diagnostics and yet, there it was, written right on the IEP.  No Asperger's Syndrome present.  Apparently, I have embarrassed Dr. Baroffio by going to a specialist. I also must question why the staff appeared to be very angry and uncooperative about who knows what?!?
     In the following years, my son was diagnosed many times because he was not getting his needs met in the Cherry Creek School District.  The poor kid was diagnosed by professionals and teachers alike. Even though Dr. Baroffio never showed up to another meeting, his influence was always there.  The IEP team usually did diagnostics of my son and appeared angry and uncooperative towards me.  The rest of the staff at every school could easily see my son's obvious autism, tried to help as best they could and were always very friendly to me.
     The IEP's showed all the behaviors of a child being bullied. Every year, the IEP staff recorded this and did nothing about it.  Finally, staff began to question why would this boy be afraid to talk to teachers or ask them for help when needed.  I had to show them the documentation of obvious bullying. I had to show them that you can't make an autistic child accountable for social and language issues that they do not understand.  Grading a child on his inability to know how to socialize and/or ask for assistance, does not teach him anything. I had to show them that you can't make an autistic child accountable for not understanding how to be organized.  I had to show them that grading a child on his inability to focus on task, does not teach him a thing. Grading him on his inability to focus on task, does not show his actual academic capabilities either. Grading a child on his poor motor skills, does not teach him a thing.
     What is the actual intention here? Why does the IEP team and only the IEP team at every school have this odd perception of my son? Why does district personnel have this same odd perception? Apparently, Dr. Baroffio is very bigoted. Apparently, he is very prejudiced against children with autism.
     I have met numerous other families who have children with autism in this district. They have suffered with similar circumstances. They all know their children have not gotten a FAPE. This district has spent thousands of dollars a year on this blatantly obvious mistake.  Thousands they shell out to pay for autistic children to attend other districts, thousands they shell out in court costs, etc. This district as a whole does not appear to understand how to assess the needs of a child with autism and Dr. Baroffio leads the Autism Team.
     I am not quite sure why the Cherry Creek School District who have proudly proclaimed a "dedication to excellence", would want to show off about being bigoted.      

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
0 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

9 comments. Add a comment

by dj55 2013-09-26 09:51:35
This review is inappropriate and factually incorrect:
1) Dr. B does not "lead" the Autism Team.
2) This review pertains to work within schools, not the community.
3) IEP teams make decisions, not any one person.
4) This person alleges bigotry and prejudice, clearly using the terms inappropriately...this is grossly misleading.
5) This person essentially used the bulk of the review to make statements fully irrelevant to Dr. B.
by MamaJulia 2013-09-27 13:18:20
1.  Dr. Baroffio is supposed to work as a team member but  
    creates false information and uses his credentials  
    to "lead" the team in his direction.
2.  Dr. Baroffio's work in the schools affects each and
    every one of us no matter where we are.
3.  Again, Dr. Baroffio uses his credentials to gain
    control over situations that should be discussed as a
    team, but never are.
4.  If Dr. Baroffio is truly the professional that he
    states he is, he would have reviewed all the  
    diagnostics brought before him and the team and would
    have been able to see that diagnostics show the boy
    really does have autism (despite what his assessment
    shows), because all the appropriate
    tests were done to show exactly that and nothing more.
    Instead, Dr. Baroffio did not want to admit the  
    mistakes he had written on his assessment of the boy.
    Dr. Baroffio has persistently influenced district  
    personnel and IEP teams over the years to break every  
    rule in the books to show that his assessment is  
    accurate despite numerous diagnostics brought to the  
    table that show the opposite. That is nothing more than
    bigotry.
5.  I had suggested that Dr. Baroffio not attend any
    meeting or in any way be involved in my sons care when
    he showed no interest in the diagnosis done by the  
    specialist. He showed up to the next IEP meeting anyway
    and was involved in staff creating their own diagnosis
    right on the IEP.  Since Dr. Baroffio is the  
    professional, he knows that the diagnosis in question
    was very accurate and (at 43 pages), very  
    comprehensively done. Since Dr. Baroffio is the
    professional, he also knows that the staff are not
    allowed to be doing their own diagnostics, but he  
    didn't stop them.  If Dr. Baroffio is truly the
    professional, he would know that you cannot put an  
    autistic child into an SED program without causing
    grave psychological harm.  Since Dr. Baroffio is the
    psychologist on the autism team, he already knows that.
    That means that either Dr. Baroffio is bigoted or very
    prejudiced against kids with autism. My child is not  
    the only one who has suffered this horrific fate in the
    Cherry Creek School District.
by StillMarching2polka 2013-09-28 13:14:20
This post ANGERS me! I am a mother of a child who had Autisim, and has been upgraded to Asbergers syndrome.WHO HAS WORKED WITH DR. b !!! I have had  countless IEP meetings in countless states. I have also been a special education advocate for 20 years and have attended countless IEP, BSP, and HSP meetings in 15 plus states. I have 35 ECI credits on autistic children alone that includes but is not limited to: characteristics, fundamentals, behaviors, and more, taught at some of the finest educational establishments in San Francisco, Orange County California, Boston, and Texas. I also have a BA in abnormal psychology and an AA in philosophy.  I have read your "rant" about ONE MAN, In regards to the struggles EVERY parent/ guardian/concerned bi stander goes through when trying to find help for a child! Seemingly, it appears as if you are so desperate to have an autistic diagnosis, that u refuse any opinion that is not like yours! I have seen it so many times, the parent does not get their way in the IEP mtg. Throws a fit, knows enough about the laws and demands test after test for their child that they are supposedly trying to help with no regards to the emotional hell that child is going through at the demands of the hell bent parent on a mission to get a diagnosis. What u described in your post about the school having a responsibility to not mark you child down for BEHAVIORAL issues that fall into MANY catagories, you are slaughtering ONE MAN for your behavior. You are blaming an entire school district in your terroristic attempts to make your self look like a hero. NO WHERE do I see YOU take accountability for your actions in regards to your behavior, that I can only assume based on your post, has been over the top, and is bet a buck confrentational, hostile and inappropriate! I can take my son to any specialist and tell that doctor any symptoms I want, I can describe in detail Information specific to some disorder I know about, and convince a doctor in 30 minutes my son has something wrong with him, based on MY account of what this child supposedly does outside of that drs office.... However given the chance to put my child through testing... My unrealistic claims would be disputed legitimately.  Seemingly the issue is NOT Dr. Baroffio's pending arrogant doom that follows you around like Velcro in an electric storm, seemingly the issue is your inability to do what is right for your child! Cut out the dairy In your sons diet, up the vit. A and D, add soy, and almond milk, reduce the gluten, hold him accountable for his choices, redirect the behavior over and over in his world....Appropriately.... Take some classes on as burgers syndrome.... Make a structured schedule at home that mirrors his day at school, stop attacking the teachers, IEP team members, and a doctor that is no longer influencing ur child's progress, and take on the magnificent responsibility oh having a special needs child, get over your guilt of "shoulda woulda coulda" (we all have it) and stop torturing your child to prove that you are right. Accept you child for who he is, get your mind out of the box you have it in, and actually work together with your team to find a solution. I don't care what title you put on a child, as all that title does is allow parents to get a paycheck from the government to sit on their a** and slaughter and blame anyone they can for their lack of parenting!  Get out of your own way, it's damaging to your child. I the time It took you to post this, you could have been spending time with your child teaching him how to sit quietly and appropriately, to help him be successful in school. Back off the school district, take the blame for your actions causing a hostile environment, apologize to the professionals that dread you IEP meetings, and the ones you verbally slaughtered, because you can't be honest with yourself, take a parenting class, and remember this, if you live your life blaming others and refuse to take accountability for your choices, you are teaching your son by your example, and blaming those who try to teach accountability to your son and demanding that they stop, only enables that child to continue on the path you have obviously been stuck on for years!  Thank you for your disrespectful opinion of a man who tried to help you. However sadly you screamed at the top of your lungs, that you have hit the same wall every single parent of a disabled child hits. You are taking your frustration out on anyone that has crossed your path. From one mom to another.... Stop, you are not helping yourself nor your child. Have a good cry, write some letters of appology to your IEP team, contact his teacher and say " help me help my son" and then LISTEN to what they have to say. Change your choices, the FIGHT is only as hard as YOU make it. Take the reports, I'm sure you have a sh*t ton of them. Grab a cup of coffee, a pink highlighter and a blue one, highlight everything that is consistent in all the reports in blue, and everything u do not agree with i n pink. Then appropriately learn something about your son. I bet you will be surprised at what you find. Stop attacking, stop being hung up on a title that is only a parents badge of recognition, and figure your son out, without the label! If he can't look at you in the eyes, teach him to look at your chin, by touching it every time you talk to him, if he does not like fruit loops, separate the colors and offer him one color at a time to see if its the yellow he hates..... Parent your special needs child as a child with special needs, instead of expecting the world to fix him! He is not broken... Your thought process is. Have a great day, I'm sorry it's all one long paragraph, as I'm on my phone. Hopefully my I phone autocorrect did not change anything and this makes sense! I wish you peace, and pray you take a long hard look at your choices and change them to create a better world for your son who is not the disability that defines him, he's not DIS abler, he is DIFFERENTLY abled, and you need to Differently parent! Stop the blame, take charge of your life and move on past this, as its damaging to your own spirit to hold a grudge this big, you need that space in your spirit for your son. Respectfully, Kerri
by StillMarching2polka 2013-09-30 10:47:09
You know I have to add..... Just the fact that you refer to your son as "this child" and "this boy" seems as though you have disconnected with your child. That in itself is a HUGE FAIL, a
From a parents perspective!!! Your child DESERVES better! If a stranger can see the malcontent and frustration in your vainglorious pomposity, maybe just maybe, the IEP team is picking up on it too. I as a mother of 7 children (ages 20 yrs to 20 months, with 4 of them disabled and 1 termanally Ill) beg you to get some therapy! This is a hard road. If you are honestly this disconnected to your child, you will NEVER be able to help your child. Stop everything you are doing, and just breathe! Every parent of a child with disabilities, gets to a point where they/we feel helpless. We feel spent, and feel like we are trying to get money out of an empty ATM. Without recharging our own spirit we become hostile and unrealistic with our thought process.

Take a break. Go look at your sons baby pictures, remember what you started with, a perfect baby boy, who had the whole world at his feet! He still does mama, he may have to walk differently, or look at the world differently, but it's still his world! Stop trying to make the secular world you used to live in fit your son, and stop trying to make your son fit in your secular world that no longer exists in your realm! When ANY parent has a child, disabled or not, their world changes. Your world took a left at the moon, and your are still trying to not only function in your old world, but you are hammering your child's puzzle piece into a puzzle that does not belong to your son!

I don't have to know you or your son to know that at times your spirit may just look at him as if her were just a hunk of coal in a huge pile of polished rocks, however it is our jobs as parents to recognize our children as a multifaceted gem full of color, and it's our job to figure out how to make that child shine in his own brilliant light!

Mama, please understand that this is coming from my heart, I've been there many times, but I can tell you that once you figure out how your child works, and who he is without the label, what will emerge is the most beautiful being this world could EVER ask for!!!

My son Jeffrey shut down Las Vegas blvd. because he gut stuck between 2 yellow lines in the cross walk, the fire trucks, by-standers, police, traffic, honking horns, and lights of the strip overwhelmed him so bad, he could not function. People yelled at me, it was a nightmare. When we tried to force him to move, he raged, and was a danger to himself, however when the fireman took off his reflective jacket and pants, and his black t shirt, and laid it over the yellow line, my son walked calmly to him and crawled up into his arms, because he was no longer trapped in the lines! To Jeffrey the fire man created a magical portal for him to pass through.  My point of telling you that was simply to show you, that if you change your thinking, you change your sons world!

This is not easy, and obviously the universe, or your god, or what ever it is you believe in,  felt you were equipped to raise this child to his highest potential. Fighting for what I count, by your testimony up there ^^^ more then 6 years, for a title that only justifies your struggles, is not helping you or your son.

Dr. B is not to blame for the fall of western civilization as we know it, he is a talented man, with a huge heart, who has spent the better part of 30 years of his life studying, and advancing his mind, to help countless people, overcome the struggles they have inside their own mind.

The (and I'm sure) COUNTLESS professionals, para-professionals, and concerned individuals that you have come into contact with over the years, all have invested their heart, time and spirit into your child.

Stop minimizing your child into nothing. Your words are POWERFUL... Calling your own child "this boy" and "this child" is just as powerful as reducing him to "it" "that" & " thing".... It's heartbreaking to see, and I'd bet disheartening for any one to hear, specifically your child.

Again look inward, I bet if you stopped long enough to recharge your spirit and make amends with your struggles, this will get easier.

Take some time to pamper yourself, if u can't afford to get the products, google a Mary Kay consultant, she will come to you for free, take a bubble bath, lay in the grass and watch the clouds with your son, do something to remind you who you are and why you do what you.

Sorry this has been on my heart all weekend.

I wish u peace, and pray you let go of your negotiable opinion of everyone around you, including your son. Even autistic children can be taught to pay attention to the best of their abilities, and function in a classroom, and school appropriately, but most of that is taught believe it or not at home! I have living proof in my 14 year old. It does get better mama, and you are the key to this working, not your IEP team, or a Dr. from 6 years ago.

Love and light,
Kerri
by MamaJulia 2013-10-03 08:52:17
Dear Dr. Baroffio:
     I would never have written these letters if not for the fact that your name keeps cropping up in conversations with administration despite the fact that I had asked that you not be in any way involved in my sons care.  It was so obvious that you did not car about my son at all.
1.  There are several reasons why I write this letter directly to you.
    A)  You wrote your credentials right on the top of your first letter dated 9-28-13.
    B)  No client I ever heard of would get this stressed about their doctor. No, particularly when you wrote "Sorry this has been on my heart all weekend." I knew I had hit a personal note.
    C)  A woman who has 5 children(three disabled and ranging in age from 13 years to infant)as depicted in your letter dated 5-10-2012, isn't going to take the time to write this kind of letter. Neither is a woman who has 7 children (ages 20 years to 20 months, with 4 of them disabled and one terminally ill), as depicted in your letter dated 9-30-2013. Nope. A woman who has to deal with all that does not have the time for the kind of letters you wrote. Nope. They wouldn't even have the time to be checking out the reviews on you if they really thought you were that great of a psychologist. They would already know. No reason to check.
2.  You have a very odd perception of a mother as you pretend to be a mother. A mother is not usually interested in "getting her way" in an IEP meeting. A real mother is interested in making sure her son is getting his needs met. She is usually interested in making sure her son is safe and is getting a good education.
3.  Your assessment of my son showed "no ASD" even though you had written "ASD" on the Referral Form prior to your assessment.
4.  I asked you to assess him again several times because my son is not behaviorally challenged and never was. You refused even though;
    A)  The Colorado Resource Guide for Autism Spectrum Disorders states: "A brief observation in a single setting cannot present a true picture of an individuals abilities and behavior patterns."
    B)  If you understand autism as much as you say you do, you should never assess a child with autism in a BD program. You knew my son had autism because it was printed on the Referral Form. Since you knew my son had autism, you also knew he should not be in a BD program because he is too na├»ve to be able to protect himself from the bullies (as indicated on your assessment), and yet you recommended he remain there.
5.  You wrote that "I can take my son to any specialist and tell that doctor any symptoms I want." As a mother, I am in shock at this suggestion, but I know you are not a mother. Knowing you are a psychologist who would even suggest such a thing, I will speculate that you are responsible for the falsified diagnostic report of my son that was paid for by district.  I don't know of many psychologists that would think this way either because it is unethical. A well known and respected specialist wouldn't dream of it and that is how I chose our specialist. She spent many days testing my son and even spent a day observing him in school. But, you already knew that and ignored it anyway.
6.  As I have a thriving business of my own, I have never been interested in "getting a paycheck from the government", but you already know that about me, so I am not quite sure what you are "ranting" about.
7.  I have never "lived my life blaming others." My son and I have a very happy life. I am very proud of my son who was in the gifted program before you did your assessment of him. He is very smart and learns quite a bit at home. He loves learning. Unfortunately, because of your assessment, the teachers are unable to teach my son. That means I have had to pull him out of school over and over again to teach him myself. At home, my son is very proud of having Asperger's Syndrome because it is that disability which makes him very smart and a gifted writer.
    Unfortunately, your assessment has caused the teachers to get frustrated by my sons disability and caused him to feel much shame in being disabled at school.
    Because my son has difficulties generalizing his knowledge, he is far more advanced in his capabilities at home, than he is at school. He is far more capable, far more sure of himself and far more proud of who he is at home and in our community.
    As I explained to you way back in '07 when you did your assessment of my son, I have worked very hard to make sure my son gets his needs met at home. I even told you the story of how it took 4 years to teach him how to ride a bicycle. Neither of us gave up in all those years. We have always proudly persevered.
8.  It is with pride of our accomplishments despite your intentional harm, that I write to you today.
    A)  Please refrain from using your credentials unwisely or unethically.
    B)  Please refrain from creating false and misleading assessments. They only cause great harm.
    C)  Please refrain from training district administration and IEP staff to bully parents. They do not deserve it.
    D)  Please refrain from training the IEP team to do their own diagnostics. They are not allowed to.
    E)  Please refrain from training IEP staff to ignore the child's obvious needs. It harms the child and confuses everyone else.
    F)  Please refrain from using your credentials to create false and misleading diagnostics paid for by district.
    G)  You appear to be a bitter man with a bitter view of the people you are supposed to be helping. You might want to rethink how you are observing your fellow man particularly in the position you hold. Your bitterness just might cause great harm to people who never deserved it.
9.  It is too bad that you refused to respond to my letters when I needed your help with my son. Now the tables are turned and this is all about you, you can't help but respond, can you. Now you know how I have felt all these years. Thank you for finally responding to my letters.
MamaJulia
by newyearmom 2014-01-04 17:59:41
I wish that Jim Baroffio was subject to DORA and APA standards but as a school psychologist he is not. Therefore only recourse that parents have is to file an OCR complaint against the man. Of course he carries weight with IEP teams far above any input any  parent or other professional can bring to the table. He can and does destroy teams, turn teachers against parents and students, and has the power to do far reaching harm to these students by voicing his "expert" opinions as to their "need" or to opine about their diagnosis to an IEP team. Shame on him. The district will eventually make changes.
by KerriAnnWalker 2015-12-04 22:04:39
Dear MamaJulia,
I write this letter to you in response to your open letter to Dr. B. blaming him for my words and your outrageous accusations that he wrote the email...  
My name is Kerri Ann Walker, I currently live in Greeley Colorado with my new husband James and my 3 youngest children.  I am in fact a mother of 7 children (my 22 year old is adopted, my 21 year old is an ex step daughter from my first husband, my 17 year old son lives with me, my ex step daughter age 13 is in foster care for trying to kill my children (and the reason i met Dr, B in the first place), my other step daughter age 11 lives with her father (my ex husband), my son age 10 lives with me, and my almost 4 year old daughter lives with me.  

I am also the proud grandmother to 3 grand children, 2 year old grand son and twin 1 year old grand daughters who live with my oldest two in California.  

your open letter to Dr, B. in response to both of my postings to you prove my point made years ago.  you really have to stop blaming everything in your world on Dr. B. and your paranoia is showing. i have no clue who you are, i was not asked by Dr, B to write a review, nor was i asked to respond to yours.  

the sad part about this rant that you have continued with your arrogance and vainglorious pomposity about my posts with all the misspellings and typos being a professional of over 30 years who literally writes reports for courts as well as other professionals on a regular if not daily basis is funny to me.  

Dr. B's professionalism supersedes the rantings of one very pissed off mom with more issues then tissues.  

so let me address your specifics to Dr, B in regards to my post.  they will not be in order as i dont care to follow your mindset. (that is my arrogance)

1. your funny.  your comment of: "B)  No client I ever heard of would get this stressed about their doctor. No, particularly when you wrote "Sorry this has been on my heart all weekend." I knew I had hit a personal note.
    C)  A woman who has 5 children(three disabled and ranging in age from 13 years to infant)as depicted in your letter dated 5-10-2012, isn't going to take the time to write this kind of letter. Neither is a woman who has 7 children (ages 20 years to 20 months, with 4 of them disabled and one terminally ill), as depicted in your letter dated 9-30-2013. Nope. A woman who has to deal with all that does not have the time for the kind of letters you wrote. Nope. They wouldn't even have the time to be checking out the reviews on you if they really thought you were that great of a psychologist. They would already know. No reason to check. "

yes.. yes i have 7 children.. yes i posted i only had 5 in my first post because that's all Dr. B. Was involved with as my 2 oldest were grown and living on their own in California.  however that does not discredit the fact that i have 7 children that call me mom.

yes i took the time to read the reviews on this doctor because he had to write a report on my family when my ex step daughter tried to kill my then newborn and my now 10 year old son 4 times in 5 years. he depicted my husband at the time very accurately as well as my step daughters mother, in addition to his observations of my children that he did meet as well as my psychological evaluation that was submitted to court as part of the dependency and neglect case that was open by Jefferson county children youth and family services when i called them asking them for help with my step daughter who has further been diagnosed with skitzoefective disorder.  during a very trying time in my life, Dr. B. was a light in my very darkened world.  i was being abused by my husband,his family and his ex wife and trying to hide it so that i could keep my children with me while he constantly relapsed with meth.   I was scared and alone trying to get help for a child that desperately needed it while trying to keep my biological children safe, and bide my time so i could find a safe way to leave my world that i hated.  (oh and before you go on your .. "you're a bad mother" rant about me... i was given no fault in the dependency and neglect case as i did everything i could to protect my children from harm)

Dr. B saw through the shroud that i pretended to have, and his reports were spot on.  He had limited information about me and quite a bit of misinformation about my world, and still was able to do his job accurately and effectively... this is something i appreciated then, as well as do now..  
 so yes my dear... a MOTHER would take the time to make these posts, as i did... and am doing it again... you are more then welcome to find me on facebook and i will be happy to tell you my damn self that i am real.  

2. your comment of: "You have a very odd perception of a mother as you pretend to be a mother. A mother is not usually interested in "getting her way" in an IEP meeting. A real mother is interested in making sure her son is getting his needs met. She is usually interested in making sure her son is safe and is getting a good education."  

again.. your funny.  you my dear have a very odd perception of the human race... when someone does something to help another person, usually that person that was helped tends to try to help back.  this is exactly what i have done with my posts.  im sorry you have a hard time understanding that, but again, your anger supersedes your cognitive reasoning in this issue, as you are hell bent on destroying one mans reputation because he pissed in your Cheerios years ago and did not give you what you wanted...

in addition to this fact... i have sat in countless IEP meetings for children that were not mine biologically at the request of other parents i know, and i have seen quite a few parents get pissed off when the professionals do not agree 100 percent of the time with what the parent is saying about their child.  they ALL ACT THE WAY YOU HAVE IN THIS POST.

3. in regards to your comment of :"5.  You wrote that "I can take my son to any specialist and tell that doctor any symptoms I want." As a mother, I am in shock at this suggestion, but I know you are not a mother. Knowing you are a psychologist who would even suggest such a thing, I will speculate that you are responsible for the falsified diagnostic report of my son that was paid for by district.

again.. wow.. you really need to step away from your keyboard ma'am... as again this was not typed by Dr. B. this was typed by a then 39 year old woman who was and still is concerned for your child... yes it hit a nerve... your rant is over the top and unacceptably blaming of someone that did nothing to you directly.  you cant even see that another human being might just disagree with you, without you blaming the same person that disagreed with you approximately 8 years ago...

you are so hell bent on proving this man wrong that you have convinced yourself that he would post a false post to you under the pretense of standing up for himself... how pathetically sad is that?  you my dear really need help for your issues.  

4. your statement of: " 7.  I have never "lived my life blaming others." My son and I have a very happy life. I am very proud of my son" .......

yes my dear you are blaming a man for a strangers post.  your own ranting has proven me correct, and i pray to the gods above that your son is happy... i am glad you are proud of your son... at least this time you took ownership of him, as the first post was about "THIS KID" ...

i wish you peace, and a long healthy relationship with a therapist my dear...

you really honestly need to seek help for your issues.  

as respectfully as i can submit this..

Kerri Ann Walker

ps.(again please come find me on facebook, as i have no problem telling you and proving to you that i am a real person, so maybe it can help you move forward with your really unhealthy obsessive anger towards someone that does not deserve it)

and i have created this new account because i cant get into the other 2 i have but my 2 screen names on here are 1. marches2myownpolka and 2. stillmarching2polka .. or something along that nature.. i cant remember my password and there is no place to reset it...

Kerri
by KerriAnnWalker 2015-12-05 00:29:40
oh also to your "proof" that Dr. B is the one that posted from the Polka Accounts because "he" listed his credentials on MY sept post as follows: This post ANGERS me! I am a mother of a child who had Autism, and has been upgraded to Asperger syndrome. WHO HAS WORKED WITH DR. b !!! I have had  countless IEP meetings in countless states. I have also been a special education advocate for 20 years and have attended countless IEP, BSP, and HSP meetings in 15 plus states. I have 35 ECI credits on autistic children alone that includes but is not limited to: characteristics, fundamentals, behaviors, and more, taught at some of the finest educational establishments in San Francisco, Orange County California, Boston, and Texas. I also have a BA in abnormal psychology and an AA in philosophy.

again. you are delusional.  THE ONLY EDUCATION I have in common with Dr. B is psychology in california.  however i went to Orange coast College and Fullerton Junior college in 1992 thru 1999.  i started Orange Coast College in 1992 with a philosophy course and my first Psyche class.  i was 17 and still lived in foster care at the time..

a quick google search of Dr. B will show you that he went to Fullerton College way before i was out of primary school and where it may be in the same city as i went to Junior College it was in fact decades apart and was in fact a different school all together.

furthermore the only time i resided in colorado were the years 1986-1987 when i was 12 years old and i moved here in 2009.  

im sorry love, but if you read your own post, as well as a google search of this man, you will find that he has been in colorado a hell of a lot longer then i have.

Again, when you really need to believe something about someone you will convince yourself you are right.  but again. hey... i have documentation to prove everything i am saying and am willing to meet with you in person to have coffee so you can see that a 41 year old mother covered in tattoos really is the person that posted the comments you are accusing a doctor of posting.

again.. please find some peace on this issue, and please get some help.

warmly
kerri .
by myfairlady 2016-04-30 10:54:12
There are some interesting facts to note in this collection of letters.
1.  Parent concerns          Dated     September 12, 2013
2.  dj55 responds                      September 26, 2013
3.  Client rating                      September 26, 2013
4.  Parent concerns                    September 27, 2013
5.  Still marching                     September 28, 2013
6.  Still marching                     September 30, 2013
7.  Client rating                      September 30, 2013
8.  Parent concerns                    October 3, 2013
On the same day that dj55 responded to parent concerns (9-26-13), a client rating was posted. On the same day that "stillmarching" posted for the second time (9-30-13), another client rating was posted......and nothing since then. Very interesting.

OH WHAT A TANGLED WEB WE WEAVE, WHEN FIRST WE PRACTISE TO DECEIVE.
I march to my own Polka, and Disagree with the other review Submitted on Dr. Baroffio.
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Marches2myOwnPolka, May. 10, 2012

I had the pleasure to work with Dr. Baroffio over the past couple of months. I am impressed with his no holds barred approach and respect that he tells it like he sees it.

Dr. Baroffio immediately picked up that we were vulnerable upon walking into his office, and in his own unique manor managed to put us at ease.  my 5 children, my husband and myself spent a matter of 6 hours in his office between our PCI and individual psyche evals.  3 of my children are disabled and my family is very different then most. However he was able to see through the paperwork and actually see each one of us in our own diverse light, and our own individual uniqueness as well as a family as a whole.  

not many people are able to understand the complexities of our family as it is widely diverse.  i am the open i have nothing to hide, kind of out there personality, my husband is the i dont talk, i dont care what you think about me, im not going to offer anything to you that you dont specifically require of me, i could care less kinda person on the outside, and the soft i will save the world by sacrificing my self if i have to "hero" on the inside.  my children are complex with multiple abilities and disabilities. the ages range from 13 years to at the time a month and a half old infant.

I am quite disturbed by the other review that i have read on this page about Dr. Baroffio, as we have just received our reports and while i do not like all of what was said about our family, it was all true.  I think maybe the person that wrote the above review should step back and think about why they were in the situation to be in Dr. Baroffio's office in the first place and from my knowledge of the child protective system, maybe the problem lies in the lack of parenting or ability to do their job as a parent and not in the inability of the therapist to do his job.  

my family is plagued by an ex wife who has so much malcontent for myself and my husband that she will go out of her way to blame the world for her issues and deflect any real concerns about her parenting on anyone and anything. where i do not have the results of her psyche eval, i am sure based on what i read about mine and my husbands she will be the next one on the band wagon of its the Dr's Fault, his inability to _______ enter complaint here, and claim that he does not have the education to do his job, or im the psycho who manipulated my way into a positive review.  i get it... or at least i believe i do..  

either way.. i truly believe that we are all in the positions we are in based on the efforts we have put forth in our lives to get us to this point.  we are all human beings that are fallible and vulnerable as well as the ability to adapt and move forward and make a change for the better. no one is above reproach and every single one of us have the ability to make choices that will make or break our lives...

i believe the above comment was prob. made by someone who has made the choice that the dysfunction that they function in is all they are willing to accept.  it also seems that they have been given the repeated opportunistic advantages to make changes and fail to see a need.  

no one is perfect and i fail to believe that people are broken beyond repair, as i personally believe by my lifes traumas that it is a desperate CHOICE to stay broken and only when you give up on yourself and your children do you actually fail.  

having said that i would like to add that children do not have the ability to grow up in a Utopian society, as it is just not something you can find in our lifetime, other than in books.  However it is our responsibilities as parents, and adults in the world that children live in, to strive for our own personal utopia to create a better world for the children at hand.  We as a society on a whole fail our children... all of them we have contact with on a daily basis simply by not responding to a childs smile in a grocery store, because we are to programmed to keep on going and were to much in a hurry to care anymore.

Dr. Baroffio in his own way is in my opinion a Knight in Dented Armour fighting for the rights of children's personal utopia, with the knowledge that if he can teach one person just a sliver of the abilities we all carry as human beings to make one change in our lives for the better, we have helped a child to find his own path and find his own piece of utopia.  maybe thats my interpretation, and maybe i in many peoples opinion do not have the right to say something about this man that has only spent a min. of 10 hours of my life to pass my own personal judgement of him, but that is my opinion.  

furthermore sometimes success can be measured by Failing Forward to success, as the life we choose is not always the easiest forum to exist in, however to blatantly accuse someone who has devoted from what i can account a min. of 30 years of his life to create a difference of purposefully trying to destroy someones life is absurd of to me.  

again, my husband an I do not agree with everything that we read in his reports on our family and would have liked the opportunity to clarify, but considering the scope of his job for our situation and his ability to see everything in its own light... i have to stand up and defend his professionalism and his "honor" so to speak.... as i respect his opinion, and i fully am aware what happened in my family that got us to this point.  

i think thats the main point here is simply... what is done is done... however to bash Dr. Baroffio for someones personal inadequacies that they put out in public in a terroristic attempt to damage his name... just made them in my opinion look sadly pathetic and screamed at the top of their lungs:"i failed my children and my self and my family... and i dont want to take responsibility for my choices"...

again that is my personal opinion... take it for what it is worth...

respectfully submitted
K.A.G-B.  

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had >10 therapists before.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by KerriAnnWalker 2015-12-05 01:36:53
i cant get into my other account to delete this.. but this was a response to a post that was deleted...

Psychologists Nearby

Lisa Michelle Griffiths, PSYD
Psychologist
2620 S. Parker Rd., Suite 272
Aurora, CO 80014
Dr. Caryn Goldberg, PHD
Psychologist—Clinical
9980 Park Meadows Dr, 107
Lone Tree, CO 80124
Jennifer Garfein, PSYD
Psychologist—Clinical
11059 E Bethany Dr, Suite 200
Aurora, CO 80014
Dr. Abbie D Miller, PSYD
Psychologist
10350 E Dakota Ave, Suite B
Denver, CO 80247
Dr. Jane Cleveland, PSYD
Psychologist—Clinical
6021 S Syracuse Way, Suite 201
Englewood, CO 80111
Dr. Stephen F. Drozda, PHD
Psychologist—Clinical
9980 Park Meadows Dr, Suite 106
Lone Tree, CO 80124
Dr. David Warren Zierk, PSYD
Psychologist—Clinical
7120 E Orchard Rd, Suite 450
Englewood, CO 80111

View All