Vanessa Erica Ford, Review

Vanessa Erica Ford, Review

Average rating based on 30 reviews
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Highly recommend!
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by AshleyA, Jun. 21, 2018

I have been seeing Vanessa for about 8 months, and have made more significant gains in that time than I did in 5+ years of talk therapy prior. I initially started seeing her for her expertise in EMDR. I had hit a plateau in traditional talk therapy, and knew I needed something more. I have symptoms of PTSD due to childhood trauma and growing up in a dysfunctional family, and after years of talk therapy, I would still be triggered by things I knew logically I shouldn't be. I knew countless techniques and strategies, yet no matter how hard I tried, I could not apply them consistently in moments of anxiety/stress. With Vanessa's flexible, dynamic approach to therapy, switching between EMDR and talk therapy, I have seen significant positive changes in the way I am able to manage my symptoms and the impact that has on my ability to more fully live life. She is very knowledgeable, professional, empathetic, and adaptable. Her ability to help re-frame confusing/distorted perspectives on situations in unparalleled; and I have been to a handful of different therapists over the years who have not been anywhere close to as skilled as Vanessa. I leave every session feeling more hopeful and with an intention that I can apply to my everyday life. Most importantly, the gains are lasting; her overall approach, along with the EMDR, has helped give me the only experience I have ever had in therapy where the gains truly stick. I would highly recommend her!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Highly Recommended!
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Sam1984, Apr. 29, 2018

Vanessa made me feel at ease the moment I met with her. I truly feel like she understands what I am going through, which has been a huge relief. She has provided me with many helpful tools to get through a difficult time in my life. I am very grateful that I found her.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Wonderful therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by CMcglone, Dec. 22, 2017

I've been seeing Vanessa for a little under a year. I had been hesitant to get into therapy to deal with past trauma and a lifetime of depression. Finally I was encouraged to see Vanessa and it has been an incredible experience. She is very patient (even while I am quite stubborn), calm, encouraging, and motivating. She has helped me with start dealing with (and defining what "dealing" means) past sexual trauma, depression and irritation issues, business struggles and a lot of self actualization. She introduced me to a method called EMDR, which has been great for me as a way of understanding and reprocessing trauma and negative thinking/behavior. She not only listens but encourages discussion and helps create different pathways of thinking about things in a more constructive or boundary creating manner. I highly recommend working with Vanessa even if you are on the fence about beginning therapy.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by MicheleM, Sep. 27, 2017

Vanessa is fantastic. Very caring, insightful, smart, personable. She asks just the right questions and listens carefully to the answers, pushing back when necessary. I can't recommend her highly enough.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Go See Her
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by paulbennett000, Jan. 04, 2017

Vanessa is a great listener. She has helped me work through anxiety, addiction, and helped me to become a better communicator and person. Highly recommend.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great Therapist
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by heatherbar, Feb. 15, 2016

I've been seeing Vanessa for almost 6 months now and I have only positive things to say. She has a very calm and comfortable demeanor that makes the session fly by! She has always been very accommodating with my schedule and you can tell she really cares about her patients. Her memory is impeccable and you never have to catch her up to speed with anything you've already told her because she'll remember right away. She's helped me with coping mechanisms and provides me with different techniques to help with my day-to-day struggles. Definitely recommend her.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Would not recommend
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Batia, Jan. 29, 2016

I experienced Vanessa as very unprofessional.  She had her dog in with her during the initial intake visit.  There was no heads up with this.  At one point, she interrupted to attend to her lap dog.  Her space was very cluttered and kind of bizarre- as if I was in her studio apartment, with loud art. Would not recommend her.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mrs
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by amyd903, Aug. 06, 2015

I came to Vanessa in crisis mode, after finding out my husband was an addict.  I was struggling with my own anxiety and trust issues after the rough year we had; and I wanted to be the best version of my self.  We spent most of our time doing talk therapy.  Vanessa is extremely professional, which is something that is very important to me.  I appreciated the safe place and loved that she didn't judge.  She taught me how to acknowledge when my thinking was distorted, and gave me techniques to help in the moments I was anxious.  She helped me regain my self-confidence and really helped to save my marriage, by helping me to learn to trust myself and my instinct.  I had to cut our relationship much shorter than I had hoped, because we moved to the suburbs.  It will be tough to find another therapist that I trust so much, and that I connect to on that level.  Do not hesitate to reach out if you feel desperate or are looking for a professional space to work on yourself.  This is an amazing place!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Client
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Artguy75, May. 04, 2015

I have been a client of Vanessa's for many years, and I highly recommend her to anyone who is suffering from anxiety. She is gentle with her guidance and provides a safe and relaxing space. She is highly skilled in both talk therapy as well as EMDR. Vanessa is willing to accommodate varying schedules and is very helpful and knowledgeable when it comes to navigating insurance. Vanessa is also very sensitive to LGBTQ related challenges and creates a safe and nurturing space to explore those issues as well. Vanessa is a great fit for anyone needing a quiet and comfortable space to work on a variety of personal goals.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Quality, Caring Profesional
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by AN33, Dec. 29, 2014

I found Vanessa through a google search over 17 months ago. I've been visiting her weekly ever since.

Initially, I contacted Vanessa as I was struggling with anxiety, depression, and more importantly addiction; within weeks she helped me realize the severity of my addiction and recommended multiple options for treatment along side my time spent with her. The combination of her professional recommendations, and weekly sessions quite literally, saved my life.


Vanessa is an outstanding listener, with a great memory and ability to let the patient lead the session. She asks deep, thought provoking, tough questions that truly let one reflect on the issues at hand - she has a knack for guiding you through treatment and letting one find their own way to health, happiness, and overall improved quality of life.

 look forward to our weekly visits; some weeks are rough, some are fun, but over the long term my quality of life has vastly improved with Vanessa's techniques, coping skills, tools, and other ideas she brings to each session. She is a joy to talk with as well; witty, sharp, and inspiring.

From an administrative side. She is easy to schedule with, always punctual with visits, billing, etc. I've never had to wait for my set appointment, ever!

I highly recommend Vanessa to anyone looking for help through the tough times and challenges life can throw us.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Highly Recommended
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by mill, Jun. 04, 2014

I am a current patient of Vanessa E. Ford and I have found that working with Vanessa over the last couple of years has really been a positive influence in my life. I feel that what differentiates her from past therapists I have had is her straightforwardness, knowledge and professionalism. She rarely forgets issues we have addressed in past sessions and I believe this to be the result of, not only, thorough notes but also her review of those notes before our session. This is very important to me. I have also been impressed with her ability to "give it to me straight" with regards to problems I come to her with. Sometimes the best advice is not always what I want to hear but in the end it is what helps me the most. I also find her to be very good at determining and executing different types of therapy (EMDR, knowledge of 12 step programs). Overall, I feel working with Vanessa has made a significant improvement in my life and it will yours too.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

As good as it gets!
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by johndugan77, May. 30, 2014

Finding a truly talented counselor can be a difficult task. I found Vanessa after a particularly rough breakup and after consulting with several possible counselors. As someone working in a helping field I've stayed with her over the years because she is among the most talented therapists I've met. She is supportive, attentive, remembers everything (it's uncanny), and isn't afraid to ask tough questions. She also genuinely cares and is incredibly accommodating with time, billing, and other issues.

I'd add that perhaps the best measure of someone's skills is the degree to which we are willing to refer others to them. I've sent several friends to see Vanessa over the years dealing with a wide range of issues from grief over family deaths or social anxiety to career struggles and general depression. Some attended sessions just briefly to deal with an episodic issue while others see her routinely. The commonality among these folks is that each of them raved about her after the fact.

I can't say enough positive things about Vanessa. If you are looking for a counselor, look no further!

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Highly Recommending Vanessa Ford
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by NonRev, Jan. 27, 2014

Vanessa Ford helped restore the love that was lost in our relationship years ago. She was very honest about our negative behaviors and the dysfunction that was present in our relationship. She noticed patterns in our body language and the denial we had towards our issues. We were resentful and stubborn through the years and faced many problems in our relationship. She encouraged us to grow as individuals and helped heal the individual trauma that plagued us. She helped us form a new bond in our relationship that was once lost.  We didn't know what to do or where to start before her. However we can now say we are on the right path to success. She has been the driving force for our recovery. She helped us realize all the options and paths available to us and we came to the conclusion the the relationship was worth saving. We highly suggest seeing Vanessa Ford for closure and clarity.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Highly Recommend
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by jbevert, Jan. 24, 2014

My partner and I started going to Vanessa for premarital counseling and also to help us transition into our new life in Chicago. She is a wonderful therapist and has helped us in ways I didn't even imagine. She always remembers everything from our previous sessions and provides us with tools that really work outside of session. Her knowledge of LGBT issues and lifestyles was also very refreshing.

For the business stuff - Vanessa always goes above and beyond to accommodate our busy schedules. When our insurances changed she help us research the best one to bill which was definitely more than many healthcare providers will do. Her office is calming and warm and located near many public transport options.

I highly recommend Vanessa.


* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

I would recommend Vanessa Ford highly.
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by createive, Mar. 13, 2013

Vanessa is professional and knowledgeable. She focuses on helping me keep focused on me and helps me beyond my issues, with the main goal being taking care of myself.

I believe Vanessa focuses on a net end goal for therapy which is important to me.

Vanessa remembers me, and the situations in my life, drawing upon events and tries to tie behaviors together to help me realize patterns. As a result of my work with Vanessa I have been able to change behaviors to be more productive and recognize feelings that may take me to a place I don't want to be before they happen.

She is insightful, when we discuss a situation she has very good constructive comments that may not be directly related to the subject and I think "wow, great idea, I would have never thought of that, I'll get right to it".

Vanessa has great follow up to meetings, not too pushy - perfectly mindful, she is great at navigating the insurance process, I have never had any problems.

I would recommend Vanessa Ford highly.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Highly Recommend
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by private2013, Jan. 01, 2013

I have been seeing Vanessa for about 14 months, and it has truly changed how I live my life.  She's been pivotal in helping me overcome issues and anxiety I had with relationships, career, family, and self-esteem.  I had never been to therapy before, and I have found working with Vanessa to be very comfortable and natural.  I feel comfortable enough to discuss some very private and embarrassing things, as I've learned that's the only way to truly overcome them.  She really has a talent for helping me uncover root causes and linkages in various aspects of life.  This spring I decided to tackle possibly my biggest challenge - a phobia of snakes I have had since early childhood.  It's difficult to explain how painful it is to overcome a phobia, but I worked with Vanessa on this slowly and during the summer I was able to hold a snake – something I would have said was impossible.  In summary, Vanessa is capable of dealing with many different subjects and I highly recommend working with her.  

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent Understanding of Anxiety
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Daisy53, Aug. 29, 2012

I have been with Vanessa for over a year now and after seeking help in the past I was skeptical on how this would go.  I learned more from Vanessa in the year I spent with her about myself, my anxiety, coping skills, understanding where these things are originating from, etc. than I did in the entire 3 years I was with my previous counselor.  She is great at providing tools so you can overcome your own obstacles and eventually feel better without needing therapy.  I would definitely recommend her to anybody who just needs to understand themself better and overcome issues.  

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Vanessa has helped me tremendously
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by mmike628, Apr. 08, 2012

I am currently a client of Vanessa,s. Through working with her for the past three years, I have come to a better understanding of myself and cope better with the people and situations in my life. She has helped me overcome some of my issues in relationships, parenting, and my sexuality. I have worked with other therapists in the past, but really like Vanessa's approach. After each session I walk away with some insight or something thought provoking

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent Progress with Anxiety
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by ChiTownGirl, Sep. 29, 2011

Vanessa is the third therapist I have met with in the past 3 years, and is definitely the most effective.  She has assisted me in addressing problems that stem from my divorce and general anxiety.  I feel that I have made great progress during my work with her in the last 6 months, and unfortunately, will not be able to see her regularly due to a job relocation.  She was able to equip me with tools to combat my daily anxiety that have been extremely helpful in lessening the anxiety I have experienced for over 10 years.  Through our sessions, I have been able to see things that happened in my divorce and marriage more clearly, which is assisting me in moving on with my life in a healthy manner.  I will miss our weekly sessions, as I always leave with a better perspective.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent experience with EMDR therapy
Overall Rating
Knowledge & Experience
Quality of Work
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by through, Jul. 17, 2011

I sought out an EMDR certified therapist after having exhausted verbal processing oriented therapies to help me heal from complex trauma.  I truly feel blessed that I discovered Vanessa and am grateful that I made the decision to take care of myself.  Although it was not an easy road, she was just the person I needed to nurture me through the process and to keep me motivated.  I have been capable of moving beyond many traumatic experiences as a result of her help that I was unable to do with other types of interventions.  Life has become easier for me as a result of my work with her.

* this reviewer has be with this therapist for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 therapists before.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Social Workers Nearby

Lisa Srour, LCSW, CADC
Social Worker—Licensed Clinical Social Worker
Counselor—Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor

Living Well Counseling Services, Inc., 350 Pfingsten Ave.
Northbrook, IL 60062

phone: 773-505-2975
Pinal Patel, LCSW
Social Worker—Clinical
500 W. Central Road, Suite 104
Mount Prospect, IL 60056
Sherwood Faigen
Social Worker—Psychotherapist
Marriage & Family Therapist—Adolescents

528 N. Grove
Oak Park, IL 60302
Rebecca Ilana Levinson, LCSW
Social Worker—Clinical
10 E Ontario St
Chicago, IL 60611
Dori J. Mages, MSW, LCSW
Social Worker—children, adolescents, and families
900 Skokie Blvd., Suite 218
Northbrook, IL 60062
Melinda S Dworkin, LCSW
Social Worker—Clinical
1617 Brummel St
Evanston, IL 60202
Gail E. Grazian, LCSW
Social Worker—Clinical
1340 W Touhy Ave, 302
Chicago, IL 60626

View All