Michael Francis Zoda, Review

Michael Francis Zoda, Review

Average rating based on 4 reviews
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Great 1 on 1; NOT for marriage
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Watchout4genderroles, Aug. 25, 2017

Dr Zoda is a very good therapist one on one. He's smart and intuitive. As a female I was very comfortable discussing extremely personal issues. He helped me a great deal and I am grateful I sought therapy with him.

My husband and I then saw him together and I was not as pleased. He definitely believes the man's role in the home and church is to take the lead over the women. He is entitled to his beliefs, of course, but know going in that he believes in unchangeable gender roles. He believes men have the responsibility for the spiritual life of their wives and will answer to God for it. Only men may have authority in the home and in church. He is an elder in a male-only rule church. If that is your view, he can help you. If not, I would recommend seeing someone else. He does not believe women and men are equals.

I still recommend him for individual therapy. Even on issues involving gender stuff he was excellent. He treated me with respect, caring, empathy, and kindness. He helped me sort out and unpack a lot of things that helped me grow and heal. I do not, however, recommend him for marriage therapy. He has an agenda and a male bias in this area and, to my surprise, he is a little arrogant about it. My husband actually saw it and decided to stop seeing him before I did.  Once he pointed out his complementarian views I could see it. Again, if you share this theology, Dr Zoda would probably be a good match for you. Overall, he is a very kind, engaged, smart, and caring therapist.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Unbelievably Destructive Therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by NotZoda, May. 10, 2017

Dr. Zoda told my ex-spouse, "I am interested in making you the most whole individual you can be. You can then decide if you want to continue to be married."

This man will absolutely kill your marriage. Using poorly designed pop psychology of codependency and an unwillingness to confront unacceptable behavior in the relationship, Dr. Zoda will happily take your money while supporting an non-biblical view of marriage and love. Don't ask this man to equate love with sacrifice or help instill mutual respect into your marriage model.

Unfortunately, Dr. Zoda attends a large, affluent church in town and protects the lobbyists and political staffers who go there and their power hungry, unfaithful behavior at the expense of their spouses. This gets him recommendations as a Christian counselor but he is anything but. Long after the non-aggressor is gone, Dr. Zoda will continue to see the instigating spouse and help them discover their newly realized sense of "self."

My ex-spouse and I saw two other counselors who could immediately pinpoint legitimate, practical measures on both sides to better our marriage. Dr. Zoda missed all of these and more. Go to anyone other than this man. He is a blight to the therapeutic community in Tallahassee.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

TERRIBLE THERAPIST
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Burnedbyzoda, Jul. 19, 2015

It is hard to fathom that this guy is the "Christian" counselor in town. He is on his third wife himself (who happens to be much younger than him).  His advice is rehashed and recycled and for most clients it is the same.  He is very quick to recommend separation and divorce.  He also looks down on complementarian marriage and has an egalitarian bias.  Good luck if you have the misfortune of seeing this guy.  He has overseen the destruction of many marriages but still got paid good money for all his "advice".

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by hurtbyzoda 2016-04-03 21:49:59
I have used this counselor too for couples therapy and found him to be biased toward the man.  He has  no children of his own  but offers advice that tears families apart. He has had 3 marriages himself and I don't believe he likes women or children at all by the partiality he exhibited.  He should not be practicing counseling. Our family will never be the same.
Brilliant
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by thriver, Jul. 11, 2010

Dr. Zoda is simply outstanding in his field. His ability to understand and empathize, and then re-frame the issues is quite remarkable. He is trustworthy, patient, funny, calm, reassuring, safe, professional, and intelligent.  He quite simply "gets it".  

He takes the time to explain and not just listen.  He is a wonderful listener and he hears things that are clearly not spoken.  He has an almost natural instinct to "hear between the lines".  

I could go on forever about Dr. Zoda, but I will just say this:  You simply could not be in better hands than with this man.  He is a gift from God and one that God uses wisely.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

4 comments. Add a comment

by gladifoundmike 2012-01-30 12:20:54
Mike is one amazing therapist.  His knowledge is unbelievable and his interpersonal skills are unparalleled.  They say that the therapeutic relationship is the basis for all successful healing and you simply can't find a more empathetic, kind, caring, understanding, and loving (in a very appropriate way) counselor than Mike.  He goes out of his way to make you feel safe and ensure that you are in charge in his office.  He absolutely goes the extra mile for his patients.

If you are looking for a guide on you healing path please consider Mike Zoda.  You will be so glad that you made the decision to walk the journey with him.
by AVeryHappyPatient 2012-05-28 08:12:11
I can't say enough about Mike Zoda.  His empathy, his knowledge, his experience, his professionalism, and his faith make him one phenomenal therapist.  I have seen him for individual therapy, and my husband and I have seen him for marriage therapy, and I couldn't be more pleased.  He helped to save our marriage and I have healed in places that I didn't even know I was broken.

If you are hurting, are spiritually lost, are stressed, or just need someone to listen and understand please contact Dr. Zoda.  It will be the best phone call that you have ever made.  Mike is amazing, and for the wonderful gift of love that he possesses, to God be the glory.
by terismith 2014-03-28 19:12:56
Dr. Zoda was not perceptive enough to realize my spouse was deceiving him and he subsequently recommended divorce.  I would never recommend him if you are trying to save your marriage.  He is divorced and has no problems letting your spouse divorce you as well.  I was not allowed to tell my side of our story due to "confidentiality" and his unwillingness to hear me.  Now my kids can grow up in a broken home.  Thanks Dr. Zoda!
by terismith 2014-03-28 19:13:58
Dr. Zoda was not perceptive enough to realize my spouse was deceiving him and he subsequently recommended divorce.  I would never recommend him if you are trying to save your marriage.  He is divorced and has no problems letting your spouse divorce you as well.  I was not allowed to tell my side of our story due to "confidentiality" and his unwillingness to hear me.  Now my kids can grow up in a broken home.  Thanks Dr. Zoda!

Marriage & Family Therapists Nearby

Shari Ann Lindquist, LMFT
Marriage & Family Therapist
1981 Capital Cir Ne
Tallahassee, FL 32308
Robert James Richards, MA
Marriage & Family Therapist
1204 Miccosukee Rd
Tallahassee, FL 32308
Mario Alberto Sacasa
Marriage & Family Therapist
2619 Centennial Blvd, Suite 102
Tallahassee, FL 32308
Linda Kahn, PHD
Marriage & Family Therapist
1965 Capital Cir Ne, Suite 102
Tallahassee, FL 32308
Hillary Wooten, LMFT
Marriage & Family Therapist
2268 Wednesday St
Tallahassee, FL 32308

View All