Timothy Bennett Rood, Review

Timothy Bennett Rood, Review

Average rating based on 6 reviews
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
About his service
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Anthony23, Feb. 22, 2018

Tim Rood is okay not so great of a Lmft and he charges to mucnh.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Wish I'd read these other reviews first
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by ThanksALot, Jul. 06, 2016

Tim is thoroughly unprofessional, and I wish I had read these other reviews before wating time and money on this man. Tim did nothing but INCREASE conflict during the entire period with his factually incorrect, slapped together report that somehow still took more than twice as nuch money and three times as long as quoted. All parties are in far worse shape than when we started this adventure.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Enough is Enough
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Protective, Dec. 15, 2014

CAUTION:  Like you, I also read the reviews prior to contracting with Tim Rood.  I didn’t take other’s comments to heart and truly wanted to believe that the negative comments were only being expressed by upset parents whom didn’t get their way in court.  However, after 5 months and $5,000 of worthless mediation with Tim, I now realize how truthful these comments by others really are.  Tim stated that he is, above all else, interested only in the safety, welfare and happiness of the children.  When in reality, all he is interested in is making sure he receives his fees for his unprofessional, incomplete services.  How convenient and lucrative it must be to be listed on the family court website.  Numerous allegations and concerns were brought before Tim from both sides.  Many were unsubstantiated allegations.  95% of the allegations were never investigated by Tim.  Tim only investigated one allegation, which involved potential Child Endangerment (a felony).  Being a mandated reporter, this was required to be investigated by Tim and should have been reported immediately to the proper authorities.  Regardless, Mr. Rood brushed this allegation off as if there was nothing to worry about.  Moreover, even after the allegation was made by two people, Mr. Rood waited an unprecedented 2 weeks to investigate the allegation and never once contacted the authorities. Tim… You say you’re concerned about my child’s safety, welfare and happiness… REALLY!  Yet, you waited 2 weeks to check on a potential catastrophic event.  Maybe you should read the news today about the shootings in Philadelphia – 6 dead over a custody battle!  Mr. Rood’s final report to the court suggested that our daughter receive child therapy and that I and my ex provide our daughter with her own attorney… We weren’t in mediation about our daughter Mr. Rood.  Our child, the one you observed playing with both parents, is of male gender… HE is our SON!  Additionally, Mr. Rood stated in his final report that he contacted our collateral references. Not one of our collateral references were contacted. How about a little more attention to detail, Mr. Rood!  It’s evident to me and many others, that Mr. Rood will gladly take your money, then take his Hawaiian t-shirt off and go lay out in the sun on his office deck with absolutely no regards for the mental anguish and turmoil you and your ex will continue to experience after his incomplete, poorly written report is submitted to the court.  STAY AWAY FROM TIM ROOD!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Bad Co-Parenting Therapy
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by NoMoreBadTherapists, Nov. 30, 2012

Tim Rood is expensive. Rate $120 for a 50 minute session.  Tim Rood has a laid back attitude that is inconsistent and ineffective.  Reluctant to mediate, and stop abusive behavior.  Biased toward the more outspoken mentally unstable abusive father.  Easily manipulated by abusive father that is skilled at deflection.  Unable to reduce conflict, or make decisions that are in the best interest of the child.  Increases conflict by putting the mom down, and requesting that she provide examples.  While encouraging the father, and allowing him to say outrageous lies without examples.  I wish I had read the other reviews before going to him.   

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

STAY AWAY
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by mom4thetruth, Nov. 11, 2012

Completely biased. Increased conflict and costs. Supported an abusive mentally unstable father.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Bought and Paid For
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by railroadedmom, Mar. 21, 2011

Timothy Rood claims to be a special "court master" and claims to have special training in custody, divorce, domestic violence and child custody issues. DO NOT BELIEVE HIM. He is in a long list of the unethical custody mediators in the Sacramento Family Court System and is essentially a bought and paid for court whore specializing in helping abusive fathers unfairly get custody of children who should other wise be protected. If you are a victim of domestic violence - STAY AWAY FROM TIM ROOD

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

3 comments. Add a comment

by njennifer 2011-05-13 11:31:54
i read the only posted comment.  i saw mr rood for mediaition. he was thorough and fair and helped me and my husband come to a good arrangment for our children.  the other cooment is obviously from a mother who is in a bad relationship with the father and has no ability to take any responsibility for a situation she helped create. mr rood was very helpful
by mom4thetruth 2012-11-11 15:21:32
Mr. Rood is totally and completely biased. Mr. Rood increased conflict. In writing Mr. Rood showed he was only able to side with an abusive mentally unstable dad. His "services" increased conflict, furthered abuse and cost huge legal fees to correct. STAY AWAY.
by Fightingformyfamily 2014-09-18 18:37:13
In my experience Mr. Rood is an unethical hired gun. I was forced to attend mediation with this man. He provided a scattered ,incomplete, biased report. And threatened to use his "special mediator" powers on several occasions. He willfully biased his report and included people from outside our family in his evaluation to pad his conclusions in favor of my ex. Furthermore he conducted his observation of my son and ex in a coffee shop down the street from his office. He didn't recognize my wife and hit on her while we were in the bathroom. I could go on, but be forewarned if you visit Mr. Rood, do so at your own peril.

Marriage & Family Therapists Nearby

Jayashree Doyle
Marriage & Family Therapist
2281 Lava Ridge Court, Suite 140
Roseville, CA 95661
Marta Schmal, MA
Marriage & Family Therapist
Counselor

949 University Avenue, Suite 200
Sacramento, CA 95825
Cathy Brownstone, MFT
Marriage & Family Therapist
1317 H Street
Sacramento, CA 95814
Heidi Hostetler, LMFT
Marriage & Family Therapist—Behavioral Support Specialist
Other Specialties—CCSOTS

3650 Auburn Blvd, Suite A-100
Sacramento, CA 95821
David Clarence Coolidge, MA, MFT
Marriage & Family Therapist
2130 Entwistle Ct
Folsom, CA 95630

View All