Dr. Paige Victoria Sloane, Review

Dr. Paige Victoria Sloane, Review

Average rating based on 23 reviews
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Tools for a Loving Family & a Peaceful Life
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Sirenadelcabo, May. 25, 2018

We were so blessed to find Dr. Sloane. Her responsiveness and location were what drew us to her. Our son was struggling emotionally and having behavioral issues at home and school. We were desperate for some help and had never gone through therapy before. Dr. Sloane was so caring towards our whole family and her office is so inviting and comfortable. She made such a connection with our son and became a partner to him to navigate through his feelings and come up with strategies to manage his behavior. He loves her and so bummed when Dr. Sloane felt that he didn’t need any more sessions, he asked if he could still see her even if things we better at home and school. We are so thankful for the sessions we had with Dr. Sloane. It ended up being therapeutic for our whole family!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Ms
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by MVin, Apr. 16, 2018

Paige is amazing. She is patient, friendly and has just such a great presence. She is truly caring and is excellent in picking up subtle nuances and really providing great tools to help deal with day-to-day challenges. Her office space is also very inviting and positive.  I would highly recommend her to potential clients.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mrs. CANDICE
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Candi, Dec. 05, 2016

Dr. Paige is an amazing therapist.   We initially went to see her for my 11 year old daughter who was having severe anxiety.  She was able to quickly identify the source of the anxiety and give my daughter some coping skills.  Dr. PAIGE was also able to identify issues with family dynamics and gave me and my husband some tips on how to talk and iteract as a family.
She is a brilliant and very intuitive therapist.   In addition, she is extremely caring to her patients.  She took a call from my husband one week night when my daughter was having a crisis and talked to her to calm her down.  I highly recommend her services.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Living my dream
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Yogamama1959, May. 10, 2016

In January of 2015, I received a phone call that no parent ever wants...my 22 year old son crying in desparation from such intense panic and anxiety attacks his only moments of release were suicidal  thoughts that had invaded his mind. He asked me to buy a one way ticket from Iowa to San Diego and I arrived two days later. I had no idea the severity of the situation until my son asked me to make him tea and lay next to him in bed to somehow alleviate his deep pain.

I had encouraged him to go to an urgent care clinic where he received medication to take the edge off the panic attacks. That next morning I saw the list of referrals this clinic suggested and instinctively called the number of Dr. Paige Sloane. My first indication of her specialness was when she answered the phone and proceeded to ask me direct questions and agreed to meet with my son immediately. For the first time I had a sense of hope.

We both attended several sessions with Paige and the intense work began which continues to this day. My stoic son, so versed in being the caretaker slowly realized his anxiety and depression were his new "best friends", alerting him he needed help. Paige also invited me along this difficult journey of learning how my own pain from past experiences were so vivid, that my son had absorbed this need to protect me which continued to extend into other intimate relationships.

Along with sessions with Paige, a psychiatrist she recommended and worked closely with, a therapy dog and his initiation to yoga , he made it through the this time and I went back home a month later.

My son was doing better but I was not. I realized how much I needed to leave my suffocating life of being the constant caretaker of my mother and extended family and San Diego looked like my ticket to freedom. I proceeded to make plans for my big move, which so shook up my mother and family that I gave in to what was my homeostasis, of being the hero of the family, and decided to stay put. This led to a complete mental and physical breakdown, and if it were not for my sister seeking answers I would not be alive today. I finally accepted I was an anorexic and my years of an eating disorder nearly killed me. I entered a partial day treatment eating disorder clinic and ten challenging weeks later had restored 25 ponds and continue with therapy to maintain this.

I had been in touch with Paige off and on this next year but my son stopped going to her. He once again called me in April with those horrific but familiar anxiety and depressive patterns and I once again bought a one way ticket. But this time my own mental and physical health was stabilized which enabled me to engage in several sessions with Paige both individually and with my son. We finally began to see the unhealthy dynamic between us and with baby steps are learning how to use assertive feeling statements and truly listen to one another. Before I left, I expressed my desire to move to San Diego which my son was opposed to, and instead of resisting he turned in trust to Paige and simply asked,"how do we move forward."

And so the journey continues. I have for the first time in my 56 years of life, made a decision for me...not to run from pain but to listen to a deep calling to heal in my new beloved home of San Diego, knowing Paige will be with me to guide me and my son in our new relationship.

Without Paige, my son and perhaps myself would not be only alive today, but especially for me, having the courage and faith to finally live my dream.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Saved my life
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by nbsaved05, Feb. 27, 2015

When I was referred to Dr. Sloane, I was dying inside after enduring my son recovering from a life threatening TBI and it causing me to suffer from some sort of PTSD from being in the ICU so long and getting that initial call in the night. I had never been in therapy before let alone EMDR. I was super skeptical. But I saw Paige and instantly understood that she was put in front of me to be my guide back to recover the most normal life I could for myself -- which is far from normal as I also have an autistic teenager. Paige leaned in with empathy and tough love, too. She rattled my cage where I'd kept everything inside locked up tight. No matter what your trauma or stress, I have no doubt at all that Dr. Paige Sloane can help you -- and save you. Don't hesitate. Get on her calendar as soon as you can because she is the best and why suffer another second when she can help you.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

So glad to have myself back
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Buffet, Feb. 25, 2015

After caring for my Mom for several years, I discovered that I didn't know how to be anything but a caretaker. I mean...caretaking everyone. I couldn't find my way back to the outgoing happy person that I had been. My friend told me about Paige, and I actually made an appointment due to her glowing recommendation. Through Paige's eye opening tools and wisdom, I discovered that I had been stuffing my feelings for a long time. I am now able to see the happy self I was, and how to get it back. I am reconnecting with friends and having a lot of fun. I hope if anyone has doubts about getting help when you are not sure why you aren't happy, I say call Paige.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Life-changing experience
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by TN72, May. 10, 2014

It is so hard to see your child struggle and not know how to help him, but even harder to acknowledge that the reason for the struggle is you.  We initially came to Dr. Sloane for help with our six year old son who was having difficulty  adjusting both emotionally and academically to first grade. Being in major denial of what was actually going on in our home, we attributed his problems of defiance, angry outbursts, severe sibling jealousy, low self-esteem, and difficulty with reading and writing to some kind of behavioral disorder.  After two sessions with Dr Sloane, it was obvious that his difficulties were a result of our dysfunctional marriage, parenting, and household. He was merely modeling the behavior he had learned from his parents.

I am eternally grateful to Dr. Sloane for bringing us out of the dark place we were in as both a couple and a family.  She helped us to address the serious communication issues that we as a couple were having. I was very unhappy in our marriage and feeling ignored and misunderstood by my husband.  My anger towards him was constantly spilling out onto my three children thus creating a very negative environment for everyone.  After two months of seeing Paige, we learned how to effectively communicate our needs and feelings which in turn brought love back into our marriage. Once we, as a couple, were feeling that love again we were able to transform our negative and disorderly household into a positive one with limits and consequences. We still struggle at times but, as Mother's day approaches, I can honestly say, that this is my first of seven years as a mom that I am excited to celebrate this incredibly important role.
 
As the school year comes to an end, my son's teacher can't believe the incredible amount of progress he has made since September. After the first quarter he was severely below grade level in both reading and writing and did not want to go to school. It was at this time that Dr. Sloane took time out of her busy schedule to email and speak to his teacher in order come up with a plan to help him succeed in school. During his sessions she was able to see that he had very poor self-esteem and excessive shyness and therefore, was not getting the help he needed from his teacher. Within a week of Dr. Sloane's phone conversation with the teacher, he started showing significant improvement emotionally, academically and socially.

I cannot recommend Dr. Sloane highly enough!! Seeing her has completely changed both my life and the life of my family. I am so grateful that we somehow chose her from the long list of therapists! Her sincere compassion, for both her role as a therapist and for her patients, definitely radiates outward making it obvious that she was put here on this earth to do this job.  She is both firm and blunt in getting her patients to confront their problematic behavior but at the same time provides them with the empathetic support that is needed to change it. Dr. Sloane truly has a great gift within her and I feel incredibly blessed to have been able to experience it!  

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent Psychologist, Wholeheartedly Recommended
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by vwsd, Sep. 06, 2013

Dr. Paige Sloane is an excellent psychologist and a wonderful person. I started seeing her when I was at a really low point in my life, and I was looking for someone who could help me figure out how to reexamine and change my thinking and behavior. I have been seeing Dr. Paige for 2 years. She has been the perfect doctor to guide and help me through this challenging and sometimes difficult process. She is extremely insightful, intelligent, intuitive and empathetic. She also challenges me to look at my thoughts and behaviors from another perspective, and challenges the narrative that I had developed about why life and relationships were difficult for me. Dr. Paige is very well educated and attends an impressive number of professional training courses and seminars from which she brings back and incorporates innovative techniques and therapies such as EMDR, tapping, and relaxation techniques. These techniques have been of real benefit to me in coping with strong memories and feelings. She also has work experience in many different settings and fields of mental health, including addiction and working with children who are coping with having a parent who has cancer. She's not just a "talk therapist;" she provides important feedback and recommendations. I really can't recommend Dr. Paige highly enough. I don't think I would have made anywhere near as much progress in how I feel and my coping skills without her. Just as an example of how much I value my time with Dr. Paige, I drive to La Jolla from downtown and adjust my work schedule to get to my appointments. It's more than worth it to me.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Life can be tough!
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by TruDat, Dec. 01, 2012

Life can be tough.  If you need a nonjudgmental perspective and want some sensible insight and caring guidance, Dr. Sloane can probably help.  I have had an opportunity to work with Dr. Sloane in both 1:1 and with family situations and am impressed with how, based on the individual’s age/circumstance/gender/history, she connects with people where they are at in the moment and finds the most effective path to meaningful communication.  Her thoughtful and pragmatic style coupled with her compassionate and direct manner allow her patients to feel understood and empowered.   Dr. Sloane is a gifted clinician and definitely one of the good ones!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Top Notch Doc
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Fluffy, Sep. 11, 2012

Just been for our 2nd visit as a family - we are really impressed and very grateful for the help we are receiving.  Very insightful and clearly experienced.  I've been to different therapists in the past, Dr Pennell-Sloane is truly very good.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Irreplaceable
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by ordzu, Sep. 06, 2011

Dr. Sloane has enriched my life in ways that few people can. Working with her has only changed my life for the better and I struggle to put into words the appreciation I feel for the work that we have done together.

Dr. Sloane is willing to be very creative when trying to find ways or tools to help her patients. She has extensive knowledge of appropriate literature and tools to help a person understand their particular situation and problems. She is able to communicate concepts in a warm and easily understandable manner. She is willing to think outside the box and it never seems that she is just following protocol. She is extremely engaged, engaging and 100% focused on the person in front of her. Very little, if anything, sneaks past her and she is not afraid to communicate frankly with her patients. At the same time she is much warmer and attentive than one could ever expect from a therapist. She clearly loves her job and is willing to work very hard for the success of her patients.

She has had a profound impact in my life and I am not sure I could've achieved what I did with anyone else. It is certainly possible that we connected  but I know of other patients (friends I have referred) that feel the same way about her.

I would've not been able to open up and be as honest had I not had complete trust in Dr. Sloane. She is very patient and willing to work at the pace her patient dictates. I appreciate that she sets goals and includes the patient in the treatment progress. She does expect her patients to come to her with the intention of working on their problems and working together to solve them.

I have experienced Dr. Sloane in different settings as I have also come to her for marriage counseling as well as family counseling, though the majority of my sessions were individual. She seems to have an ability to make the biggest skeptic feel at ease in her presence. She is incredibly welcoming and always prepared. It is immediately evident that she is very experienced yet it comes across in a very jovial but still professional manner.

My husband and I only needed 4 sessions to completely change around our way of communicating with each other. The tools she teaches might be well known but her way of implementing them is so much more effective than reading them in a book or going to a workshop. It seems she custom-tailors to each individual patient to help them understand and succeed with their application.

The sessions Dr. Sloane has had with my biological family have had such a profound impact on the way we communicate with each other. Being a member of a family with each member taking on a different role  and having a particular function it can be difficult to see anything but one own's perspective. Dr. Sloane found a way to make us all see each other's perspective without it resulting in any hostility or misunderstanding. We are closer than ever before and know that without Dr. Sloane's help this would have been nearly impossible. She was very effective in figuring out what we needed as a family and found ways to reach everyone as individuals as well as the family as a whole.

The gratitude I feel for Dr. Sloane cannot be fully expressed in a review but in my attempt to summarize my experience with her I hope to encourage future patients to pick up the phone and seek her services. I am convinced you won't regret it.



* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Fantastic, great with kids and adults
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by kcoly, Aug. 09, 2011

Paige is fantastic.  Tough when she needs to be but kind and caring.  My kids love her and my son doesn't like to talk to anyone.  She has helped all of us work through the death of our husband/father.  Other theraptist I have seen haven't given me any tools to work with.  Paige has a lot of suggestions and tools for us to use.  I resisted to driving to her office initially but she is completely worthwhile.  I won't bother looking anywhere else and recommend her highly.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Dr. Paige Sloane
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by coloradogirl, Aug. 03, 2011

I have been seeing Dr. Paige Sloane for a number of years now.  She has helped me immensely let go of the past, embrace forgiveness, and to resurrect my marriage of 30 years.

She uses innovative techniques to help me keep calm and keep an open mind when it comes to my husband and people in  my life. Dr. Sloane has taught me to use energy work and positive thinking journals (where I replace hot, negative thoughts with more rational, positive thoughts). She also helps me role play to practice talking about feelings and emotions in my communication with people.

She is incredibly positive and uplifting and has taught me how to me a better partner for my husband.  

I no longer dwell on the negative in life.  My husband seems a changed man now that i am more positive with him and have stopped the nagging and living in the past with all kinds of regrets.  

We are now empty nesters and have so much fun together.  My husband has evolved into the kind of husband I have needed all these years.  

Her office has a calming feel about it.  She has lovely seaside paitings in her office and her couch is a soothing yellow.  I look forward to my visits with her.  

Since I am doing so much better I now see her about every 3 or 4 weeks.  Maintaining some kind of contact with her helps to keep me bouyant and sailing along in a positive, happy manner.  

Once in a while when i do falter she helps to pick me back up again and to get back on track.  I highly recommend Dr. Paige Sloane.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Enthusiastic, Sincere and
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by drdrdr, Aug. 01, 2011

I am been seeing Dr Sloan for a while regarding family therapy with my teenager kids and my partner. She is very insightful, energetic, enthusiastic, sincere and available. I would recommend her to you. She is good with female adolescence. She is very open in her approach and also knowledgeable. She has overall approach, let you think about issues, informs you and points out the sources, does practice sessions and has great sense of humor.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

tremendously insightful, energetic and caring
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by amve, Aug. 01, 2011

I've seen Dr. Sloane in both one-on-one counseling and joint counseling with my partner. She has been incredibly helpful in helping us understand why we miscommunicate, and most importantly, what we are trying to express. She is incredibly insightful and has helped me many times acknowledge, understand and communicate feelings that I had no idea were present. She is absolutely committed to empowering her patients.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Look No Further!!!
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Jaheads21, Aug. 01, 2011

 My two children and I began seeing Dr. Sloane about two years ago. I was going through a difficult divorce and wanted to find someone that would be of help to my kids through that difficult time in our lives. My girls were completely at ease with Dr. Sloane from our first visit. She helped them in more ways than I ever imagined. I have some experience with therapists and was extremely pleased with Dr. Sloane's approach and style. The girls and I have grown immensely and would not be the same with out Dr. Sloane's guidance, patience and even love in our lives! She has a way about her that makes you feel completely accepted, faults and all. She can be firm when need be, but always kind and compassionate. She is also very knowledgeable, and her experience shows. I have often recommended her to family and friends and I tell them how I genuinely feel, it has been a privilege to get to know Dr. Sloane as our therapist!!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

A Life Saver!!!
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by lajollan, Jul. 31, 2011

I have been seeing Dr. Sloan for 2+ years now and I can honestly say she has changed my life and helped me through an extremely tough divorce. I have also brought my daughter to see and work with her on several occasions and she loves meeting with Dr. Sloan and found it very easy to open up to her. She has always been extremely flexible and accommodating to fit my schedule and has even called to talk with me on her vacation (unheard of)! She is a very genuine and caring person to her clients and always has great insights on my issues and concerns.  I am so grateful to have found her she is the best there is!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Paige is the BEST!
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by mcarpadakis, Jul. 31, 2011

I originally came to Paige because I was depressed over a break up with my first long time boyfriend. With in the first session I found out that there was much more to my depression than I even realized. I have issues with my mother, and a constant struggle with my dad. I see her once a week on Thursdays and honestly I can't wait to go talk to her. She listens and understands what I am going threw. She is fair and to the point. She truly has become a close friend of mine and I am not sure where I would be with out her in my life.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Dr. Paige Sloane
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by SDgal, Jul. 30, 2011

I Love Paige!!!!  She is fabulous!  I have been seeing her for almost three years and she has helped me through the toughest time in my life.  She truly listens and connects with me and my situation.  She is always encouraging and helps me look at things from a new perspective.  She actively seeks ways to help me cope with my situation and is always suggesting ways for me grow personally.  I feel that she really cares about me and finds time to see me at a last minutes notice, even with my odd schedule.  I wish I could put her in my pocket and take her with me everywhere!!!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Wonderful Psychologist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by behappy, Jul. 30, 2011

My children have been seeing Dr. Sloane for issues related to my divorce.  She has been able to connect and build rapport with my children and they (especially my teenager) have made great progress under her guidance.  She is very professional and real - she listens but also tells it like it is and helps you come to your own answers by being open, honest, and caring.  She asks questions that help you draw your own conclusions so that the answers are meaningful and true.  

She was very flexible in finding an appointment time that worked for mine and my children's busy schedules.  

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend her to my friends, co-workers, and family if they were in need of a great family therapist.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Marriage & Family Therapists Nearby

Dr. Mark Allen Kaupp, PSYD
Marriage & Family Therapist—Emotionally Focused Couple Therapy
2835 Camino Del Rio S, Suite 120-c
San Diego, CA 92108
Laara Israhel, MED
Marriage & Family Therapist
12835 Pointe Del Mar Way, Suite 1
Del Mar, CA 92014
Lilach Harris, MFT
Marriage & Family Therapist
Counselor

1330 Orange Ave, #311
Coronado, CA 92118
Angela K Warneke, LMFT
Marriage & Family Therapist
PO Box 153824
San Diego, CA 92195
Walter Martin, LMFT
Marriage & Family Therapist—Children, Teens, Couples
10650 Scripps Ranch Blvd STE 200
San Diego, CA 92131

View All