Dr. Roger Paul Hatcher, Review

Dr. Roger Paul Hatcher, Review

Average rating based on 14 reviews
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Concern for My Children Came First
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by MomOfTwo, Feb. 17, 2015

Dr. Hatcher served as one of two custody evaluators involved in my very long divorce process. He was brought in under less than ideal conditions, but handled the situation thoroughly and professionally, even going out of his way to schedule appointments over weekends and in the evening to ensure sufficient time to complete his work.
The divorce process takes a lot out of a person. It is especially stressful to go into a custody evaluation because the outcome is so critical to the future of the children. I entered Dr. Hatcher's office for my initial visit with much trepidation, but was put at ease during that first meeting by his demeanor and the nature of the questions. It was clear that his only goal was to determine what would be best for my children. He was straight forward, knowledgeable and thorough. When questions arose about scenarios that had been described very differently by my husband and me, Dr. Hatcher investigated further, instead of taking an easier path.  He sought the truth and reported the same.
I appreciated Dr. Hatcher's concern for my children and the care he took throughout the process. I never felt that there was any bias in either direction. He simply wanted to do the best job possible to assess a difficult situation and come to conclusions that were accurate and would benefit the children. The experience was exactly what one would hope for after dealing with so many months of a seemingly cold, uncaring court system.
I truly believe that his input helped facilitate the final negotiations which kept us from having to go to trial.  I highly recommend him as a custody evaluator and think that he would also be an excellent therapist.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

True Professional
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Miller10, Dec. 09, 2014

I am nothing short of shocked after reading the negative reviews about this brilliant psychiatrist.  I can only imagine these individuals were unhappy with Dr. Hatcher’s professional opinion, and likely his recommendation to the Court.  Obviously, retaliation is very sad, but probably the motivating factor for these reviews.  Never does one single professional opinion ever cause a judge to rule against one party, especially in a child custody case, contrary to what most of these negative reviews try to convince you of.  Believe me, I’ve been there.  It takes not only expert professional opinions, but other testimony and a pattern of mental or physical abuse, for a judge to transfer custody from one parent to the other.  Judges don’t become judges by blindly following reports written by others…  Their job is to get to the truth, and read/see-through people who are constantly lying and pretending to be someone they are not.

Perhaps these negative reviewers’ disparaging comments should really be placed on the attorney they hired to represent them or most likely themselves?  

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Positive Experience
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by MJ627, Nov. 01, 2014

Dr. Hatcher served as the court appointed psychologist for my child custody case.  I found him to be a true professional who cares exclusively for the children’s best interest.

It is so easy for an unfit parent, male or female, who lost custody to condemn a professional’s opinion and attempt to tarnish their reputation in an online review, rather than to admit their own faults and failures which caused the judge to rule against them in the first place.  Moreover, the judge makes his/her decision after considering all the reports, evidence, and testimonies.  No one single expert’s report seals the fate of any person in court.  The expert does not decide the case, the judge does.

These negative reviewers probably have a long standing pattern in their lives of blaming other people for their own failures.  Too bad the doctors and judges in return can’t write reviews about the people they are forced to take a professional stance against in order to protect the wellbeing of the children involved.  If you ask me, going online and using an anonymous review website to wage a slander-campaign and taking sucker-punches at a highly respected doctor such as Dr. Hatcher, further illustrates that person’s mental and emotional instability, and only helps to confirm how unfit they probably were to raise a child.

P.S.  You aren’t fooling anyone by the way.  It’s obvious many of these negative reviews are being written by the same people.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Needs therapy himself
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by GoodMom2, May. 20, 2014

Deceptive/liar: Used another counselors office for interview with my child and put himself underneath/below hand-drawn children's pictures to deceive my child into thinking "you are nice" . . . .   Ruthless, pathetic, control freak and bully.


* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Different experience
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Familyof6, Feb. 10, 2014

Dr. Roger Hatcher has been an excellent advisor and consultant to our family for over 20 years.  We have faced complex issues with two of our children who had medical and psychological challenges.  Consistently for 20 years we have looked to Dr Hatcher for guidance, advice, wisdom and direction for us as parents, as well as teachers, extended family, school support personnel, and life coaches.  His insight and knowledge of the delicate psyche of young children, his practical advice for short and long term decisions, understanding, and excellent listening skills have coached us and helped map our actions.  With his help we have enabled all our children to develop to their fullest potential, and we would most highly recommend his services.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Once a hatcher victim but fought back and won!!
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Givingback888, May. 17, 2013

This little man, literally and figuratively, can be beaten!!! If you get a negative custody evaluation from him, and odds are you will if you are a decent normal mother who loves her children, you must have your attorney do a deposition of him. Then you must hire a forensic psychologist!!! they can tear apart his cookie cutter mom-hating report!!! Put him on the stand and let your attorney tear into him!!! you will get joint. But go into debt if you have to - quit work!! Dont' give up. It's what I did!!!!! And I have joint custody - thank God!!!!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
4 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by GoodMom2 2014-05-20 13:31:22
He truly is a little, little "man"
hates women
misogynistic and narcissistic
Monster
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Nema, Aug. 14, 2012

The worst! He is a dads actovist! Reunied my grand daughters life and our whole family! He made a BIG mistake. Any help out there. Need a child phyciotrist.He was the custodial evaluator.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
4 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by Justamom 2013-04-10 17:05:43
He ruined my children's and my life as well. He's a woman hater. There are articles about him being a woman hater. My children were given to their father and he was never the primary caretaker.  As my kids get older they coming back to me one at a time because they know who really loves them and took care of them. Believe me, I would love to have this man removed from making ANY decisions for children!!! I'm so sorry for your grand kids.
SOLD - to the highest bidder
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by seenitall, Jun. 07, 2012

This man does not help.  I am aware of an extremely intelligent little girl that told him "My mother is not the cause of my problems, I have not seen her in over a year!"  this after he was trying to tell a young patient that her mother was the reason she did not like her father or stepmother.  The "therapist" in him was trying to say after no contact and her father and stepmother's verbal abuse... that it was definately the biological mother's fault after he made sure the woman had no contact citing PAS a junk scientific theory. The child was extremely adament that this was not the case. You could have solid data evidence that is irrefutable but if he has been bought and paid for believe me he does not care. This type of person should not be allowed to practice.  Doctor heal thyself....

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

3 comments. Add a comment

by Nema 2012-08-14 17:38:16
He took my grand daughter away from her mom,sisters and step dad brcause he said fer dad would be a better communicator between my daughter and her X. Left good home, family,school,friends to live with him,his girlfriend and her daughter in their home. My grand daughter is a mess. all she wants is her mommy! she carries around my daughters shirt with her perfume on it and also sleeps with.He only lets her call when he is there and is almost never willing to change the schedual. I can go on forever, Dr.Hatcher did this!!Need a good child psyciatrist
by Nema 2012-08-15 15:22:21
He is by far the worst!! My daughter had him twice. Lots of people against him. Not allowed in DuPage.Lost my grand daughter to the x because he would be a better communicator. My daughter and grahd daughter had a happy life,sisters,school,friends,step dad, healthy. NOW she had to move , change schools live with his girlfriend and her add daughter with lots of problems. my grand daughter is in a bad way.She carries her moms shirt with her perfume on it all of the time and to bed! How awful is that!  Somehow we all need to get together and picket his office and get the newspaper there.How do we do this? i am not computer savy.There are alot of MOMS out there that have lost custody because he is a fathers right activist.
by Justamom 2013-04-11 14:03:11
Hatcher needs to be stopped! I lost my kids 5 years ago because of him. Nema I am so sorry about what happened. If you would like, please contact me.
thestars
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by thestars, Mar. 08, 2012

Dr. Hatcher is bias toward fathers. He was used in my custody evaluation three years ago and recommended custody to my ex. His entire report was filled with lies (apparently information my ex made up). He never even questioned me about any of the information. My daughter is now living with her father. She is abused, neglected, and cries each and every time she has to return to her fathers house. It is a sad situation Dr. Hatcher (and the court) has put my daughter in. From research I've done on Dr. Hatcher, five out of the six cases I looked into, the mother had a child from a previous relationship (or marriage). Perhaps he has something against "half-siblings", maybe it isn't just women. Do not trust Hatcher.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Dr. Hatcher violated the Ethics of his Profession
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by TMazz, Feb. 29, 2012

My ex is the one that demanded we see Dr. Hatcher, and offered to pay for it, which of course means he controlled the outcome. He brought all his court petitions that accused me of so much wrong doing, and used that as his proof of me being unfit. Of course Dr. Hatcher only interrogated me about those accusations, and having the largest custody file in Cook County, I have been baggered over & over without a Lawyer , and was at a breaking point & burst out in tears. The Dr. refused to interview my 2 grown sons, yet interviewed my ex's girlfriend & 2 other people on his behalf. He said That Dad couldn't pass the evaluation testing, and said it was because I upset Dad so much. WHAT???? He also said that I passed the test because I lied on it. What???  He said I was a narciscist, yet the evaluation I had just last week said they do NOT see it. Hatcher got it all backwards, and took everything Dad said as proof. Well, I have not seen my daughter for 18 months because of his evaluation, and the letter Hatcher wrote to the Judge. I went back to Hatchers office after I had to pay $90.00 for my own file, and showed Hatcher proof of all the things Dad lied about. Everything Hatcher based his eval on. Dad claimed he graduated High School, served in Viet Nam, raised 4 kids, and was a loyal faithful husband for 30 years. I brought him Dad's records stating he was never in any Armed Forces, never Graduated High School because he got his girlfriend pregnant, and had 2 kids  during the same year, while he was supposed to be in Viet Nam. I also pointed out that He was supposed to have been divorced when I dated him, but 2 years into it, I found out he was still married. I brought a audio tape of Dad stating he gave my daughter $15.00 to buy a Homecoming ticket, yet he told Hatcher & the Judge I let my daughter go to Homecoming without his knowledge. Hatcher said he was too busy to look at my evidence, and said to me" OH WELL, IT's TOO LATE NOW". HOW is it too late to right a wrong you have done to a child and her Mother??? Hatcher should be in jail for destroying Families and giving kids to the highest bidder!!  He VIOLATED the CODE OF ETHICS!!!  This is not an angry Mother causing problems, this is a Mom who was stripped of her parental rights, and has been denied Justice from the very people that claim to be just!! I am fighting to get my daughter back, from a position of being severely depressed over having my family ripped apart by 2 men that like to play with lives & money!! Believe what you want, but I know what I know. I am filing a complaint with the Ethics Board & may even stand out front of Hatchers Office with Picket signs, not sure, but he will not destroy other childrens lives if I can help it.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by Nema 2012-08-14 21:37:14
When can we picket!
by Nema 2012-08-16 22:35:34
I have people who will be out there with you. PLEASE keep us posted or tell us all how to Help In The Best Intrest Of The Child. We are still fighting to get my grand daughter back from he bipolar narcisssttic father and his girl friend. Took her away from a hsappy family,sister,school,friends family and more. She hates it with him.
Happy Mother
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by happymother, Oct. 18, 2011

I do not understand all the negative reviews on here about Dr. Hatcher. The court appointed him for my child custody case several years ago and I thought he was very fair. I do not believe him to be a woman hater at all. I am a woman and he reccomended sole custody be given to me over my childs father and with good reason is all I will say. Since I am not in to bashing my ex in a public forum. I felt he listened to all my concerns and asked appropriate questions to assess my childs situation as well as good questions to assess me as a mother. I would reccomend Dr. Hatcher to anyone interested in what is best for their children. I believe he sees the truth in who is a maniputlater and who isn't.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by Nema 2012-08-16 22:39:58
You were one of the lucky ones. He has destroided TOO many families and childrens lives!!
by Justamom 2013-04-11 13:05:26
There are countless women who tell the same story about him. Out of all the sites where you can rate him your comment is the only one that says he's a good guy. You must be related to him or a friend and he has you lying on here for him like he lies to children! Dr Roger Hatcher should be called Dr Roger Snatcher because he snatches innocent children from their mothers and hands them to the fathers no matter what. He fills children's heads with nothing but lies. He tells them lies about why their mommy and daddy are getting divorced and always blames it on the mother. When you confront him about it, he says your child is lying!  He accuses women of cheating on their psychological exams and men that can't pass it get custody anyway! How can one cheat on a psychological test anyway!! ALL WOMEN BEWARE OF THIS MAN!!! RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN AND GET THE COURTS TO APPOINT SOMEONE ELSE!!
Professional Review
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Courtpro, Jun. 10, 2011

I am familiar with Dr. Hatcher through my work in the DuPage and Kane County court system. Dr. Hatcher instituted the protocols for custody evaluations in DuPage, and he is recognized by judges, attorneys, guardians ad litem, and other professionals as an excellent clinician and highly ethical evaluator. He is also, personally, a very good person, who has invested his professional life in the well being of children. There will always be litigants willing to defame a judge or evaluator when the litigant's case does not resolve the way that they wish. Often, people who write highly negative reviews are themselves just very negative, conflict oriented people. Please take the disparaging comments about Dr. Hatcher with a large grain of salt. Good and ethical judges, lawyers and clinicians all get criticized by people who wrongly  feel that they were "cheated" by the court system. Most often, these people need to look themselves in the mirror and ask why they did not get the "justice" they thought they deserved.  

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

3 comments. Add a comment

by verdad 2011-07-30 23:00:17
Who wrote this Dr Hatcher himself.....Dr Hatcher is NOT a truthful person and is his present position for the $$$$ !!! SOrry to say who ever wrote this review is WRONG !!!!!!!
by happymother 2011-10-18 12:46:19
I fully agree with this review.
by seenitall 2012-06-07 15:02:45
I do not agree with this and can tell you he does go with the highest bidder.  He is biased towards the law firm representing you if it means more business for him.  Dr. Hatcher agrees with Richard Gardner's views on PAS and pediphilia - He is indirectly responsible for the deaths of the Smith children of Grundy County - the man should not be allowed to continue performing evaluations when he determined the children were safe with a man who turned around and drowned them.  There are many other cases where children were placed with an unsafe parent that he has been involved with due to his biases.  Also, ladies if you are dark hair, dark eyes and exotic looking... beware of the questions he will ask you that are extremely inappropriate....I have seen over 50 of his reports, they are the same stuff although the findings are interesting depending on who is being represented and by whom.... Best thing that you can do is tell attorneys to stop using this man and quit paying for the cottage industry of court evaluators that he created.
Worse evaluator and a woman hater
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by fighting4justice, Jul. 01, 2010

I will have to agree with the woman who wrote before me. He actually accused me of cheating on my tests. How can someone cheat on a psychological test? Plus he did enter the room and tell me I was taking the test wrong. From the moment I first met with him, I was able to tell he didn't like me. Although I spent every waking moment with my children, he recommended custody go to my ex-husband, who had nothing to do with them. Now I am a victim of Parental Alienation Syndrom. Thank you very much Mr. Hatcher! I wouldn't even address you as a Dr.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
1 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

3 comments. Add a comment

by verdad 2011-07-30 23:04:24
"dirt bag" too nice a word for Dr Hatcher !!!!!!!!!
Sad sad, SAD person WHO needs MORe pyscological help the people he "counsels"...have you heard of "short man sydrome" AKA Hatcher
by Justamom 2013-04-11 13:14:39
I was accused of cheating as well. Hatcher aka Snatcher of children needs to be stopped!! My divorce was 5 years ago, but there isn't a day that goes by that I don't think of how that man ripped my kids out from under me and suggested they live with their father who did everything in his power to alienate them from me. My ex succeeded, but they are coming back to me one by one. They know who really loves them.... Their MOTHER!!! Now I am going to do everything in my power to see that this man loses his right to practice!
Terrible For Kids in a Custody Battle
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by ConcernedAboutKids, Apr. 26, 2010

In my honest opinion, this man needs to be put behind bars for his actions in the Kane County court system. He is almost always 100 percent in favor of taking custody from mothers and handing it over (WITHOUT checking into any information) to fathers. He hands these precious kids over to abusers! Why is he still allowed to practice? GET HIM OUT OF HERE! There are judges out there who use him to get their dirty work done. In my opinion, Patricia Piper Golden is just one of the dirty judges in Kane County who uses him. Watch out mom's if your judge suggests Roger Hatcher!!

PS If you have an evaluation with him make sure he does not ask you to stop at a certain point in the test. He does this so he can fill in your answers for you! UNBELIEVABLE SNAKE! It's time to unite against these type of ABUSIVE Therapists!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
4 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

3 comments. Add a comment

by MommyLove 2012-02-06 22:50:35
I need one of you to please contact me. I have a friend who needs info. Hatcher did her evaluation too. She is scared. Tried clicking on your site and they don't work.

Psychologists Nearby

Dr. Craig W Hjorth, PHD
Psychologist—Clinical
129 Fairfield Way Suite 303c
Bloomingdale, IL 60108
Dr. Keena Peek, PSYD
Psychologist—Clinical
100 W Roosevelt Rd, B5-203
Wheaton, IL 60187
Dr. Charlene M.T. Pierce, PSYD
Psychologist—Clinical
24402 W Lockport Rd, 2b
Plainfield, IL 60544
Dr. Gary Lee Coleman, PSY D
Psychologist—Clinical
2114 Deerpath Rd
Aurora, IL 60506
Dr. Stacey P Filerman, PHD
Psychologist—Clinical
1801 N Mill St, Suite C
Naperville, IL 60563
Dr. Diana L. Slaviero, PHD
Psychologist—Clinical
75 Executive Dr, Suite 429
Aurora, IL 60504
Dr. Ashley Paluska, PSYD
Psychologist—Clinical
1700 N Farnsworth Ave, Suite 12
Aurora, IL 60505
Dr. Laura Elizabeth Chesslo Langes, PSYD
Psychologist—Clinical Child & Adolescent
1900 Ogden Ave, Suite 106
Aurora, IL 60504
Dr. Maricela Escamilla Mallory, PSYD
Psychologist—Clinical
1700 N Farnsworth Ave, Suite 12
Aurora, IL 60505

View All