Steven Wolhandler, Review

Steven Wolhandler, Review

Average rating based on 8 reviews
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by COsinglemama, Jul. 03, 2018

Steven has been involved in our family for almost 10 years, and has been an immense help in helping my ex and I coparent. He is a responsible caring professional who motivates his clients to be responsible and professional with each other, and he's a great coach who's helped us behave that way. He's understood our dynamic like no one else. He doesn't waste time and he doesn't run up a large bill.  He's spent many hours helping us work things out informally without billing for his time which has saved us a lot of money and stress, and when we were tight for money he even told us to pay him whatever we thought we could afford.  He has always put our family ahead of himself.  I can't recommend him enough.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Compassionate and Skilled
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by AstraStackSullivan, May. 09, 2018

Steven was hugely helpful, insightful and kind in helping me navigate a difficult divorce. He was generous and giving of his time, often without charge. He was able to address both the practical and emotional aspects of a complex legal situation with equal knowledge and insight. Everything was kept in confidence, even when he had to work with lawyers; his attention to ethics and explaining those issues when they came up was excellent. Finally, his caring, warm and thoughtful manner was extraordinary.I am trained in law and mental health, so I'm a knowledgeable consumer of Steven's services. I have recommended him often to others. In short, I simply can not recommend him more highly.


* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Counselor
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by KathJ, May. 08, 2018

I began working with Steve several years ago, and found his style informative and insightful. I appreciated his way of meeting me in whatever state I brought to the session, and helping me with my mindfulness.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Highly Skilled Working w/High Conflict Cases
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by NoCoFamily, May. 07, 2018

Our family has worked with Steven for 8+ years.  His greatest skills are working with high conflict parenting relationships, and getting to the bottom of the problem.  I feel his training and expertise is particularly adept at determining if one parent suffers from underlying mental health impairments.  I would recommend him for follow up therapy, diagnostic evaluations, CFIs, PREs, as a parenting coordinator, or decision maker.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Steven is invaluable as a therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by WhereINeedToBe, May. 03, 2018

Steven has been an incredible support role in my life.  His approach, technique and knowledge are all exemplary.  He is very thoughtful, insightful and compassionate.  His ability to engage my inner self not only into the conversations but into my own insight later on is stellar.  His professionalism and demeanor make me feel at ease therefore allowing myself to open up more - which in turn helps Steven help me.

I feel incredibly safe and comfortable with Steven knowing that his ethics and confidentiality are paramount in his professionalism.

Steven's experience also allows him to adapt to any situation and conversation we are discussing.  I have no doubt that his approach is far reaching and applicable to every client.

Trust is the key factor in a healthy therapist-client relationship.  I whole heartedly trust my life with Steven.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Highly Recommend
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by HappyLife, May. 02, 2018

Steven has been an invaluable help to my family and a serious advocate for my child in an extremely difficult situation. He is very attentive and has always remained professional, fair and diplomatic. It is obvious that Steven works with the child’s best interest in mind and wants to help our family reach agreements that we are all happy and comfortable with. He has gone above and beyond to help resolve conflict and keep cost to a minimum. We all get along better because of him!

I would highly recommend Steven!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Steven is a kind & caring professional
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by hideho, May. 02, 2018

My experience with Steven has been nothing short of exemplary.  He is patient, kind and through.  He is extremely reasonable with his fee structure.  He is responsive with communication and brings an open and good natured approach to interactions.  I would not hesitate to recommend him as a therapist for couples or individuals!  

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

If you value confidentiality, don't go
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by BetterAlternatives, May. 22, 2014

Steven violates confidentiality.   He will continue to escalate emotional vulnerability in order to increase fees and conflict.    He has crossed ethics lines more than once on very personal and hurtful matters.  

I don't recommend Steven.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
2 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Counselors Nearby

Andrew S. Bunin, LPC
Counselor—Professional
5757 Central Avenue, Suite E-1
Boulder, CO 80301
Sara Nasrin Yazdi, MA, MS, NCC
Counselor
Marriage & Family Therapist

3445 Penrose Pl., Suite 140
Boulder, CO 80301
Kyle Lucas, LPC
Counselor—Adolescents
8745 W 14th Ave
Lakewood, CO 80215
Heather Gunther, MA
Counselor—Child Counseling
Other Specialties—Play Therapy

2575 Park Ln, Suite 101 C
Lafayette, CO 80026
Diane Renz, LPC
Counselor—Mental Health
3393 Iris Ave, Suite 106
Boulder, CO 80301

View All