Julie Ann Skakoon, Review

Julie Ann Skakoon, Review

Average rating based on 10 reviews
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Daughter LOVES Miss Julie
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Kinley1007, Apr. 04, 2018

If you are ‘searching’ or have been ‘assigned’ or ‘googling’ who Julie Skakoon is as professional - cross this off this list and put your mind at ease.

True fact - I have never written a review in my life; yet, a majority of my decisions are impacted by reviews (i.e. friends experiences, word of mouth, who has the highest ratings, even on Amazon, Netflix..)

My opinions have always been verbal. When someone / something is impactful, important, significant, and something I am passionate about it - positive or negative - I want to share my experience.

Julie Skakoon, and her office, is amazing. It’s pretty amazing when your 6 year old (who has been seeing Julie since she was 4) daughter wants to FaceTime Miss Julie on a Monday morning before school, you KNOW this is the right person to be in your child’s life.

I didn’t “pick” Julie Skakoon, who we call Miss Julie. She was court-ordered. I didn’t get a say, to ask around, or a chance to ‘read reviews’, etc.
And, honestly, THANK GOD that I didn’t (it’s okay, I am really thanking God)

I’ll try to keep it short and sweet, but that’s hard for me to do when this individual has done some much for my daughter and also so much for me as a mother.

My daughter and I started going to Miss Julie’s in April of 2016, when she was 4 years old. We come from a split family and needed some extra resources, and a 3rd party selected her to provide her expertise to our family.

I won’t get into the specific reasons why have the privilege to have Julie in our lives (but will talk to people over PM if you have questions - just don’t want to divulge my life over the internet..)

BUT, I will tell you that she has been one of the BEST things for my daughter, for myself, and for the future of my daughter.

Having to ‘google’ providers, especially when it is has to deal with topics that are so hard to talk about, sucks. There is no other word for it.
DO NOT SECOND GUESS YOURSELF. Call her office. Meet with her. Have your child meet with her. You will thank me - because she will treat your child like her own. She will put your child first. She will guide your child. She will guide your. She will teach you the tools to do at home. She will help your family.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Julie Skakoon is biased and unprofessional
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Dent, Sep. 14, 2017

Julie Skakoon is biased and unprofessional.  She gets her facts mixed up in her documents submitted to the court.  She transposes and reverses mother/father information including names like children in her court submitted documents. Her prices were way exhorbitantly high with an inability to keep up with all email responses you send to her.

This parenting coordinator unethically submitted documents to the court that were full of missatatements and inacurracies along with other errors that most judges are not perceptive enough to catch.  
julie even found it acceptable to call a name to one of the 2 parents.

Julie's inability to accurrately report or manage mother/father occurances has tarnished her reputation and the profession in general.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Looking for others who have been victims of Skakoon
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by helpstopher, Jan. 03, 2016

Please email me at 225PaloVerde@gmail.com

If the woman is court appointed she know there is absolutely nothing you can do to her.  She over charges she lies to the courts everything I have read in these review is what I experienced with this women.

The behavior health board will not hold her accountable if she is appointed she knows it and uses it as a loop hole to get away with her unethical behavior run fast ask for someone else don't pick her

PLEASE EMAIL WE ARE LOOKING FOR OTHER VICTIMS OF HERS TO STOP HER 225PaloVerde@gmail.com

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

A menace to children a charleton parading as a helper of children
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Jessinahast, Feb. 01, 2015

All the other posts  are true based upon my experience. This woman is a charleton a wolf in sheeps clothing. What is most distressing is her utter incompetence which translates into harm to children! My child was harmed and is still recovering from the harm inflicted by his blatantly negligent and neglectful father. Julie is responsible because despite obvious evidence she sided with father. It took a real professional to see what was what (dr. Gaughan) and was able to turn the ship around. Thanks to Julie my child is still recovering. I would not trust my dog with this woman nevermindmy child. I can only pray that someone revokes her license. Oh the part about late (months) reports is also true which also included less than factual information being included. Not sure if she was lying or just forgot due to the passage of time and was too lazy to go back and review the facts. Steer clear of this menace for the sake of your children!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
6 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

FedUP
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by skakoonyourfired, Oct. 25, 2014

I am absolutely fed up with Julie Skakoon and her lack of professionalism.   

Everyone needs to know there is a company called az children that only take people with CPS cases they said reunification only takes 120 days.  Julie should not be taking 2yrs to complete reunification.  All she does is runs up fees.
**YOU NEED TO KNOW IF THIS WICKED WOMEN IS APPOINTED TO YOUR CASE THE ARIZONA BOARD OF EXAMINERS WILL NOT DO ANYTHING TO HER THEY EXPECT THE COURTS TO HANDLE IT!
SO PLEASE CONTACT ME AT SUEJULIESKAKOON@GMAIL IF WE ALL COME TO TOGETHER AND ALL TESTIFY AGAINST HER WE CAN SHUT HER DOWN!
Every single thing I have read I have had to endure some part of it with her.  She is a disgrace.  
It is true she will hold up your case for more payment
She will run up bills and can not explain how she did it.
She has no structure
She does not follow her own rules set
and please don't challenge her she will try to screw you over if she can.
I suggest you us another therapist at the same time if she is court appointed to you but make sure she has no idea.
Record every conversation with her or the staff.
She has been through several paralegals since we have been seeing her.
Request the your visits are video recorded
She does not report back to the courts accurate in her reports.
That little sweet fake personality is a lair be very careful who she speaks to over the phone in fact I suggest you only allow her to speak to people on your behave via email so that there is some documentation as to what she says.
She is not available so that your attorney can speak with her.  
She will only speak to one parent or email one parent and not speak to both at the same time or about the same thing rather it be via email or conference call.
She has sent my attorney emails without sending them to the other that's how I know she is doing the same to us.

It is my suggestion you run fast away from this woman!  She is due to renew her licence in 2015 you wont find any complaints against her right now because most of her clients are court appointed and the board wont touch her but I bet if we sue her for malpractice and we all go up against her it will shut her down!   
If there was any abuse in the relationship she has no knowledge of how to deal with it.     

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
6 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by Jessinahast 2015-02-01 01:31:31
All the other posts  are true based upon my experience. This woman is a charleton a wolf in sheeps clothing. What is most distressing is her utter incompetence which translates into harm to children! My child was harmed and is still recovering from the harm inflicted by his blatantly negligent and neglectful father. Julie is responsible because despite obvious evidence she sided with father. It took a real professional to see what was what (dr. Gaughan) and was able to turn the ship around. Thanks to Julie my child is still recovering. I would not trust my dog with this woman nevermindmy child. I can only pray that someone revokes her license. Oh the part about late (months) reports is also true which also included less than factual information being included. Not sure if she was lying or just forgot due to the passage of time and was too lazy to go back and review the facts. Steer clear of this menace for the sake of your children!
by dededede 2015-07-07 05:21:12
This is true. Now that we have recourse based upon the recent ruling from the superior court it is time to file your grievances with the psych board. It's been a long time coming but it went into effect 7/1/15
Its time Julie is forced from this profession
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by azcourtsarebroken, Sep. 16, 2013

All,

Its time that Julie is forced to be removed from this profession. I can not agree more to all the other reviews written here. Further internet searches failed for find a single positive review. I have questioned her directly on her professionalism, her ability to demonstrate an un-biased approach, and her ability to accurately document sessions and agreements. She is clearly in this job simply for the money as her focus has been to address the issue without addressing root cause.

All the comments which recommend staying away from Skakoon must be taken to heart.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
8 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

4 comments. Add a comment

by Sallywinters 2013-12-19 23:34:39
I can say that she was counterproductive to an already high conflict divorce wherein we made agreements in session and then father deliberately broke the agreeeements. I notified her and  she took months to write her report. Meanwhile my son sustained a skull fracture while in his fathers care, and father refused to take him for medical evaluation which lead to a cat scan and many questions about why father refused to take him for evuation. It was clear that she was over booked and by the time she got around to writing her reports she forgot half the things we agreed upon. Her reports were inaccurate and minimal. It was clear that she was behind. After father continued to violate the orders and she refused to document them we moved to a superior PC who actually did his job! Save your time, energy and money. PS she ran my credit card for monies owed by father after he refused to pay his half. Luckily after catching the error I was issued a refund after countless reminder calls.
by Sallywinters 2013-12-19 23:36:46
I can say that she was counterproductive to an already high conflict divorce wherein we made agreements in session and then father deliberately broke the agreeeements. I notified her Snd she took months to write her report. Meanwhile my son sustained a skull fracture while in his fathers care, and father refused to take him for medical evaluation which lead to a cat scan and many questions about why father refused to take him gor evuation. It was clear that she was over booked and by the time she got around to writing her reports she forgot half the things we agreed upon. Her reports were inaccurate and minimal. It was clear that she was behind. After father continued to violate the orders and she refused to document them we moved to a superior PC who actually did his job! Save your time, energy and money. PS she ran my credit card for monies owed by father after he refused to pay his half. Luckily after catching the error I was issued a refund after countless reminder calls.
by WiseToTheSystem 2014-01-21 13:01:27
www.azbbhe.us

That is a direct link to the Arizona Board of Behavioral Health Examiners. Please, find the form. Fill it out and submit it accordingly. This woman needs to be stopped from robbing others blind and ruining lives.
by Alyssa22 2014-06-27 23:40:44
My advice is do NOT use the services of Julie Skakoon. The results of her inept work ethic and  biases levied a terrible consequence on our children. She takes months to complete reports that are not even accurate. She aligns with one parent and is threatening and vindictive if you attempt to present evidence to the contrary. It's unbelievable that she has not been
Disciplined for her unethical conduct. Two years later I am now picking up the pieces to children damaged as a result of her actions. Thankfully I found an evaluator who actually heeds facts! Run don't walk away!
REQUEST A NEW PC!!
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Hopeless, Aug. 28, 2013

Julie does not follow her own guidelines. My ex is a pathological liar, he has violated court orders for years. I thought this would be an opportunity for her to see what I'm dealing with, but she only wanted to "move forward."  Julie instructed us NOT to do things, my ex did every single thing she said not to..and then ruled in his favor!  She scheduled an appt (on her own) I notified her asst immediately I couldn't attend. I called a few more times to confirm it was cancelled (to no avail), I emailed her twice, all this in 2wks and requested a few weeks later. I never got a response.  I got a phone call the day of, asking where I was. Then I was billed for the session, although I followed her cancellation guidelines. However, my ex was allowed to cancel 3 days prior to a meeting w/o any problems. In her recommendation to the Judge, Julie did not mention one thing my ex did, and said how uncooperative I was for missing the appt.
Avoid Julie Skakoon at all costs. I think she is intimidated by men so she will give them what they want to get rid of them. If your a woman who will stand up for yourself and challenge her in any way, you're doomed. She does not understand the legal aspects and does the warm fuzzy crap that isn't a reality for parents who are in high conflict.

I have lost all faith in the family court system, Judges just want you off their docket, everything is a long drawn out process, and everyone has their hand in the pot to get paid.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by WiseToTheSystem 2014-01-21 13:03:16
www.azbbhe.us

Direct link to the Arizona Board of Behavioral Health Examiners. Find the link, fill out the complaint report and submit. Word must get out how unprofessional this woman is so she will stop ruining lives and robbing people blind.
Do NOT use Skakoon or Vigil
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by kevinarco, Aug. 12, 2013

I have spent over $12000 with Skakoon and Vigil and basically got about 1/4 of worth from it.  In the past 90 days I have paid nearly $3000 and when I ask for an update, a plan or information regarding my children I get "you'll have to trust me" and "it's being handled".  Only to find out little, if anything was being done besides being charged.  

Julie has flip-flopped on numerous calls with my attorney.  She is unable to follow her own recommendations or conversations.  She will charge you for a report to the court that is very neutral and then tell the court an extremely different scenario.  That will usually cause the court to continue her services, of which you will continue to pay...Again, with little or no results.

Google Julie and Diane!  Take the advice of others who have used her.  The complaints are valid and should be heeded.  Once I find out who to file a complaint with, I am..with vigilance!  She should not be practicing any therapy with children and there are even complaints stating her biased and flawed therapy is a result of her own child hood issues.

Their staff is horrible.  Basically, you are charged $150-200 an hour and when you get on the phone with either therapist, they are "what do you want to talk about?"..Even after informing the staff of the subject for the call to be as efficient as possible.  I have had phone calls where I was to have an update on my case, only to find out the call with the other party was cancelled, I was never notified and we had nothing to discuss on the call.  But I got charged.  They don't know what is going on in their office and they are not organized at all.  VERY UNPROFESSIONAL.

Please, do NOT get drawn into this vacuum of heart ache and financial drain.  What I thought was going to be a reunification with my children has turned into a nightmare that has financially devastated me.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by WiseToTheSystem 2014-01-21 12:59:45
www.azbbhe.us

That is the website for the Arizona Board of Behavioral Health Examiners. You can download an official complaint form on their website and file it accordingly.

I had the exact same experience with this office. I was told countless times over the year and a half they were handling my case that "I'm almost done" "the report is about complete" only to be asked to make more and more deposits or "I can't work on your case because you have insufficient funds in your account". Then, what can you do? You have to pay or nothing gets done. Only to find the final product completely inaccurate in an attempt to justify why a simple assignment took nearly 2 years to complete.
LPE (License Practicing Extortionist)
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by WiseToTheSystem, Apr. 15, 2013

Since I started with Ms. Skakoon, it's just been one bold face lie after another and one delay after another. She doesn't have an ounce of professionalism in her body nor does she possess the proper ethics required and expected for someone in her occupation. She truly is a "legal extortionist" who doesn't have one ounce of care about what's right and what's wrong. Avoid her as well as her office at any cost.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Avoid Julie Skakoon
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by jolson, Oct. 10, 2012

I am a teacher wiht not history of drugs, smoking, DUIs, jail time, criminal history, abuse, or neglect.  Julie Skakoon presents as a sweet welcoming demeanor, but that cannot be trusted.  She misinterprets a clients words and actions.  I could tell more details, but I'm not sure if it would infringe on privacy issues.  All in all, she supports abusive men.  Interesting that this is a country in which we have FREEDOM OF SPEECH but are dictated as to what we can and candot say.  Avoid her!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by jolson 2013-08-31 11:47:18
Sorry about the typos on my last post.  Julie Skakoon supports abusive men who commit domestic violence and who do not comply with her expectations.  Skakoon writes lies about what you say in sessions and on the phone, so tape record everything!  She skews information in her reports to side with an abusive father.  I notice she is a member of the Fathers Rights group.  She has several bar complaints written against her, and the only reason she got out of them is because she was supposedly under "immunity."
by WiseToTheSystem 2014-01-21 13:05:26
She supports abusive narcissistic lying women too.

www.azbbhe.us

Direct link to the Arizona Board of Behavioral Health Examiners. Find the file, fill it out and submit it. Prevent her from ruining any more lives.

Counselors Nearby

Michael Callan Graham, MC
Counselor
4545 N. 36th Street, Suite 102
Phoenix, AZ 85018
Kristin Ingebrigtson, LPC
Counselor—Psychotherapist
8414 East Shea Blvd., Suite 102
Scottsdale, AZ 85260
Salina H. Hancock
Counselor—Mental Health
4550 E Bell Rd, 147
Phoenix, AZ 85032
Sandy Jardine, M.S. LPC
Counselor—Couples counseling
7411 E. 6th Ave., Suite 204
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Sarah Elizabeth Vanholland, MC
Counselor—Professional
1825 E Northern Ave, Suite 200
Phoenix, AZ 85020

View All