Noah Benjamin Clyman, Review

Noah Benjamin Clyman, Review

Average rating based on 19 reviews
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
CBT Supervision
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by JenniferShana, Apr. 01, 2016

Noah has been providing me with CBT clinical supervision and it has been one of the best experiences I have had with supervision. He provides excellent insight to a wide variety of clinical issues and does so with such openness. To further promote learning the model, supervision is modeled after a CBT session. Through my work with Noah, I have not only become a much more skilled CBT and Trial Based Cognitive therapist, but much more confident in my skill set. I would recommend Noah to a beginner level therapist to a more seasoned clinical looking to enhance their CBT skill set.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

CBT for Anxiety
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by WashingtonSquare, Nov. 28, 2015

I was referred to Noah by my existing psychotherapist in order to try CBT after six months of talk therapy, which was helpful, but had little effect on my ever increasing work-related Anxiety. Noah mentioned in our first meeting that it would take 5-8 sessions for treatment and that is exactly how many times I ended up seeing him. He is very action oriented and methodical. I did all the exercises and record keeping and it was amazing how fast I noticed changes and progress. In addition, Noah is always exactly on time! I ended up referring my brother to him.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

My Supervision experience with Noah
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by HChu, Jan. 14, 2015

Noah is one of the most skillful, thoughtful, compassionate, and supportive supervisors that I have ever encountered with throughout my entire learning career.  He works extremely hard for his supervisees with consistent, detailed, and constructive feedback which has boosted my learning curve in a short period of time.  His dedications to learning is also inspiring.  Through his supervision, I not only become more effective to my clients and my supervisees but I also learn to be more compassionate toward myself.  I learn to approach life with cautious but not with fears.  Noah is the best, and I am looking forward to continuing working with him.     


* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Noah Benjamin Clyman, Review
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Sonia, Dec. 24, 2014

I have been getting CBT supervision from Noah now for several months. I first considered doing CBT supervision after completing a formal one year CBT course and subsequently learned that ten supervision sessions were highly recommended in order to apply and gain diplomacy status at the Academy of Cognitive Therapy(ACT). I became aware of Noah through his thoughtful replies and outstanding postings to specific requests for case consults from other members on the ACT email list. Prior to this I had seriously been considering supervision with someone else, but was so impressed with his intelligent and detailed postings, which I myself found helpful and integrated into my practice, that I decided to request him as my CBT supervisor instead.

I have been lucky to be able to receive supervision from Noah. Noah is very caring. He has a very collaborative style and truly tries to understand the kind of problems in therapy I run into, then checks the accuracy of his understanding of those problems with me, and offers multiple suggestions, which he then assists me to integrate into my practice. Yet he is flexible enough to allow for helping me with questions or problems that come up in my therapy sessions with my clients, outside of our primary set for supervision goals. As a result of my supervision with him I have improved as a therapist and I come to my sessions with my clients recharged with more confidence and fresh ideas of how to best approach clinical challenges.

Noah uses a variety of approaches including sharing articles, videos, scales, role plays and summaries, while regularly eliciting feedback for my satisfaction from any of the approaches/tools. The summaries during and in between session have been particularly helpful, as they do allow me to further reflect on and integrate this newly gained knowledge. Furthermore he uses the same session format for supervision as a regular CBT session he would have with a client, so the modelling in itself is a good learning experience.

His supervision is well worth it! In fact it has been so enriching and useful to me, that I have considered, seeking more supervision beyond the 10 recommended sessions for my ACT certification. I would wholeheartedly and without any reservations recommend Noah Clyman as your CBT supervisor. Thank you Noah!

Sonia Nikolova, MN ARNP Seattle WA

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

CBTTherapisttrainee
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by CBTherapist, Oct. 21, 2014

Attached please find a letter I wrote to NASW regarding Noah Clyman:

Dear Ms. Rosales,
I am nominating Noah Clyman for the NASW 2014 Emerging Leader Award because of his extraordinary accomplishments in the seven years since he received his MSW and because of the profound effect Mr. Clyman has had on my educational and vocational preparation for CBT certification.
Unlike most private practitioners struggling to make as much money as they can to live in NYC, Mr. Clyman keeps his rates low in order to serve all clients and supervisees.  His fee structure is far below his level of expertise and experience. Mr. Clyman is nonetheless adamant that those in need should have access to high quality cognitive behavior therapy.  He founded and directs NYC Cognitive Therapy and his group provides services to clients with low to high incomes and a full array of cultural and sexual orientations.
Mr. Clyman specializes in treating, though by all means does not exclusively work with the LGBT population.  He treats a great many individuals for OCD, depression and other mental health disorders and his treatment model is Cognitive Behavior Therapy.  This, because it is scientifically evidence based, as such is determined to be the most effective form of psychotherapeutic treatment available.  He studies under the premiere CBT academic-practitioners and he has revised some of the classic evaluation forms used by CBT therapists in order to make them more user friendly and data producing.  He is therefore able to closely monitor and get feedback from his clients on effects of treatment.  His goal is to keep treatment short term, effective and long lasting.  He always plans for relapse prevention to keep patients moving on a positive trajectory toward their goals.
Mr. Clyman teaches workshops on the Cognitive Therapy Rating Scale, he is certified in Trial Based Cognitive Therapy and he is the first social worker in NYC to be awarded the ACT Trainer/Consultant and ACT fellow awards.  He also co-developed and co-taught Boston University’s first online MSW course in CBT with the Beck Institute.  I feel honored and privileged to study under his tutelage.
I chose Mr. Clyman to be my mentor to prepare for CBT certification because he is a member of the Academy of Cognitive Therapy credential committee and for all the reasons listed above.  He is an expert evaluator of my work samples.  Mr. Clyman pushes me to do more, to do my homework, to attend outstanding workshops, to join professional organizations, to get my LCSW.  In short, he pushes me to be the best that I can be.
I will be able to go out and become an effective therapist because of my MSW training, my post MSW training in CBT and in large part because of Mr. Clyman’s mentorship.  
In conclusion, let me say that not only does Mr. Clyman hold NASW values and ethics as sacred, but he is a compassionate, brilliant social worker who strives to improve and effect positive change in all those he works with...clients, interns and students.  He has endless energy and leaves no stone unturned when it comes to improving his work and providing oversight for novice practitioners of CBT.
Please do not hesitate to call me with questions.  
I unequivocally recommend Mr. Noah Clyman as NASW Emerging Leader of 2014.


* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Extremely Effective CBT Therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by donovan, Jun. 26, 2014

I began going to Noah almost two years ago and I am sure that I would not be as happy as I am today without Noah's help. I have OCD and was extremely unhappy and anxious when I began treatment. My OCD was ruining my relationships and making my daily life pretty miserable. I didn't know exactly what was wrong, but I saw no end in sight. I was desperate for help and had tried other therapists with frustrating results. Upon meeting Noah I immediately felt like he was the right person to help me. It was one of the best decisions I have ever made. He is easy to talk to, never judgmental, knowledgeable, funny and, most importantly, a great therapist. Everything he said to me about my problematic thought processes and how to fix them immediately made sense to me and I very quickly began to see an improvement in my life. The exercises we did together and the homework I did on my own helped every time. After some hard work on both of our parts I am happier today than I have ever been. My relationships are healthy and I am content in my own head - which was hard to imagine at one point. I no longer feel anxious and my OCD it's not a problem in my life. Noah gave me the tools to handle any future occurrences of OCD myself, but if I ever get overwhelmed I will be right back in Noah's office. I am more than confident that he could help me with any type of problem that might come up. He has helped me more than I can express and I would highly recommend his services to anyone looking for a caring and effective therapist.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

excellent CBT supervision
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by therapisttrainee, Apr. 22, 2014

I hired Noah to supervise several of my cases in order to prepare myself for certification by the Academy of Cognitive Therapy. Noah is an extremely knowledgable and helpful supervisor. He differentiated himself from most other supervisors I have had by clearly setting an agenda for every session and by using role plays within every session. He paid careful attention to my audio tapes, scored each of them, and cited specific segments for us to listen to in session. He doesn't just preach CBT techniques; he models them in session. He was extremely skillful at helping me find my clients' core beliefs and in helping me with client commitment issues. I would recommend him highly.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Experience
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by CBTG, Mar. 26, 2014

I went to Noah for help with a couple of issues. I have a psychotherapist I see weekly, but Noah was recommended to me to help with procrastination issues. Noah is very engaging. I always felt he was really right there with me and very encouraging. He was genuinely happy and enthusiastic when I accomplished small steps and larger goals. Noah was a delight to work with. We accomplished the goals we set out together in about six months. I would wholeheartedly recommend Noah to anyone who needs some concrete help moving forward.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

A Great Experience
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by bkjustaguy, Feb. 02, 2014

In the time that I had been in CBT with Noah Clyman I have gone from being someone with little direction and control, to being in a place where I feel like I'm steering my life and making choices that are best for me. I am a stubborn and resistant person; yet we were able to work through a handful of issues.  He is very knowledgeable, and in the time we worked together he offered various resources and tools which were often helpful.  I would and have recommended Noah to others.  

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent CBT Therapist & Wonderful Person
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by nycc, Nov. 23, 2013

I saw Noah for 2.5 years, and he had a significant, positive impact on my life. When I started working with him, I was dealing with depression and generalized anxiety. I was in the throws of graduate school and had trouble seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. I felt self doubt, and I was overly self-critical. Noah helped me get through this and beyond, and I am healthier and happier because of our work together. I had seen other therapists before who I had benefited from, but I got to a point where I wanted to learn practical strategies to use to improve my everyday life and develop more balanced thinking. Choosing Noah as my therapist was the best decision. He truly knows CBT, and he taught me skills that I now draw from to be my own therapist. I developed more self compassion and balance in my life, my mood has significantly improved, and I have a repertoire of strategies to use to manage anxiety. Beyond his technical skill, I can attest to Noah’s character from my personal experience. Noah is a compassionate, grounded, down to earth person, who truly cares for his clients and approaches the work in a collaborative manner. I always felt respected and cared for in our work together, and I feel fortunate to have found him.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent CBT Supervision
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by QueensMidtown, Oct. 28, 2013

Supervision with Noah Clyman was an exceptional experience. Noah's is extremely knowledgeable in CBT and is eager to share his extensive experience. Through working with Noah I gained a deeper understanding of CBT.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Best Supervision
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by jessallen310, Oct. 16, 2013

I have been supervised by Noah in two different capacities, first as an intern and now as an employee. Both experiences have been unbelievably helpful. Noah is not only knowledgeable about CBT and psychotherapy but he is kind, caring, and understanding. He makes himself available whenever I need him, which is very unique for a supervisor and something I continuously appreciate in moments where I have questions. He always approaches my cases with curiosity and no judgement so I feel comfortable sharing my concerns and questions with him. Moreover, I believe my abilities as a therapist have greatly improved with his advice, guidance, and supervision. I feel more confident in my CBT technique and conceptualization and I know that with Noah's help, I can reach my full potential as a cognitive behavior therapist.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent Supervisor
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by HScottLPC, Oct. 14, 2013

Noah provided the supervision I needed to learn the skills required to be certified as a CBT therapist by the Academy of Cognitive Therapy.  

This process included learning to:
structure efficient client sessions
work with clients to set specific goals
teach cognitive and behavioral skills to help clients make changes
teach clients to practice and maintain their new skills.

We conducted most of our sessions via Skype because I do not live in New York City.  Initially, I was not sure if this method of delivering supervision would be effective.  I can definitely say the distance did not hurt Noah's ability to provide supervision at all.  In fact, I now feel so comfortable with conducting sessions via Skype, I have offered this alternative to some of my own clients.

Noah is a knowledgeable, caring, and extremely effective supervisor.  I am a better therapist after working with him.



* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Absolutely wonderful experience
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by OCDridden, Oct. 14, 2013

Excellent experience. No complaints. Extremely helpful and knowledgeable and I highly recommend him. I saw Noah for over a year, and he really helped me get through a lot of obsessive-compulsive problems.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Noah is an amazing human being, kind and helpful
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by asafonova, May. 13, 2013

Seeing Noah has dramatically improved the quality of my life. I came to him with panic attacks, social anxiety, depression and grieving over a deceased parent. Working with Noah has allowed me to understand these problems and learn to cope with them. After my time with Noah, I feel empowered to not only feel strong emotionally on my own, but also provide those I love with the support that they need as well.

My social anxiety and panic attacks are practically unheard of now, and my mood has seen a sustainable improvement because of the cognitive-behavioral techniques that Noah uses.

He has been an exceptional listener, a source of objective feedback and a guide through the maze of my own mind. I recommend his practice with zero hesitation.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Highly effective and dedicated therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Manhattan, Oct. 10, 2011

I came to see Noah with depression, anxiety, and many other issues including grieving for a deceased parent and learning how to live with a bipolar sibling.

Noah helped me address all of these issues. He was very understanding, attentive to detail and dedicated. He asked helpful questions and guided me through all of these issues in a manner that was encouraging, empowering, and very effective.

He is an excellent Cognitive Behavioral Therapist, and he taught me many CBT techniques that made an incredible difference in my anxiety level and general state of being. This has helped me address on my own any issues that come up.

Seeing Noah has made an incredible difference in my life and I am now the happiest I've been since all of the above-mentioned issues started. I can't recommend Noah enough to someone looking for a therapist.


* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great cognitive therapist, highly recommend him~
Overall Rating
by Katherine, Sep. 01, 2011

Noah assisted me through giving tools and instructions to help change specific patterns that I had a hard time dealing with. I had never had cognitive therapy before and his dedication and thorough work has proved to be invaluable. I highly recommend him if anyone is having a difficult time finding ways to change behavior patterns and need some guidance, and the best thing is is that there are no side effects :)

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Noah Clyman
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
by CoachPeg, Jul. 28, 2011

Noah is dedicated to his clients. He is a highly skilled Cognitive Therapist and I do not hesitate to recommend him.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

CBT expert
Overall Rating
by BasiaMosinski, Apr. 05, 2011

I have worked with Mr Clyman as a colleague for several years. While my specialty is very different, Art Psychotherapy, I so appreciate Noah's expertise in CBT. Each client comes to therapy with different needs, experiences and ways of communicating. Noah is articulate in the language of CBT.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment