Lela Irene Bloodsworth, Review

Lela Irene Bloodsworth, Review

Average rating based on 7 reviews
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
PC
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by jj12, Mar. 02, 2015

After trying other Parent Coordinators Lela Bloodsworth helped us to finally come to an agreement. She was extremely professional and really helped our children. I sent my friends to her and they were very hapoy too. She is the best.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

totally unprofessional
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Justicenotdone, Mar. 15, 2013

She practically was falling out of her tight shirt at every meeting my ex, and I came to and came to court that way too. Lela had no care about the well being of the children at all. The judge even asked what 14 year old makes a decision about where he should live. Well, Lela certainly did after telling me he was already having sex and should live his father who worked 60 hour weeks.  She was completely inappropriate and biased from the start. I later read she too had a similar background as my ex, thus related to him. I hope by now she has bought some longer skirts and larger blouses.  She hurt my son tremendously by having him not live with his three siblings but at his dad's. They consider him more of a step sibling now.What an awful therapist.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Can not thank Lela enough for all of her help :)
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by brenyo, Oct. 31, 2012

I can not thank Lela enough for helping my husband and I. My husband and I had alot of things going on and she was great with us.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
1 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Complete disregard for children
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Riley777, Jun. 21, 2012

Ms. Bloodworth has no regard to the welfare of children and family members. She refuses to provide you with copies of the agreement that outlines her services. Spends an hour collecting information and when she repeats it the next time you meet, it is obvious she was not paying attention to any of it. She should not be handling parental facilitation.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

3 comments. Add a comment

by strongmom 2012-10-24 22:03:49
This woman lied about what my children said and reported it to the court. She needs mental health counseling and possesses a borderline personality disorder coupled with malicious intent to thwart childrens opinions and gain from families discord. She destroys lives. Avoid her at all costs if you love your children.
by strongmom 2012-10-24 22:22:49
Please contact me if you have had similar issues.
by ltfp562 2013-01-30 08:27:12
I agree with all of these comments this woman is horrible, she sides with the mother and does not care about extended families or spouses. I was mandated to see her and spent alot of money with no resolve only to listen to her tell me how bad I am. In my opinion she is stealing money from people that go to her for help.
Miracle worker
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Marlin, Dec. 20, 2011

As a professional in the community myself, I would highly recommend Ms. Bloodsworth. She has diagnosed, treated , and successfulyy mediated many cases for my firm throughout the years and I do not trust any other professional's clinical skills. The family law community refers to her as the Miracle Worker...and I've seen it first hand-she really is. Don't waste your time or money anywhere else!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
1 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Not Very Helpful
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by straycat, Sep. 01, 2010

We were court ordered into family mediation with Lela Bloodsworth .  We had to see her for mediation and therapy for 2 years.  During this time, our situation did not improve but actually worsened.  It was her job to help us develop communication techniques and work out visitation times with our toddler.  All she did was hand us reading assignments to take home.  She did not discuss with us in session as to what we learned from these reading assignments about communication skills or techniques .  She did not seem to care if we even read them.   It seemed to me that she sided with one parent and would pressure the other into making all the concessions without taking each side into consideration.  It seemed to me that my concerns where not taken seriously or ignored and she seemed to forget what was previously discussed or agreed upon in other sessions like she could not care less.  My  ex has severe issues that she admittedly knew about and acknowleged. Yet, after 2 years of going to her he has not gotten any better and seems to have gotten worse even though it was her job to help him.   My concerns about our toddler at such a tender age spending time with him with his issues were not taken seriously or disregarded I felt. Yet, I thought it was here job to help look out for the best interests of the child.  I would have never gone to her had there not been a court order.  We also did not get proper copies of any agreements we made and signed with her.  So, no one knew what was going on with out proper documentation .  It was my impression that she did not really care and did not seem to know what she was doing.  We are not really any better off after having gone to her for two years . She was not very helpful. In my personal opinion , I would not recommend her services.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
13 of 14 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

3 comments. Add a comment

by Riley777 2012-06-21 21:47:04
Your experience is unbelievably close to ours. She simply does not care and will stretch her services to take your money. She documented profoundly incorrect information and gave us reading material that she never cared to discuss. She is a disgrace to the mental health community. She has no regard to children and he sole goal is to make parties sign empty agreements. Avoid her if you can. There are many respecful and qualified coordinators in the area that you can use and rely on.
by cliffharris 2012-12-20 22:18:22
lela bloodsworth, was excellent! she helped my daughter and i be together when my daughter's mom kept denying my scheduled parenting time,  i'm pretty sure straycat is my daughter's mom, she just likes making things difficult for people who dont do things her way. with the thousands of successful parent coordinations lela bloodsworth has coordinated since 1995 i wouldnt pay much attention to the small amount of complaints. she is a really good at parent coordinating and helped us alot. i highly reccomend her.
by kona 2013-05-12 08:40:26
I couldn't agree more with the comments from the other parents.  My ex and I have to see her and she demonstrates favoritism to him and tries to use intimidation to manipulate the truth. She actually makes you pay for every little thing and when you call for an emergency, she never calls you back.  She is clearly unprofessional, biased and her office manager is never there.  If her hours are supposed to be 4 days a week, she is never there 4 days a week. She shows no knowledge of your case or your history yet she tells you what she expects.  If you don't take her so called recommendations - which generally favor the incompetent and irresponsible party then she tells you that you need to listen to her.  What parents really need to listen to is the final judgment and the parenting plan that is signed by the judge.  She makes you question that you should do something not in the plan and when you say no, she gets mad and threatens you by telling the judge.  Well, the judge is the one who signed the parenting plan, not her.
Mr Leon
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by jeanleon, Mar. 03, 2010

I saw her for about 9 months during my divorce. During these 9 months all my concerns about my kids were ignored and downplayed. I was influenced into giving up more supervision over my kids so that my wife could be agreeable. I made all the concessions, while my wife made none. Any agreements we had were later ignored by my wife without any enforcement. My oldest daughter is borderline delinquent and is barely passing her classes. She was an A student before we started seeing Lela. Since my wife refused to have anything to do with me even when our kids were concerned, she wanted and obtained her own health insurance for the kids, even though I already a very good health and dental insurance. She later dropped the insurance for the kids. My wife resented me for the divorce and used and manipulated the kids to get revenge over me, given Lela's background and experience she knew her issues but chose to ignore them. In the end my wife let my older daughter do whatever she wants to the point that she just ran off to my wife and is leaving with her now. I had to put a motion of contempt through the court in order for me to see my daughter. I should not have to decide between doing what is right for my daughter and her spending time with me. It should not be a choice. My daughter is skipping school daily, she is sexually active, she is smoking and she is failing the classes that will get her into a decent college. I have taken responsibility for my mistakes and decided to put my differences aside to work with my ex-wife for the benefits of our kids. This will only work if the other side does the same and it was Lela's job to make sure that my ex moved on and was ready to work with me to raise our kids. She failed miserably because she could not see pass her feminism. She could not see as a devoted and caring father because of her own past experience. I wasted 9 months seeing her for I am right back in court 3 months later trying to get my wife to do what she agreed to do.   

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by cc20111986 2011-01-03 23:14:18
I have personally worked with Ms. Bloodsworth and think she works hard and does what is best for the children. I did not always agree with her, but i think she did exactly what the Court asked her to do. My case is better because of her.
by Marlin 2011-12-20 20:03:31
We went to many therapists prior to Ms. Bloodsworth and no one came close to having the skills that she had in helping us. We were able to reach a complete agreement and most of all our children saw us getting along for the first time in years. She is the only therapists that I would trust with such private and difficult issues. You will love her!

Counselors Nearby

Jane Bajor, LMHC
Counselor
PO Box 41842
Saint Petersburg, FL 33743
Sharon Renee Michaels, LCSW, CAP
Counselor—Addiction
Social Worker—Clinical

2600 Dr Martin Luther King Jr St N, Suite 301
Saint Petersburg, FL 33704
Mona Ido, LMHC
Counselor—Mental Health
7600 Bryan Dairy Rd, Suite C
Largo, FL 33777
Dr. Jemie B Russell, PHD, LMHC
Counselor—Mental Health
10707 66th St, Suite 6
Pinellas Park, FL 33782

View All