Peregrine M. Kavros, Review

Peregrine M. Kavros, Review

Average rating based on 9 reviews
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Highly recommend
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by cwp82, Feb. 08, 2013

Dr. Kavros is a wonderful psychotherapist.  She's excellent at cognitive behavior therapy, which has helped me immensely in various aspects of my life.  I started seeing her with a particular goal in mind and she helped me realize it, working step-by-step, in a constructive manner towards my goal.  After that, she gave me different techniques to improve other parts of my life, which I'm still trying to apply.  She's very responsive to the patient's needs and is very supportive.  I'd highly recommend her to anyone looking for a good therapist.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

New Me
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by cubsfan7, Feb. 04, 2013

I've been a patient of Dr. Kavros for over two years. Dr Peregrine Kavros is a wonderful asset to my life. I believe that she gives me the full therapy and treatment that is necessary to heal my deep seeded issues. Dr. Kavros is sensitive and understanding and also is encouraging.  I didn't know what to expect going to a therapist... maybe criticism, a wake-up call, who knows... but I actually felt like she is 100% vested interest in my well being and was cheering me on with my successes and challenges.  She praises me on how hard I was working to get resolutions and confront fears and situations that were very difficult for me.  But she only gave praise when it was due - which makes it feel more genuine.
I'm not completely done with my treatment, but I know that with Dr. Kavros as my Doctor, I'll be fine.  In our time together, she's helped me tremendously and overall seems like such a genuine person.  The doctor/patient relationship quickly feels as comfortable.  She remembers all of my family/friends' names that I mention during treatment and uses them herself, which makes it feel so much more personal.
I definitely recommend Dr. Kavros.  You can't go wrong with her and if you're looking for someone who cares and someone you can really open up to and share everything with, she's the doctor for you.



* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

A New Way of Thinking...
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by House, Jan. 23, 2013

Dr. Kavros was my Therapist for a little over two years. While researching Therapist in my area, I decided to call two numbers. The first Therapist I called was rude and quick to get me off the phone. Her response was "I’ll call you back" and to my surprise. She never did.

When I called Dr.Kavros, I knew she was the Therapist for me. She was warm and professional and not at all judgmental.

Dr.Kavros changed my way of thinking and assisted me in so many ways; College, Career goals, Family, Relationships and Self.  At times, she believed in me more than I believed in myself and took the work that we did together very seriously.

I began to view the world a different away and after 3 yrs of not being in Therapy, I still apply what she taught me to my everyday life.

I recommend Dr.Kavros to anyone who is looking for a Therapist who is professional, goal orientated, warm and trustworthy.


* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Wants the best for her patients
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Seeker, Jan. 19, 2013

Dr. Kavros is the third therapist I’ve worked with and by far has been the most helpful.  She’s made me work hard, but she works hard too.  She prepares before I come and follows up on discussions from the previous session.  I know she is listening and considering me as an individual.

In wanting to do the best for her patients,  Dr. Kavros attends many conferences and reads constantly so she is always aware of the latest findings in the field of psychology.

She has helped me see the areas in my life where I need to change and she has guided me through making the changes.  When I am facing a challenging situation now I often ask myself, “How would Dr. Kavros handle this?”  She is an inspiration.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Change can happen
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by spbr, Aug. 27, 2012

Dr. Kavros is a wonderful and brilliant therapist with a unique ability to be compassionate and straightforward at the same time.  She has helped me see old patterns of thinking and behavior that were holding me back (at work and in life) and encouraged and guided me to build new (better) habits/ ways of thinking so that I finally feel true change happening - which is exciting :)  I can say her method has been working for me like no other therapist I’ve been to.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Performance over substance
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by columbuscircle22, Aug. 01, 2012

I went to Dr. Kavros for the treatment of anxiety and attention difficulties and was her patient for nearly a year. From the beginning I felt like I was on an emotional rollercoaster, which, at the time, I thought was part of the process. Until you see where the chips have fallen, it's hard to tell how much of the turbulence of therapy is coming from the content of therapy and how much is a result of the quality of treatment. The chips having fallen where they did, I would say now that it was probably a result of treatment that was inconsistent in its application and direction. At best, Dr. Kavros was good at getting me interested in changing my life; she was good at exploiting strategies that worked, at least on the surface, which made me more invested in the therapy and made the therapy progress at a faster rate. At worst, her treatment was superficial and failed to address and treat the core issues. She kept me busy reading different books and workbooks and doing their exercises, with little continuity from week to week. At times, it seemed like she was more concerned with collecting evidence for a study she was conducting and that her research was dictating the direction of my treatment.

It is telling that, when I attempted to work through what I perceived as a significant mistake, one which resulted in weeks of suffering, she was defensive and actually tried to convince me that I did not know what I had experienced and had not, in fact, experienced anything. A truly 'compassionate' therapist would put the patient first and validate the patient's experience, even if he/she disagreed.

While Dr. Kavros may be more effective in other cases, I want to point out the negative sides of my experience as a word of caution for those who might be making similar observations (fyi: here are some things to watch out for: http://cbtish.wordpress.com/2009/05/05/risks/)
If you are looking for CBT exercises to change your habits and the motivation to get started, then this could be the therapist for you. If you are looking for therapy to resolve deeper performance and attachment-related issues that require a therapist with seasoned judgment and emotional reliability, then I would encourage you to look elsewhere.


* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

A life changer!
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by uwser76, May. 02, 2012

Dr Kavros is kind, compassionate and extremely knowledgeable.
With guidance and a direct, head-on approach, she helped me work through an extremely difficult period of my life.
Dr. Kavros has also taught me life-long coping skills such as learning to modify negative behavior or distorted thinking, and to think of "reframing" the way I may perceive unpleasant situations.
I'm very grateful I found her, I recommend her highly!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Changed my life
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by davidnyc, Apr. 17, 2012

Compassion and incredible knowledge. Dr. Kavros is one of the best. she's worked with me through some of the toughest challenges in my life and helped me to address the obstacles in a healthy way that in the end helped me become a healthier and more grounded man.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent Psychologist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by nuharlem, Apr. 25, 2010

I have been seeing Dr. Kavros for a little over a year now. I went in extremely depressed and with anxiety, and honestly felt at the end of my wits. She has provided both compassion and understanding, but unlike other psychologists I've seen briefly in the past, she also offers an incredible amount of knowledge, clinical experience and guidance. She has provided me with invaluable tools that have made great difference in my mood, outlook and life. No one has framed the issues I'm dealing with in the ways she has. I highly recommend Dr. Kavros to everyone.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Psychologists Nearby

Dr. Colleen Paige Trimble, PSYD
Psychologist—Clinical
100 Westgreen Dr, Suite 205
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Dr. Elif Erim Merkler, PHD
Psychologist—Clinical
205 W Main St, Suite 216
Carrboro, NC 27510
Dr. Joanna Sattin McConnell, PHD
Psychologist
3713 University Dr, Suite A
Durham, NC 27707
Dr. Rachel Anne Bowman, PHD
Psychologist—Clinical Child & Adolescent
960 Corporate Dr. Ste 111, Dogwood Psychology Center For Children & Families, Pllc
Hillsborough, NC 27278
Clive Robins, PHD
Psychologist—Clinical
2213 Elba St
Durham, NC 27705
Eric Wade Gabriel, MA
Psychologist—Clinical
3911 Shoccoree Dr
Durham, NC 27705
Myer Myer II, LPA
Psychologist—School
1501 Altman Rd
Hillsborough, NC 27278

View All