Laurie Baker, Licensed Psychotherapist, Review

Laurie Baker, Licensed Psychotherapist, Review

Average rating based on 66 reviews
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
In praise of Laurie
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by CelestiaFox, Jun. 13, 2018

Laurie is warm, kind and very understanding. She is extremely compassionate, and she takes great notes.
She employs a variety of exercises in addition  to the therapy. They help break the ice and are a useful resource.
I would not hesitate to recommend her to anyone else struggling with depression.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Grateful
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by tranqulity, Apr. 16, 2018

Laurie is a professional,knowledgeable and compassionate therapist. She listens attentively in a non-judgmental manner.  I think her best quality is that Laurie is open to other adjunct treatment modalities such as massage, acupuncture, meditation and yoga. She has been instrumental in my personal journey through the complex maze of depression and anxiety. Thank you Laurie

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Michelle
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Michelle45678, Apr. 15, 2018

 Lori is fantastic! She is an excellent listener, who is able to provide proactive tools and solutions. She is knowledgeable but doesn’t overwhelm you with jargon. Her tone is always respectful, caring, attentive, and non-judgemental.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Review
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Thankfully, Apr. 11, 2018

Laurie is wonderful! She listens compassionately and is nonjudgmental. She never hedges if I ask her for direct advise or her thoughts.  I find her to be patient even if I can’t move on. I never feel pressured to finish a thought and when especially emotional she gives me the time needed to get my thoughts together and verbalize them. She responds quickly to emails and is flexible with scheduling if an emergency arises. I feel very lucky to have her as my therapist.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Highly Recommended
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Rito, Dec. 11, 2017

Laurie has been extraordinary in her ability to listen, understand, advise, and guide my future behavior. She  doesn't make assumptions and asks questions that lead me to my own conclusion. I find her to be balanced and sincere.
I highly recommend her services.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by LBaker 2018-04-26 21:57:00
I have seen this client since 2012. Laurie Baker
Grateful
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Lietrim, Sep. 20, 2017

From the first moment I reached out to inquire about counselor/client fit and my tricky scheduling, Laurie has been attentive, compassionate, and validating.  She is a patient listener, asks empathetic questions and responds to both my thoughts and my emotions.  She know when I need assurance and when I can benefit from working towards goals. She has also provided me with suggested resources beyond herself that have been immeasurably helpful. I look forward to my time with her: she is calming, and gives me the gifts of reassurance,  food for thought, and the ability to believe in goals and hopes.
I have recommended her to friends.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

NOT recommended
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by rhb20, Aug. 24, 2017

Laurie does not make me feel comfortable. She gets defensive when I speak with her about concerns I have. She acts in a manner that I don't find ethical.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by LBaker 2017-11-29 22:46:24
I welcome feedback in sessions, where concerns can be addressed constructively. rhb20 has submitted multiple false allegations. Laurie Baker
Thank You
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Shelma, Jul. 30, 2017

6 months ago I thought that I would never be able to reduce the stress and anxiety I was experiencing. Thanks to Laurie I've found numerous cognitive behaviors to help me savor my life and loves again. On Friday, I had my appt time wrong, Laurie called to check, I realized I had the wrong time, she knew I was frazzled, she had me come in anyway. I love knowing I'm in such capable hands.  

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
0 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Moyanator, Jun. 17, 2017

As a fellow therapist who as been clinically trained, I can vouch for Laurie's ethical & clinical practices during each of her sessions. Laurie has been very helpful while working with my fiancé & myself. She is attentive, compassionate, and extremely helpful. I would certainly recommend Laurie if you're looking for a helpful and well trained therapist.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
2 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by rhb20 2017-08-24 02:32:08
It appears the therapist is augmenting her rating by having false positive reviews submitted. That is damaging to this website's credibility. I urge you to please review her profile and to use alternate resources to get an accurate opinion of this person.
by LBaker 2017-09-02 19:48:45
I have never falsified a review or asked anyone to do so. Laurie Baker
I don't feel she hears or understands me
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Deb26, Jun. 16, 2017

Hi everybody! She is a nice therapist.  I have seen her for some time. I am afraid that if I give her this feedback she will take it personally so I appreciate the web for having a safe feeling. I have mentioned to my therapist a number of times of abuse and neglect and I have never found solace in my meetings with my therapist. We have never worked out a plan for me and my children to walk away. Even though I have asked for help with that.  I was able to find a women's group that helped me. I cannot recommend this therapist.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
4 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by LBaker 2017-08-28 21:33:11
Regarding 6/16/17 review:  This is a false, fake review. I do not have a client living in an abusive relationship with children. I would always create a safety/escape plan for a victim of domestic abuse, and refer the client to victims' services to seek protection. As a mandated reporter, I would report abuse affecting children. I've empowered many clients to disengage from abusive relationships. Laurie Baker
Worst therapist! Looks like phony reviews are used!
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by DrMcManus, Jun. 14, 2017

If you have absolutely no option left but this therapist, I sincerely recommend a support group. She is negligent of her duties of care and is not goal-oriented. It will be okay for her to occasionally cancel on you at the last moment but you better not ever get sick. Her record-keeping is atrocious and she is often forgetful of previous conversations that are critics to recovery. While she has a nice demeanor, you soon notice why after you enter her office. Her desk is filled with beverages and her lack of energy interferes with the tone of the session. She is not able to provide clients with what is wrong with them, what they should do about their issues and why that treatment option is recommended. Speak to the folks in the waiting room or see how she handles herself between clients. She is consistently late and will short you on the time. After speaking to her other clients, we will not stand for it any more. We don’t recommend that you subject yourself to this either.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
4 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by LBaker 2017-06-17 21:57:53
Regarding 6/14/17 review: I hope you'll read the positive reviews which are GENUINE, written freely by my clients since 2010. I have hundreds of satisfied clients, who often return for help to cope with new challenges. My work habits, office and records are professional, ethical, neat and accurate.

Therapeutic treatment strategies, goals and diagnoses are only effective when clients use them. I'm always willing to discuss how clients feel in sessions, and their goals and progress. These clients were irate about documented no-show fees, after attending 34 sessions. Apparently they were unclear about session length.
Laurie Baker
Compassionate therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by LD727, Dec. 05, 2016

Laurie is a wonderful, supportive therapist.  She is professional, thoughtful, and effective in her manner of communicating, particularly when navigating family conflict.  I am grateful to have her support!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

3 comments. Add a comment

by rhb20 2017-08-24 02:51:38
It appears the therapist is augmenting her rating by having false positive reviews submitted. That is damaging to this website's credibility. I urge you to please review her profile and to use alternate resources to get an accurate opinion of this person.
by LBaker 2017-09-02 20:03:03
I have never falsified a review or asked anyone to do so.
Fake reviews and allegations that positive reviews are false are libelous and disrespectful to reviewers. Laurie Baker
by LD727 2017-09-15 20:15:10
I would like to assure readers that I did write this review myself as an actual client of Laurie's.  I'm not sure why someone would claim otherwise, but their comment is baseless.
LMC1962
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by LMC1962, Dec. 05, 2016

I feel very fortunate to have found Laurie Baker. As a 53 yr. old female, I was dealing with depression and anxiety for years due to various personal issues. This included diagnosis and treatment for cancer as well as my father's recent cancer diagnosis and failing health. While I had been seeing a therapist and psychiatrist for years, I no longer felt that they were adequately assisting me in my recovery. After some research, I found Laurie and decided to give her a call. Now approximately 6 months later, I feel as if the weight of the world has been lifted from my shoulders! I still have the same problems, but Laurie showed me how to handle them and look at my life in a new light. She gave me techniques to use and research to read that provided me with invaluable insight. I am very happy to be part of Laurie Baker's practice.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Strong Therapeutic Alliance
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by BfastAtTiffanys, Dec. 02, 2016

Laurie saved my life when she recognized that I could not contract for safety, and she recommended I go to an inpatient psychiatric hospital close by. She stayed with me until my transport came, and she spoke with my parent (after getting my consent to do so).

I chose Laurie as a therapist initially because I was desperate and I had read that she does DBT, which I knew I needed for my conditions. I had been to other doctors and therapists but just stopped going because nothing really seemed to be progressing.

Laurie truly cares about your well-being. She is empowering and encouraging, and she also has a host of resources to recommend that you read/study/look at in between sessions, so it's not like you're wasting time playing catch-up and just doing talk therapy in the sessions.

Also she's really nice if you cry constantly, like me.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

3 comments. Add a comment

by rhb20 2017-08-24 02:52:32
It appears the therapist is augmenting her rating by having false positive reviews submitted. That is damaging to this website's credibility. I urge you to please review her profile and to use alternate resources to get an accurate opinion of this person.
by LBaker 2017-09-02 20:06:44
I have never falsified a review or asked anyone to do so. Laurie Baker
by BfastAtTiffanys 2017-09-22 21:46:08
It appears this rbh20 character has an axe to grind and is spamming  the website. I was hospitalized one year ago. If not for Laurie, I would have killed myself.
Excellent!
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by LM34, Nov. 28, 2016

Laurie is a wonderful therapist!  She is flexible and accommodating in scheduling, and very easy to get in touch with.  She listens and shows empathy towards her clients, and makes great recommendations for resources that might be helpful for clients to further their treatment. I have worked with other counselors before, and have never been as happy with treatment as I am right now.  Laurie is very knowledgeable, and is able to bring a lot of great experience to all sessions.  We are lucky to be working with her.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Laurie Baker
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by SharonPhiladelphia, Aug. 09, 2016

Laurie is a kind and caring person, a gifted therapist, and she helped me take an honest look at habits that were causing suffering in my life.  She was skilled in asking open questions that gave me a gentle nudge in the direction I needed to move.  I am so grateful to have had her in my life.  

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

My therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Arya, Jun. 09, 2016

I feel very comfortable with Dr Baker. I started going because I was feeling depressed and had feelings bottled up. I am able to discuss my issues without hesitation. I have been going now for a year and slowly fwelding better.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Laurie Baker
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Christy7505, Jun. 06, 2016

I have enjoyed being a client of Laurie's for the past year.  She is knowledgeable and helpful for my needs.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Helpful Advice
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Flower591, Jun. 06, 2016

Laurie has the ability to listen to your concerns while providing helpful and healthy solutions to a client's needs and issues.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Laurie Baker
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Theresa41, Feb. 02, 2016

I highly recommend Laurie Baker.  I was initially skeptical of the effectiveness of therapy because of my life-long battle with depression and anxiety, but I cannot deny that the quality of my life has drastically improved as a result of my sessions with her.  Laurie's professional ethic, level of engagement,  flexibility and availability all support the development of optimal mental health for her clients.  Laurie Baker is definitely a therapist, worthy of the title.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Marriage & Family Therapists Nearby

Joyce E Cohen, RN, MFT, LMFT
Marriage & Family Therapist
400 N Church St, Suite 100
Moorestown, NJ 08057
Martha Watkins Bush, LMFT
Marriage & Family Therapist
Other Specialties—EMDR

309 West Glenside Avenue, Front
Glenside, PA 19038
Dr. Jamie B. Stroud, PHD, LMFT
Marriage & Family Therapist
Counselor—Mental Health

28 E Main St
Lansdale, PA 19446
Lisa M Wilkinson, LMFT
Marriage & Family Therapist
1500 John F Kennedy Blvd, Suite 200
Philadelphia, PA 19102
Dr. Chris Fariello, PhD, MA, LMFT
Marriage & Family Therapist—Sex Therapy
Counselor—Relational Therapy

255 S. 17th Street, Suite 5500
Philadelphia, PA 19103
Denise M. Carr, MS, LMFT
Marriage & Family Therapist
806 Bethlehem Pike # 2a
Flourtown, PA 19031
Dr. Joseph L. Nines, PHD, LMFT
Marriage & Family Therapist
12 E Mill Rd
Flourtown, PA 19031

View All